We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest Guesthouse in Iceland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kopavogur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 7 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a short stay in Gunnarshólmi, and Jóna was an incredibly warm hostess, who took care of us and prepared an incredible breakfast and helped offering advice with our trip.

There is excelent WiFi coverage inside the rooms, and a PC free of use in a common area. Rooms are quiet, clean, bright and spacious, and it is just 10 minutes apart from Reykjavík city centre. Without any doubt we will come back!

Unbeatable rate value/price.

Room Tip: Room number 4 has a very convenient double plug just beside the table, to plug your laptop. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lironcareto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a lovely guesthouse just out of Reykjavik city. Such a nice place to relax and explore Reykjavik from. We stayed here for 8 days hoping to see the Northern Lights. Luckily we did, 3 nights in a row - they could be seen out the window of the guesthouse! We had the place to ourselves for most of the time except for a few people staying the odd night. Definitely worth the price - The guesthouse has everything you need... fully set up kitchen, washing machine and its toasty warm. You'd need to have a car to stay here but thats the best way to get around Iceland and see everything anyway. Would definitely recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTime050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've taken two extended trips to Iceland, and this is my favorite guesthouse. I stayed here for a number of nights in early November. The hostess is amazingly friendly. I saw her helping out other guests in a number of ways (she warned me about some extreme weather coming up, and she researched an outlet for this other guy to get a cheap 66 Degrees North jacket, then gave him a lift to the outlet!). If you want to stick to yourself, the guesthouse itself is a separate building from the main house, and comes with a fully equipped shared kitchen. I would strongly suggest getting the breakfast when you stay here - it is truly excellent. They also have really good wifi in the guest house, and I believe they offer Superjeep tours. There are two bathrooms in the guesthouse, both with showers, and there's laundry in the bottom bathroom. Be sure to note that this spot is outside Reykjavik, so you'll probably want a car if you're staying here - although hitchhikers didn't seem to have a problem getting around. This would be a great base camp for exploring Reykjavik, doing trips on the "golden loop", or hiking up to the hot springs at Hveragerði.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great guesthouse! The owner's family was very hospitable, friendly and helpful. I traveled to Iceland for two weeks and Gunnarsholmi was the best guesthouse where I stayed. I agree with previous reviewes about pancakes, it is the best! ))

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in this guesthouse for 3 nights at the beginning of October. As this was the winter season there were not many guests there. But this is a great place to stay in during any season :-)

The guesthouse is located just a little outside of Reykjavik. Unfortunately no buses run there in winter, but hitch-hiking into the city is no problem. Also the scenery around there is very enjoyable. The owners a very friendly. If there is anything you need just ask and they are happy to help or give you information.

My room was downstairs and rather big with a comfortable bed. Free Wi-Fi was available as well as a shared PC. I didn't have the breakfast there as I was on self-catering, but the common kitchen there offers all utensils needed including dish-washer, coffee machine and some free food. The same goes for the bathroom which has a free to use washing machine.

I would stay there again anytime and can recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is much better than to stay in the capital city,Reykjavík! lovely landscape,great hosting family and such a great place where to stay in the beging or in the end of the trip to Iceland :) never forget this accommodation :)..and a "house mother" does the best pancakes for breakfast..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our group, consisting of 2 familes (4 adults and 3 kids total) stayed at Gunnarlsholmi Guesthouse for 2 nights at the end of our 9-day trip to Iceland. For us, the house was absolutely perfect.

The guesthouse is 2 levels. We stayed in the upper level. The upper level consisted of 3 bedrooms, a living room with couch and TV, a computer with Internet access, and a bathroom. The downstairs had a kitchen and another room or two. There is a hot tub outside. The grounds were beautiful (more about that later).

When we arrived, the hostess greeted us and shows us around. She showed us the guest house kitchen, including a stash of food we could help ourselves to. The then showed us the upstairs and the hot tub. She was just cleaning the hot tub and said it would be ready by early afternoon. She was right.

We checked in and then went in to Reykjavik for the afternoon/evening. It's about 15 minutes away. Just a perfect distance.

In the morning, we went over to the host house. Oh my gosh! You should have seen the food that was prepared for breakfast. Meats, cheeses, fish, crepes (Icelandic pancakes), hard boiled eggs, juices, breads, and some unbelievable coffee. We ate at a table that could accomodate roughly 10. That morning, we were the only ones at breakfast. The hostess was very engaging and charming. She is a special person with a passion for Iceland and horses. :) The salmon tasted exceptionally good. I asked her if it was local. As it turns out, she had caught the salmon and smoked it!

Due to previously made plans, we had intended to eat in Reyjkavik the second morning. We went to say goodbye and the hostess said, "Please, join us for breakfast." We couldn't resist. They do charge a nominal fee for breakfast. She did not charge us for the 2nd morning because we told her we originally planned to eat in Reyjkavik.

The description of this place on-line doesn't do it justice. It is very nice. There is even a stream out back that has large salmon in it. All-in-all, we couldn't ask for more.

Oh. The owner's son has Super Jeeps. It's worth asking her if Super Jeep tours are an option. We had done a Super Jeep tour earlier in the week so we did not need another one.

Room Tip: The upstairs worked great for us because we needed all 3 rooms that we upstairs. If you don't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóna Margrét K, Owner at Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it! :)

Best regards,
Jona Margret:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
316 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
130 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 7 in Kopavogur
41 reviews
7.1 mi away
North Star Apartments
North Star Apartments
#3 of 7 in Kopavogur
89 reviews
7.7 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse

Address: Gunnarsholmur, Kopavogur 203, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnarshólmi Guesthouse combines the privilege of the city and the peacefulness of the countryside, being only 15 km away from Reykjavík Centre. The guesthouse is a small family owned business located at Gunnarshólmi farm, which has been in the family since 1923. The guesthouse offers a fully equipped kitchen. Wireless internet access is available throughout the whole guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing