We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable view , nice place”
Review of Udechee Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Udechee Huts
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view , nice place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The view from this resort makes you forget everything else. One of the few places in naddi that has such a spectacular view. The cottages are spacious and clean although I feel a slight upgrade to rooms and bathrooms will make it a even better. Service is good and the staff was very friendly. We only had snacks but it was tasty and served piping hot. Overall a nice place to stay .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyothsnaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    83
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
97
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Udechee huts came recommended by a couple of friends who had been to Dharamsala earlier. I now know why. The place is a little difficult to find initially but once you reach Naddi, head to the end of the road and there is a U turn to the right onto a road that slopes downhill. Nestled in the corner is this brilliant property.
Each room offers a stunning view of the snow capped Dhauladhar range. The staff is extremely helpful and always smiling. Anything we asked of them, they smiled and delivered. The rooms are cozy and clean. The food here seems to be the only drawback. While the usual parathas are good, most of the other stuff is just about passable.
WiFi is available in most parts of the property, however if you want uninterrupted access, ask for a room near the reception or the lounge area.
The lounge is a lovely place to kick back, play some carrom and watch the day go by. This place comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pick a room near the lounge or the reception for uninterrupted WiFi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodnight2die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were here at the Valentines of 2014 and it snowed !! Our room was second bottom, semi deluxe but we found it very good. Even though the hotel is a bit remote from Mcleodganj , its worth due to the view it offers.

We could clearly see the Dhuladhar ranges from the window and it appeared like a sceanery in our room.

The staff was very pleasent and cooperative. On our last day it snowed heavily and the only option we had was to walk downhill in snow twords Mcleodganj as so vehicles could move on snow.

The Hotel staff went a step ahead a bought an umbrella for us when we sought help. They send a person in snow to buy it for us.

Also very good room service, though the choice of food was less due to snow by they went ahead and made maggi for us that we were carrying.

A breathtaking view, good rooms, pleasent staff. What else would you need.

Full Points to Udechee Huts, If we visit again, we would stay at same place.

Regards,
Parag

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Don't expect 5* comfort. Its a bit more closer to nature. The basic rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parag_Yuvraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

we stayed here 16-17 March 2014 and were really taken away by its solace. Its located in Naddi (about 4 kms from Mcleodganj, 10 kms from Dharamsala). Once you are here, you feel in a totally different world. There are only 14 rooms, all the rooms are in huts with stairs and pathways going around the whole property giving you an adventurous feel.

We stayed in a semi-deluxe hut as no upgrade was available, but we have no regret about it, even a semi-deluxe is beautiful. The rooms have a heritage feel to them. All basic amenities were there. All the huts have a balcony and a little garden area with them, where you can sit in the sun and have the most amazing views of the snow-covered mountains that are so close that you can see their dimensions clearly. We used to enjoy our breakfast or lunch on the terrace, where you sit once, and never would like to leave for hours.

The food is tasty and reasonably priced given the location of the property. The staff is very helpful esp. Balbir (thank you for helping me when my car got punctured) and also Mr. Ashwini. Me and my wife also had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the hotel while we were about to check-out. She is a sweet lady. Thank you UDECHEE HUTS for turning our small trip into a beautiful memory.

Room Tip: any room here is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankush77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

this place is the place to be in case you need some peace and solitude. Here you can watch snowcapped mountains in absolute privacy, almost every window, balcony, terrace will open to the majestic view of those snowcapped mountain ranges.

But beware that it can get frighteningly cold here. To make matters worse, the room heating is pretty suspect. You must ask them for the tower heaters which is there in the reading hall...and if the management is reading this...please have tower heaters in all your rooms, this will make your resort move from very good to SUPERB!

But yes Udechee huts more than makes up for this through a bunch of very nice staff that they have working for them. Ever smiling, ever helpful always going out of the way to make you feel at home.

Go here for excellent views of the Mountains, reasonably good food, awesome hosts and for peace and quiet. Also heard there was a trekking path to a water fall just about 1.5 km from this property

Room Tip: almost all rooms have good views of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafeeqmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The view of this property will give you the feel that you are being embraced by the snow mountains. Open the window and you will find that beautiful sky touching mountains. It is located at a very untouched place Naddi, away from pollution, away from crowd and noise, a peaceful location.
Just to remind the readers that it is not any lavishing property but a relaxing one. You will definitely get good service, food of your choice as per the menu which is just like home cooked food. It is not centrally heated but they will provide you heater/blower.

Remember to carry cash because due to connectivity issues, their swipe machine may not be working and you have to pay by cash.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANAND0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights last December. We reached there in freezing cold and the rooms were very basic and cold. The staff were very prompt and helpful to meet al our needs. The food is quite expensive. One thing was bad that they couldn't accommodate our driver and he had to sleep at his car first night. But after some negotiations they made arrangements for him the next night. Highlight of the hotel is the view outside the window. The entire Dhauladhar range seems to stand right outside if the hotel. The beauty is unparallel. Go for the huts if you want get the best view.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Getme_anindya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
1.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#10 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 77 in Dharamsala
206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
286 reviews
12.7 mi away
Rakkh Resort
Rakkh Resort
#8 of 77 in Dharamsala
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udechee Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udechee Huts

Property: Udechee Huts
Address: | Village. Naddi PO Dal Lake, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176216, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Udechee Huts 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Udechee Huts is nested on a hillock facing the Dhaualadhar snow glacier. There are numerous interesting picnic spots, trekking routes and delightful walks. It is approximately 5 km from the township of Mcleodganj and about 15 km from Dharamshala town. Horse riding trips can be arranged. Approximate height 7000 ft. trekking to the lakes, ranges and passes in Dhaualadhar and western Himalayas up to Manali, Leh, Chamba and Bharmour is an added attraction to the tourists who live the nature in proximity. Special arrangements for trekkers to Triund, Llaqua and Inderhara Passes and some of the beautiful lakes therein. Cottages: You live in independent cottage built in traditional hill style. The cottages consist of a double bedroom with attached western style bathroom and a veranda. The rooms are wall to wall carpeted, cosy and clean, room service, intercom service, hot and cold water, doctor on call. Cuisine :- Serves Indian, Chinese & Continental Food. 24 hr room service Hot and cold water EPABX WITH STD and ISD Travel Desk A well-furnished restaurant with an excellent view Doctor on call Parking facilities Children's playground Sightseeing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Udechee Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udechee Huts Hotel Mcleod Ganj
Udechee Huts Dharamsala
Udechee Huts Hotel Dharamsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing