We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most of younger staff too busy to help”
Review of Deodar Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deodar Villa
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Except for one, the night crew at Deodar Villa should be wearing a "Do Not Disturb" sign. They are far to busy downloading loud pounding music the kind where the bass vibrates the walls, watching TV, gossiping and playing video games and riding motorcycles in and out. I noticed the tv, video, music and chatter was all at once when I considered dinner . I opted to spend my meal money for Chonor house and next time I will opt for a more professional staff at Surya or Chonor if I am going to pay these prices.

As a woman traveling alone, I opted for the top level as a matter of security. No quiet here, The Hall was dark despite lighting fixures and the lower levels would have been an isolated death trap with the unlighted stairs.

This is a nice place. It matches the Website pictures!!!!!! Its in a quiet neighborhood. Quiet except for the staff.

I should have read these reviews first.

Room Tip: Check and see if the frat boys are on duty. If they are, choose one of the professional high end pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IngridTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 10 nights, room was okish but bathroom could have been cleaner, told them to wash the floor but they only swyped it, t is useless, furniture old and smelly, bed hard.
Kitchen has a great view but two of three times i ate there found some small insects and one time a half inch flying bug, told them and din t pay for it. Overall is ok for India, next time will choose another location.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I cannot speak to the guest rooms here, which I know are priced at the high end of a stay in McLeod Ganj.

My middle rating is simply because I cannot rate the rooms. I have eaten here several times

I can talk about the restaurant.

After 7 months in the area and eating at a lot of places, Deodar Villa's restaurant is a good find.

Menus in Mcleod Ganj are very similar faire so then it comes to has the best of the lot, who is clean, who has got the atmosphere etc. Pasta is very popular among restaurants here and Deodar Villa just added pasta on my latest visit as in I was the first to order it and not yet listed on the menu.

Bottom line, the best pasta in the area. I have had several other meals here and the food here is consistent and the kitchen might be the largest in town. Water is solar heated and this means plenty of hot water for washing dishes. Most places run on small in-house hot water tanks and this creates a water/health issue for many restaurants not only here but across India.

While Deodar Villa itself is new, the cook has been at it for several years and is clearly experienced. The dining room is small, but extremely clean and while a lot of local eating is in non descript utility sit-down rooms, Deodar Villa's small restaurant is a unique offering is modern glass enclosed, and contemporary design and has also just added candle light dining - a nice touch for the possibility of a quiet leisurely meal at a place with possibly one of the best views in McLeod Ganj.

Again, Deodar Villa is new, and has the luxury now of designing an overall reputation from scratch. If they keep the food consistency up and cleanliness and then develop a reputation for quiet and relaxed atmosphere in an otherwise noisy India, they could have one of the best and most unique restaurant experiences in the area for the international set that visits and often revisits Mcleod Ganj which is a major center for both Buddhism and the Indian home of the Dalai Lama.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind super da mir viele gezeigt wurden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
#14 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deodar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deodar Villa

Address: Temple Road near H.H. Dalai Lama Temple, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $35 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deodar Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Deodar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing