We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service and excellent views.”
Review of Drago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drago Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Assenza
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service and excellent views.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the 1st week of October 2012. It was booked for us by Newmarket Holidays, and we thought it was an excellent choice. When we arrived, check in was nice and easy and we were in our room within 3 minutes. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was lovely, with fresh bread and rolls delivered every day. The dinner buffet had a good selection every night, including a range of salad and antipasti. The selection of hot foods was good with a meat dish, fish dish and a veggie dish on offer. The staff were excellent, especially when our group was delayed, and they stayed on to make sure we had some hot food to eat. I thought the service was first class, and also in the bar. The pool area was nice but a little chilly this time of year. The hotel is right on the lake front, so as you can imagine, amazing views! There was the option to upgrade to a front facing balcony, but our side facing balcony still had the views, and all the sun as it was south facing. All in all, an excellent stay, and we are planning on returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    85
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We only stayed 3 nights to meet up with family, who were staying in Garda, as we were driving down to Tuscany. We were VERY pleased with the hotel when we arrived. The private underground parking was a godsend, the staff were lovely and very, very helpful (even allowing my Mum and sister to come and use their pool even though they weren't staying there!!) Our room was spotless and well equiped and the view was amazing from the balcony.
There are queues at breakfast if you go down early, when the coach parties are there so I would recomend going down a little later if you can.
The food was perfectly good for breakfast, we didn't have dinner at the hotel but this was simply because we were meeting family in Garda each night.
Very nice hotel reasonably priced for the quality and stunning location.

Room Tip: Room 122 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edipuss464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely setting right on the lake. Rather basic food but plenty of it. Needed to eat early or miss the better desserts. Hotel appeared to prefer Germans to British visitors. Rather more downmarket tour hotel than a hotel for individuals. Would not bother to stay again. Only stayed there as there was a convention on in Riva del Garda and couldn't stay in usual hotel. However wouldn't stay there either as not much character. Montalcino, Simeone, Garda or Limone would be much better places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thirty_nine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Drago Hotel with Newmarket Holidays for a week in mid July and were delighted with the hotel. The hotel was spotless and I'm sure our room had only recently been refurbished. The reception staff were extremelypleasant and helpful, answering numerous questions and booking a trip for us to the opera in Verona (well worth it). We enjoyed the breakfast as there was always a good selection, although there was always a queue for coffee. Dinner was OK, but it would have been nice if the last serviing could have been a little later than 8pm. The pool was lovely, and the close vicinity to the lake was great, but the guests who had booked a lake view said the trafffic was noisy. We'd certainly like to return.

Room Tip: don't bother with a lake view as it also overlooks the road and the traffic can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a great hotel but we felt the food (particularly breakfast) let it down as it was a little boring. Service was excellent and there was a good wine/bar list.

The location is absolutely delightful. The weather when we were there (July) was very hot and, on this subject, BEWARE that if you want air conditioning and you're travelling on a package deal, then you WILL have to pay Euros 8 per day for this facility. Note also that air conditioning is only available in rooms in the main building - if you opt for a room (even lake view) in the annexe then this building does not have air conditioning facilities at all! This can therefore make for a very hot, sticky holiday. Fortunately, we were in the main building and therefore had to pay the supplement (which is NOT, as stated in the hotel literature, at the manager's discretion).

On the subject of the manager, he is the least friendly and helpful of all the staff - as other reviews have stated, he would definitely fit in better at a funeral parlour. Not a good ambassador for the hotel. Rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Evening entertainment is very low key (which suited us very well).

The hotel is definitely pro-German.

Having said all that, we had a fabulous holiday and will definitely be going again as we found the location just superb and enjoyed the beautiful walks along the lakeside and being able to use the local bus/ferry service to visit other pretty \nd interesting towns along the lake.

Room Tip: Air conditioning only in main building at a supplement. Some of the first floor rooms in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Found the hotel to be very clean, extremely helpful staff and the food and drink inclusive buy local, fresh and high quality including local soup, dishes like pasta, e.g., spaghetti, rice. The staff were very helpful and nothing too small too help. Found the swimming pool nice and surrounding patio nice & shady. Italy can get extremely hot during July - late August so best to make sure you wear high factor of sun cream and apply regularly. Fortunately there are local shops and paths to the shore good South & North but limited in distance and although there is a path to Malcesine it is not continous and you stumble the remaining path by chance and it is quite easy to miss it and continue on foot on dangerous road. There is an excellent bus service to Garda, Verona & Malcesine plus a boat service from Malcesine & Garda across the lake and further South to Sirmione - worth visting are surrounding villages accesive by foot with nice restuarants & ice cream palours (at Malcesine) - main town from Brenzone is Malcesine with nice set of Restuarants, harbour, shops and Cable car up the Mountain - excellent views. If you are facing across the shore from hotel room there are beautiful views of the lake and surrounding mountains - especially the views of the sun sets. The beaches are small (filled up) and are quite stoney (small stones) but good news is that there is a gentle slope and is good for all sorts of swimmers (apart from lack of available life saving equipment. Trips worth taking: Verona, Venice, Garda, rive del Garda & Sirmione. Warning/ Danger: the road outside is outside the Hotel & is extremely busy most time and you have to cross it to get to get to opposite foot path and to the lake - traffic lights further up the road on narrow path.

Room Tip: If you are alone traveller the rooms are enclosed, bit pokey and do not have a balcony - best if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've just returned from a week away at the excellent Hotel Drago in Lake Garda. We cannot say how wonderful this hotel was. The staff are always willing to help and always friendly and chatty. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The bar is well stocked with a relaxed atmosphere. The food is excellent - and even though you might not like a certain dish - there is always an alternative (or two). The pool is clean and not too cold even though it is outside. There are plenty of sun beds and a lovely seating area away from the pool for a lunch time snack. The gardens are well maintained and very attractive. The view of the lake is great from most rooms all though you can have a room at the side or back should you prefer. The hotel is local to a little super market and a few bars aswell and a pick up and drop off point for the lake ferry. The room was always clean and tidy and the bathroom was very clean and had a lovely hot shower with nice fluffy towels and complimentory soaps etc. There was plenty of hanging space for clothes with coat hangers and a nice mini bar in the room as well as a safe for you to use.

We had a fantastic week away - not least due to all of the above.

Room Tip: Room 112 has a 'lake view' but there is a tree in front of it - so please do avoid it if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assenza
1.4 mi away
Hotel Brenzone
Hotel Brenzone
#3 of 29 in Brenzone
308 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rosmari
Hotel Rosmari
#20 of 29 in Brenzone
59 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac - Relax Attitude Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#15 of 29 in Brenzone
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drago Hotel

Property: Drago Hotel
Address: Via Gardesana 24, 37010 Assenza, Brenzone, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Brenzone > Assenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Assenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Drago Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drago Hotel Brenzone
Drago Hotel Assenza, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing