We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guestouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Guestouse”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in this guesthouse for 3 nights at the beginning of October. As this was the winter season there were not many guests there. But this is a great place to stay in during any season :-)

The guesthouse is located just a little outside of Reykjavik. Unfortunately no buses run there in winter, but hitch-hiking into the city is no problem. Also the scenery around there is very enjoyable. The owners a very friendly. If there is anything you need just ask and they are happy to help or give you information.

My room was downstairs and rather big with a comfortable bed. Free Wi-Fi was available as well as a shared PC. I didn't have the breakfast there as I was on self-catering, but the common kitchen there offers all utensils needed including dish-washer, coffee machine and some free food. The same goes for the bathroom which has a free to use washing machine.

I would stay there again anytime and can recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is much better than to stay in the capital city,Reykjavík! lovely landscape,great hosting family and such a great place where to stay in the beging or in the end of the trip to Iceland :) never forget this accommodation :)..and a "house mother" does the best pancakes for breakfast..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our group, consisting of 2 familes (4 adults and 3 kids total) stayed at Gunnarlsholmi Guesthouse for 2 nights at the end of our 9-day trip to Iceland. For us, the house was absolutely perfect.

The guesthouse is 2 levels. We stayed in the upper level. The upper level consisted of 3 bedrooms, a living room with couch and TV, a computer with Internet access, and a bathroom. The downstairs had a kitchen and another room or two. There is a hot tub outside. The grounds were beautiful (more about that later).

When we arrived, the hostess greeted us and shows us around. She showed us the guest house kitchen, including a stash of food we could help ourselves to. The then showed us the upstairs and the hot tub. She was just cleaning the hot tub and said it would be ready by early afternoon. She was right.

We checked in and then went in to Reykjavik for the afternoon/evening. It's about 15 minutes away. Just a perfect distance.

In the morning, we went over to the host house. Oh my gosh! You should have seen the food that was prepared for breakfast. Meats, cheeses, fish, crepes (Icelandic pancakes), hard boiled eggs, juices, breads, and some unbelievable coffee. We ate at a table that could accomodate roughly 10. That morning, we were the only ones at breakfast. The hostess was very engaging and charming. She is a special person with a passion for Iceland and horses. :) The salmon tasted exceptionally good. I asked her if it was local. As it turns out, she had caught the salmon and smoked it!

Due to previously made plans, we had intended to eat in Reyjkavik the second morning. We went to say goodbye and the hostess said, "Please, join us for breakfast." We couldn't resist. They do charge a nominal fee for breakfast. She did not charge us for the 2nd morning because we told her we originally planned to eat in Reyjkavik.

The description of this place on-line doesn't do it justice. It is very nice. There is even a stream out back that has large salmon in it. All-in-all, we couldn't ask for more.

Oh. The owner's son has Super Jeeps. It's worth asking her if Super Jeep tours are an option. We had done a Super Jeep tour earlier in the week so we did not need another one.

Room Tip: The upstairs worked great for us because we needed all 3 rooms that we upstairs. If you don't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóna Margrét K, Owner at Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it! :)

Best regards,
Jona Margret:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoy staying at Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse and we will be very happy to come back there again. The house is very comfortable and the breakfast is very delicious (the best we had during our trip around Iceland). The welcome is very warm and we exchange recipes of jams and pancakes with our host.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóna Margrét K, Owner at Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time Agnes! :)

Best regards,
Jona Margret:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

What a find, this place! One of the best i have ever stayed (and i have stayed in many). A very warm, family atmosphere, hospitality with a capital H. Best breakfast in Iceland and beyond, comfortable rooms and close to Reykjavik. If you ever go to Iceland, don't miss this!

Niels Bakker (Nordic Magazine)
Netherlands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóna Margrét K, Owner at Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much :)

It was great having you and welcome here whenever you are in Iceland :)

Best regards,
Jona Margret and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2011

WOW! This was the best guesthouse we stayed in on our entire trip in Iceland. We were here for 4 nights and just loved it. Clean, cozy, affordable, and the best breakfast.:) The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful home very close to town. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This b&b oust very good.we spent there 2 nights and we enjoy it a lot.the house is well designed and near to the city.the owner are very cool and they love he job, so I will notice that the breakfast was just incredible. If we could we will stay longer here better as our home...thanks to the farmer

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeje1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
285 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,050 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
84 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maxhouse
Maxhouse
#58 of 110 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse

Property: Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Address: Gunnarsholmur, Kopavogur 203, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnarshólmi Guesthouse combines the privilege of the city and the peacefulness of the countryside, being only 15 km away from Reykjavík Centre. The guesthouse is a small family owned business located at Gunnarshólmi farm, which has been in the family since 1923. The guesthouse offers a fully equipped kitchen. Wireless internet access is available throughout the whole guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing