We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Smari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Smari
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good location, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

It's in a parking lot, so don't come for the views. But as a home base, it's conveniently located, a quick drive from downtown, and the price was good. The rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. A special shout out to Chuck (I would mangle his actual Icelandic name) who lent us a corkscrew and even opened and served us our bottle of wine-from-home during our off-season visit. A nice little lobby to meet in after our day, useful and friendly info for travelers, and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    42
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
51
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Much quieter than city centre.
20 minute drive into city... much longer by bus. (Some tour operators will charge extra for pick up)
Hallways smell of BO, but rooms are OK and hot water also smells of sulphur (but did not at 2 other hotels)
Rooms are bigger than in Reykjavik.
Pillows are flat and useless. Big, bright window was nice.
Staff not very helpful... late wake up call. Nice breakfast included daily.
Close to "biggest mall in Iceland" with restaurants and cinemas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed 5 nights at hotel Smari. The rooms were very clean and were properly cleaned every day. The beds were okey and the bathroooms very good (above average i Reykjavik when compared with other travellers). The breakfast was very good and rich (except the coffee if you prefer the stronger roasting). And best of all; it is very quiet though the route (Reykjavik Braut) is not far away. The location is not good if you want to be in downtaown late evenings and don´t want wasting money on taxi. On the other hand, of you are going out of town (with car) the location is very good. If you don´t have a car you should consider another hotel nearer the Reykjavik city. The hotel is located in Kopovegur which is a suburb to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenMats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

If you would have have a super service to a nice price chose hotel Smari the only thing that could be better is the location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnytravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Nice and clean hotel, but no luxury. Small and quiet. The staff though, was impeccable. The best service we have ever experienced. They fulfilled all of our requests without hasitation, and were always on the "offer side" to see if there was anything more they could do for us. The rooms didnt have hairdryer and iron, but this was brought to our room on request.
We had to spend new years eve at the hotel, because we were leaving early the next morning, and all restaurants nearby were closed......a bit sad we tought, but then the staff invited us, and the other guest down to the kitchen for a traditional Icelandic new years eve dinner and wine. After dinner they even took us to the best place in town to overwiew the fireworks. We had a great night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

I don't know where to start - IT WAS ALL SO WONDERFUL!!!!!! I phoned Bjarki (Hotel Manager) to book the hotel and he was so friendly and helpful on the phone - His warm, welcoming greeting when we arrived and kindness throughout our stay was exceptional - Our room was immaculate (Head of Housekeeping is married to the owner's son and pride is shown in the room and hotel cleanliness) - Breakfast was lovely and the delicious free all day coffee was a real treat - An adorable little bar is in the lobby area and great for mingling with Bjarki (he's also the bartender) and fellow travellers - There's a helpful booklet of information put together by the hotel in each room with nearby restaurants, car rentals and useful tips for tourists (another example of the thoughtfulness that goes into the running of this hotel) - There are two great little restaurants within walking distance (one is Chinese and one is Indian - if you're ready for a change in cuisine) - Domino's Pizza delivers right to the hotel - The largest shopping centre in Iceland is two minutes away by car and probably a ten minute walk - The Kronar store (Dollar store) is about five minutes by car - Reykjavik is about fifteen to twenty minutes by car depending on the traffic - The Blue Lagoon and the Airport are about thirty minutes by car - We enjoyed the quiet location and the ease of parking at the Hotel Smari - Reykjavik is busy with limited parking - The hotel has an elevator and is well suited to handicapped travellers - my husband has multiple sclerosis and the walk-in showers are very safe and the rooms are spacious. Beds were very comfortable and the furniture is exquisite and looks brand new - Reasonably priced long distance phone calls to Canada available, with a phone in each room - Front Desk was always helpful with receiving faxes and accommodating all requests - WE LOVED THE HOTEL SMARI AND BJARKI - WE WOULD NEVER STAY ANYWHERE ELSE WHEN VISITING THE REYKJAVIK AREA - Please contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Icelandicgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

I booked via Expedia for $116 per night which is what one normally should expect to pay for a 3 star accommodation in the shoulder season. A tad expensive for what you get, but Iceland isn’t cheap to begin with.
The hotel is located in the outskirts of Reykjavik, in the Smaralind area, right next to a few shopping plazas and Iceland’s largest mall (which is relatively small). It’s about 40km from Keflavik airport, driven mostly on Highway 41. You can actually see the hotel on your left while driving on the highway so you have to make a U turn to get on the other side of the road.
We arrived around midnight and I had concerns that the reception desk would be closed, however I was pleasantly surprised that the receptionist was still waiting for us. Check in was fast and easy.
The room was smallish, and so was the bathroom and quite basic (for example – you get plastic cups instead of glasses), but relatively new and very very clean.
Breakfast was basic, but good.
Internet connectivity in your room (wireless) costs the Icelandik Krona equivalent of 4.5Euro for 24hrs.
Overall, I recommend as a budget accommodation choice in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smari

Property: Hotel Smari
Address: Hlidasmari 13, Kopavogur 201, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smari 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Smari is a three star hotel in the great capital area, Kopavogur, with well furnished rooms for business and leisure travellers who are looking for a comfortable stay in Iceland. We have 47 rooms with private bathrooms, TV, hot water kettle, coffee/tea, hairdryer and free WIFI. Free parking on site. Included is a continental breakfast served all mornings. The hotel is located in a business area with many shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is ready to assist guests with booking of excursions, rental cars and other travel arrangements. From Hotel Smari to Reykjavik center is 10 minutes by car and 20 minutes by bus. Our guests have free parking and easy access for buses. Our staff can arrange pick-up and drop-off from Keflavik International Airport and Reykjavik Bus Terminal on request. The hotel is located in a business area only 300 meters from Smaralind, the largest shopping mall in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Smari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smari Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing