We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art loving romantic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel di Tusa
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Art loving romantic hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel offers authentic Sicilian hospitality with the added bonus of quirky and brilliant art throughout. The service is excellent and discreet at the same time. No one is going to turf you out of your room at 10.00am when checking out or rush you through your healthy nutritious breakfast. They will offer you as much lovely coffee as you want, if like me, you do not like the what is called American style weak chicory flavoured beverage served in most Italian hotels.
The beds can look as if they are going to be uncomfortable because they are different but we slept like babies in both artistic rooms we were privileged to sleep in during our stay ( assisted by the sound of the waves audible from the rooms).
The sea is literally in front of the hotel and free chairs and umbrellas are available on what feels like a private deserted beach. Mainly pebbly so we swam with our fins or Crocks in this beautiful turquoise sea.
I understand that the food is excellent in the hotel restaurant but because we were part of a group we preferred to use the local cheaper options, Le Lampare ( taste the Lampare pizza), La Trinacria( pasta,fish) and Grotta Marina ( real locally caught fish). If you arrive by train the station café does an excellent expresso ( very hospitable).
We were a party of six from Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland, Uk and Portugal and all agreed that this location is one of those best kept secrets.

Room Tip: Be adventurous and open minded,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. I'm very glad that all you guys have had a comfortable stay at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. I'll be happy to transfer your positive feed-back to the staff. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you again at Atelier sul Mare. Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    123
    59
    18
    43
See reviews for
76
265
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the bright white nest/egg room which had an unusual giant oval bed with a great view of the sea. The flooding shower may have been part of the concept but it did become tedious. The price for two people did seem a little expensive for the general quality and standard. However the breakfast bar on the beach worked well and touring the Fuimare d'arte was well worthwhile and you have to give credit for the ambition of the project in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneMartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear customer,
thanks a lot for your comment. It’s very important for us understand our customer needs and typology. However, let me just say something: We would like our customers choose the Museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare because they appreciate being immersed in contemporary art, amazing landscapes and a spiritual journey through art. You right, the flooding shower is part of the art room concept (spring rain), and probably you have not been paying attention. I’m sorry to contradict you, but € 160.00 for two people in an art room, including breakfast, beach umbrella and chairs, visit of the art rooms and art expositions is not at all expensive. Apart these little drawbacks, I would be happy to see you again at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare, and have a better experience of art.

My best regards

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

...."I want to be excited"...This is one of the things you will read once you arrive in this little but wonderful hotel. And your visit will be full of surprises. You will have the occasion to visit all the different rooms designed by several artists, each one with different colours, materials and carachteristics. Each one reflecting the way every artist see the life and the nature. You will enjoy a unique view on the sea. The people who work there will be happy and proud to tell you the story of this place with courtesy and smile. The chef will offer you a very good and geniune food (the cuisine is excellent). And please, don't lose the occasion to visit the other art installation in the proximities (the ladies in the reception will indicate you), especially the piramid on the hill at the sunset. Thank to Antonio Presti for creating and manteining this, and for all the emotions given to the visitors.

Room Tip: All design rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiogioooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your nice and lovely words! I'll forward your compliments to my staff, they'll be very happy and motivated when read comments like yours. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at our Museum Atelier sul Mare. Your comment is very important to us to constantly improve ourselves. Please come back in the future!

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was very nice experience. Something that happens not everyday :) I would like to come back one day for sure. Thank You for sharing with us Your art so closely. Maybe for longer stay I would choose standart room ( they are decorated also very nicely ), but for one night.. is perfect to get the feeling of something that is out of the box ( we stayed in the Salt room)..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear, guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. You have totally understood the feeling that our rooms give to our guests: the unforgettable experience of sleeping inside art, providing to the guest a unique and powerful experience. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare.
Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and were given the painter's room. My partner and i love arts. We think this is an excellent idea to rooms with different themes. The whole area is so peaceful. There are restaurants not far away from the hotel. The breakfast is average. There is lots parking space here. (free charge)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Hotel-museum Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel-museum Atelier sul Mare. Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fiumara d'Arte Foundation/Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place in magic, atmosphere and location are unique.
Our room is "terra e fuoco", in front of the beach, you sleep with the sound of the sea and wake eith by the raylights that come from throught the big window, placed just in front of the bed. For magic moments and dreaming! Suggested!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisavd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare and that you were especially enjoyed the atmosphere of dreaming atmosphere the art room offered to you. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Atelier sul Mare.

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were a party of 4 that made prior reservations for 2 rooms for 2 nights. Our plans changed so we had to cancel one night. Instead of canceling one night they put us for 4 rooms in one night. When we checked in we explained that Yes, we wanted only one night, but only 2 rooms for 2 married couples. Even though they had our names all along for 2 rooms, they refused to credit us for the other 2 rooms and yet they did not offer for us to stay in 4 rooms. WHen I talked to the manager the next day, they said we were only allowed the 2 rooms, even though we had to pay for 4 on the same night. Very frustrating, and certainly felt ripped off. There was nothing special about the hotel, and after 3 weeks in Sicily, I can say that this was our only situation where I did not trust the people. There are other, better places to stay in the close vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyjeancole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment. I remind you writing a review doesn’t mean real facts. First of all, remember that you booked the room using two different booking circuits (Booking.com and Expedia.com). This has already created a mess up and a miss understanding, and any issues arose is only your responsibility. It's not absolutely true that you paid 4 rooms for one night. You only paid the reservation made through Booking.com for no.2 special price rooms for € 70.00 per night (total € 140.00). There was no payment on Expedia.com since the reservation was canceled. I hope you now understand that dishonesty does not belong to our staff. In addition, the reception staff was so kind giving you, for the same price as gift, two art rooms (The desert room and Lunaria-Countryside without name). You say there was nothing special about the hotel. It should be blind do not understand the beauty of Atelier sul mare and the town where it’s located, one of the best and beautiful bay of Sicily. The Atelier sul Mare represents the fusion between the best tradition of the hospitality and the fascinating conception of contemporary art in constant evolution. The museum Atelier sul Mare has a revolutionary concept of "living art". The rooms of the hotel have been given to international artists who have transformed them in art works. Our guests are very sensitive and emotionally about contemporary art, perceptions, I would respectfully say, do not deserve you. We understand that you didn’t like our property. What we regret most is the offensive and insolent tone used in writing this review, that doesn’t match in any way the truth and does not correspond to the reality of our museum-hotel. Now I recommend you that next time you’d like to express an opinion, please think a little more before accuse people who work to be always attentive, kind, and ready to offer the best support to our guests.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel di Tusa
0.2 mi away
Tus'Hotel
Tus'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tusa
168 reviews
11.8 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
5.2 mi away
Hotel la Playa Blanca
Hotel la Playa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Santo Stefano di Camastra
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Relais Santa Anastasia
Relais Santa Anastasia
#1 of 4 in Castelbuono
527 reviews
63.5 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
12.9 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Property: Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 4, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castel di Tusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel di Tusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Sul Mare Messina
Hotel Atelier Sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier Sul Mare Sicily/Castel Di Tusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing