We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Nafpaktos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cosy and quiet”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights. the guesthouse is outside Reyk, about 15min drive, but in a strategic position for trips to the GC and the south. everything was clean. the kitchen is well equiped and we cooked some of our meals there. the owner is very friendly and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. i give 4 out of 5 because there isn't a choice of a double bed size, just single beds joined to each other. would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: better ask for a room on 1st floor, away from the kitchen on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noctua1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here our first 3 nights in Iceland and it couldn't have been a better choice for us. The owner, Jona Margret, was very friendly and welcoming and her breakfasts turned out to be the very best we had in all of Iceland. When she asked what we wanted to drink in the mornings, I asked about hot chocolate and every morning there was a thermal carafe ready for me with the yummiest hot chocolate I'd ever tasted. The guesthouse is approximately 15 minutes from Reykjavik, but we enjoyed being out in the country and having the opportunity to feed some of Jona's Icelandic horses. If we go back to Iceland some day (hopefully!), we'd certainly want to return to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0UgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the guest house for 3 nights. It is very convenient, countryside but not too far from Reykjavík. We did not have a car, so took a cab twice from Reykjavík, paid 6000 ISK, what is reasonable. And was not a problem for the touristic attraction people to pick us up from there, so close it is. (horse riding and superjeep tour) And you can make some nice walk around.
The rooms are comfy, the bathroom is shared between 3 rooms, so it is ok. The breakfast is plenty and tasty. Also you can try to have fish for breakfast what is kind of exotic for me - being Hungarian. The pancakes are freshly cooked while you are eating breakfast.
Kitchen is equipped ok, and before you start to do some shopping for dinner, check if there is some leftover e.g. herbs etc. left from other travelers. Coffee and tea is for free.
Jona and the family is very helpful and friendly, and went the extra mile when it was needed.

Room Tip: If you are a bad sleeper as I am, go for a room in the back of the house, as the highroad is busy ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The out side of the place was not like its inside..the somewhat broken fence hid a very cosy guesthouse. Room was good, bed was great. Kitchen facillities, good free coffee. We somehow misunderstood that breakfast was a possibility. It seems that we missed!
It is a bit far from reikjavik, not a substitute to staying in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very good place to stay. The owners are very familiar. We arrived at a day, at which a familiar member had birthday. The owner came to us with a piece of cake. It was very nice and we were surprised. In the morning we got an enormous breakfast with everything someone can wish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madlen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful first couple of days in Iceland and got a warm welcome in a cute room with a terrific breakfast, especially the pancakes and homemade jams! There was a living room area upstairs by our room which was super cozy and wonderful for relaxing in after walking around Reykjavik city center. Jona was very kind and hospitable; we arrived at 2 am and she was was still extremely friendly. We also liked the horses and the availability of a kitchen. We paid about 105 euros per night, which is a little on the pricey side, but we thought it was well worth it for a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank held80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Service was wonderful, rooms were basic but clean and nice. Kitchen is a bonus for anyone planning on staying for more than a night (which is all I did). The breakfast was great--quite the assortment of stuff, including home-made pancakes (crepes).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
15.9 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gistiheimilid Eyvindarholt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse

Property: Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Address: Gunnarsholmur, Kopavogur 203, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnarshólmi Guesthouse combines the privilege of the city and the peacefulness of the countryside, being only 15 km away from Reykjavík Centre. The guesthouse is a small family owned business located at Gunnarshólmi farm, which has been in the family since 1923. The guesthouse offers a fully equipped kitchen. Wireless internet access is available throughout the whole guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing