We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lily's Guest house and using wheelchair”
Review of Guesthouse Lily

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Lily
Ranked #2 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I found Lily’s Guesthouse on the internet and chose it because it
was inexpensive and had facilities for wheelchair users .The room with shower accessed by just one step and another toilet and shower room in the hall equipped for
people with mobility problems,with a wide door and the shower edges lined with foam.Although there was no handle on the inside of the door, the owner promised to rectify this immediately.Likewise, in order to enter the hotel you needed to pass a step which was going to be improved according to the owner. The guesthouse has an automatic lift with a self-closing door. Lily and her assistant were very friendly and helped us with whatever we wanted them to do.We had a great time and have already decided to stay at the same guesthouse next time we visit Reykjavik.

Room Tip: They have only one room for people with wheelchair. Be sure to order at an early date to get this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I spent three full days with Lilly at her guesthouse and we loved the experience. Lilly couldn't have been more helpful when we needed help and suggestions and actually drove us twice instead of letting us struggle around on our own. The guesthouse is located within easy walking distance of a major bus stop which will get you to downtown Reykjavik in no time flat and the breakfast meal was great and the use of kitchen area unrestricted. We were sorry to go when it was time to move on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarobbins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was in Reykjavik last week for 6 nights and as it is indeed high season in Iceland I had to stay in a guesthouse as opposed to a hotel which I'm much more used to for hotels were just too pricey. Well I was in for a very pleasant surprise !
The place was spotlessly clean, the room was large and airy, the shared bathrooms were never a problem as there is more than one. There is no breakfast lounge as such but one can help oneself to the kitchen fridge and toaster with freshly baked bread from the corner bakery and Lily herself is very flexible with the time- I'm indeed a late riser ! -
Furthermore Lily is a genuinely nice person who'd go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome by helping out with all your requests. She's a real " auntie" figure.
The guesthouse overlooks Kopavagur bay with its geothermal beach and just 1 mile from Reykjavik's domestic airport. Also the Flybus from Keflavik's int'l airport can drop you directly by the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed one night in July in a family room. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were confortable. Quiet environment. The breakfast was copious and good. Lily and Viktor are very kind and helpful, ready to help you and to give phone calls. If we had to go back to Reykjavik, we would go to Lily's without hesitation. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lily is a very nice lady. She helped us a lot and was always available. she gave us many tips for activities and booked us ride to the airport. The room was big and nice. the breakfast was good, but sometimes the kitcken was a little small for all of the guests. crowdy, but you came in contact With other guest. Pizza Next door. one time we ordered in (ate in the Kitchen). cozy athmosfare. some noise from the traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinPropell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My fiancée and I had a 3-night stay at Guesthouse Lily in June and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The premises were clean and well-maintained, and Lily herself was always very helpful with any requests that we had. The breakfasts provided were delicious and Lily always made sure to prepare a fresh brew of coffee every morning for the guests. Location-wise it is a good base if you have a car rental and plan to visit the other parts of Iceland outside of Reykjavik as it is conveniently located near the highways. Definitely recommended and will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howie_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Both of us enjoyed our stay in Guesthouse Lily! The owners and the manager Viktor are very kind, and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the suite, and our room was very spacious with a little balcony area, a nice bathroom and plenty of light. We had free wifi, and breakfast was provided every day. Don't be put off by the exterior appearance... when I pulled up at the guesthouse, I thought for sure I'd got the wrong address. It looks like an industrial estate, very odd. But inside it's clean and modern. The location is a bit outside of Reykjavik. We did walk to town once, going via the Perlan. However, there is a bus station about 5 minutes' walk from the guesthouse, which will get to Reykjavik or the BSI terminal very easily. We also hired a car, and there was free space provided to park it.

Most of our trip was spent exploring Iceland, so we used our room as a place to relax and sleep at the end of the day. After a long day of walking and travel, we were always happy to return to the guesthouse. I might suggest that sprucing up the outside would help a lot, but otherwise we didn't have too many complaints! We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmjbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
3.3 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 6 in Kopavogur
37 reviews
1.1 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 6 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Star Apartments
North Star Apartments
#3 of 6 in Kopavogur
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lily

Address: Nybylavegur 30, Kopavogur, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Lily 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lily Guesthouse is a modern family owned accommodation in Iceland. We offer friendly and personal atmosphere with modern, fresh, and spacious rooms all with wash-basins and comfortable beds. At our cheap guesthouse in Reykjavik Iceland we welcome both individual travelers and groups and aim to ensure a pleasant and rewarding stay, whether you plan to spend a romantic weekend, talk business or simply relax away from the busy routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Lily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Lily Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing