We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Smari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Smari
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Thetis Island BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just begun a trip around the world. I booked every hotel in every city based upon Trip Advisor Hotel Smari was my first stop of the journey. At first I was a bit concerned about the location as it is about 8 minutes by car from downtown, but my anxiety was quickly put to rest. The airport shuttle will take you straight to the hotel. The largest mall in Iceland is a 2 minute walk away. The rental car companies will deliver a car to the hotel at no charge. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I came to Iceland to see the country so the small room, by North American standards, was not a problem. The breakfast buffet was excellent with meats, cheeses, pastries, juices, cereals, yogurts, and an endless supply of sunny side up eggs and waffles. Over 2 days I drove the rental car over 1000 km exploring the countryside. The trip north to Snæfellsjökull (Snæfell Glacier) National Park is breathtaking and you can even explore a Lava tube along the way. Next stop, Melbourne House Hotel in London, England.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TelegraphHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annajons86, Front Office Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your very generous words about our staff. We always try our best to make our guests feel comfortable and I am very happy that we succeeded in your case.
I must also add that you were such a delightful guest that it was impossible not to be cheerful around you. We wish you all the best on your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
51
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

we have been in smari hotel 3 nights. the staff was friendly and generous. they helped us in everything we needed!
rooms are clean, big and has enough place to put everything. bathrooms are fine but the shower is a bit not comfortable but you can deal with it.
the hotel is located very far from reykjavik city center but luckily, you can buy from the reception a whole day tickets for the buses (for example- you have to take 2 buses in order to get to the bsi terminal). the breakfast was fine and the hotel is located near a big mall with a lot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liron_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are a family of four who flew from Manchester to Reykjavik for a four night stay in this hotel. The staff makes this hotel! They are helpful, kind, and smiley. The hotel was very clean, the room was very neat, the breakfast was well made. The kitchen staff was very helpful, making us a packed breakfast when we had an early departure. We had a tiny problem that our refrigerator was not functioning at check in. They brought up a new one immediately. The bathroom is smallish, but was very clean and well done. No poor caulking job, nor any mildew. Our room faced the main road into Reykjavik. If you opened the tiny vent above the window you could hear the traffic quite clearly. When the vent is closed it was nearly silent. I am a light sleeper and I was not woken up by any traffic noise. We were there while the Sun was not setting until 11:30 pm and rising at 3:30am. The curtains were dark enough to allow our children to sleep. The Hotel is in the middle of some office buildings, some stores, some restaurants and a short walk to the biggest mall in Iceland. We had a car, so there was no problem using all of these amenities.

This hotel really fit our entire family's needs. Thanks Hotel Smari! Thanks Axel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I want to thank the staff at hotel smari for their kindness and their generosity. We were so impressed with the help you gave us when we arrived on showing us transport around the place and what tours to do. We had a problem on one of the days with a tour guide not turning up for me and my husband and the staff got straight onto the phone and found us a brilliant tour with the 4x4 superjeep offroad. Just want to thank you's all for our time there and for everything. we really appreciated it :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Reykjavik on the road to the airport. It is next to the largest mall in Iceland which by American standards is small. The mall did offer a variety of dinner options. There was also a pizza place near the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with a nice assortment of food. We had to leave very early to go to the airport and we were allowed in the breakfast room before it opened so we could eat before we left for the airport. Very friendly and helpful staff. HINT: We bought a European chip on ebay for our GPS which we brought with us. All hotels and scenic attractions give latitude and longitude coordinates. Use them. Without the GPS it would have been hard to navigate the city streets and find the hotels. Hotels do not have large signs as in the US. Also if you are driving around the island, get a chip embedded credit card before you leave home. Many gas stations are only pumps and you need a chip embedded credit card at the pump.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhxteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrimoo, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hotel Smari is a cheap option for travellers in Iceland who have a car and aren't looking to party too hard. The bed is ok, the room is ok, though with no pretty views. Like a lot of properties in Iceland, there is no fridge or iron, which is slightly annoying. The breakfast, however, is good and the staff are helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MROSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Warm enough, although the beds are quite small. Limited options on the television. Bathroom and room in general well cleaned. Didn't get a chance to try breakfast, but no evening meals. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smari

Property: Hotel Smari
Address: Hlidasmari 13, Kopavogur 201, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smari 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Smari is a three star hotel in the great capital area, Kopavogur, with well furnished rooms for business and leisure travellers who are looking for a comfortable stay in Iceland. We have 47 rooms with private bathrooms, TV, hot water kettle, coffee/tea, hairdryer and free WIFI. Free parking on site. Included is a continental breakfast served all mornings. The hotel is located in a business area with many shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is ready to assist guests with booking of excursions, rental cars and other travel arrangements. From Hotel Smari to Reykjavik center is 10 minutes by car and 20 minutes by bus. Our guests have free parking and easy access for buses. Our staff can arrange pick-up and drop-off from Keflavik International Airport and Reykjavik Bus Terminal on request. The hotel is located in a business area only 300 meters from Smaralind, the largest shopping mall in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Smari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smari Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing