We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough property but too overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmoor Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmoor Cottages
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice enough property but too overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

These are cottages set among the forest- individual and separate. The owner is nice gentleman who escorted us to our cottage when we reached after dark and was gracious and accomodated our needs- no hassles as such. The accomodations are very very basic- too much so given the price charged. The small cottage where we stayed was spacious with a closed balcony and kitchen and bathroom but again very basic- just the necessary amneities- no frills at all. The bathroom was clean enough, saved the mildew stained shower curtain and the broken and leaky toiler shower. The bedsheet had a huge and obvious yellow stain- making us wonder when the last time it was changed. It was also very very cold in December and the first night I was awake all night from the cold as the old and dilapidated heater just did not give out any heat. On request another tiny heater was added the next day but it was still insiufficient to heat up the entire cottage and we mostly shivered through the night. The homemade dinner (we had once) was basic and again overpriced. The inroom tea and kettle was useful to warm us up though.
To sum up- its not worth spenidng your money on- there are better equipped accomodations in town with similar nice views and perhaps better heated too!

Room Tip: small cottage is big enough for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WonderWomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Glenmoor Cottage has the best location advantage... the cottages are cozy and beuatifully decorated...
There is the catch though - we were there in December and they just had a small heater in the room, it was quite chilly during the nights.
There are no facilities to say - its just an estate with cottages.
Food is just decent.
And for all this what they charge is not justified really.
If you have your own car, and know around Dharmshala and Mcleodganj, and just want to relax and enjoy the view - this is the place.
Otherwise, if you are new to North India, I'd rather go for a proper hotel that has all the information,heating, taxis and facilities that I need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibha_Saraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Glenmoor Cottages offer a special place to stay, so much more calm, peaceful, and spacious than the other accommodations in McLeod Ganj. Located just a 15 minute walk downhill from the busy town center with all of its restaurants and shops, the Cottages are in a wooded area that overlooks the valley below, close enough to be convenient, yet far enough away to be quiet and in nature. As my partner and I had dinner in town most of the nine days we stayed at Glenmoor, we often took a taxi back rather than walk at night, just a 100 Rupees fare (about $2 USD). Glenmoor offers a choice of smaller cottages, which would be quite suitable for a couple, or larger, family sized cottages - altogether Glenmoor can accommodate about twenty guests. Our bed was quite comfortable, the bathroom was adequate, and the cottages afford plenty of space to spread out and relax. The housekeeping service is quite good as well. Mr. Ajai Singh, the owner, is a fine host, a gentleman who was a pleasure to meet and talk with, and he truly cared about our comfort and conveniences. I can wholeheartedly recommend Glenmoor Cottages as a premier place to stay in McLeod Ganj!

Room Tip: The large cottages are fine for a couple who want a lot of extra space, or for a family; the small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesLandsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Glenmoor Cottages present an idyllic holiday opportunity indeed. While the location is perfect, set as it is, in the middle of a lush deodar and oak forest, it is still at walkable distance from town. The facilities ensure comfort and convenience, the food is home cooked, the staff helpful and keen. If you are lucky, you get to meet the gracious Mr. Mankotia himself. Tea in his patio is a treat, and his good taste and impeccable manners floor you completely.
Glenmoor provides you with solitude, and yet the proximity to Little Tibet with its quaint food, ample monastery and a peek at the palace of the Dalai Lama.

Room Tip: The larger cottages in the forest are phenomenal, but with older people the climb can be a shade too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivineDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were very happy with our decision to stay at Glenmoor Cottages during our visit to McLeod Ganj. We had trouble deciding on what accommodation choice to make because even the nicest places seem to have some scary reviews. The best thing about these cottages is the location. They are in a beautiful, peaceful, and private location in the forest surrounded by nature. They are about a km from McLeod Ganj, but the walk into town is short, easy and pleasant, and it's easy and inexpensive to get a taxi if you're tired or don't want to walk in the dark. The cabins are a little bit rustic, but in a way that seemed appropriate for cabins in the woods to be, and we were very comfortable overall. The service was excellent, and we found the management to be extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnlightenMe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Glenmoor Cottages in May 2012 for over a week and found it to be an excellent place. The location is great - far enough from the town to escape the noise and the commercialism and yet close enough so that going into town for anything (shopping, a meal, etc) is an easy decision and within walking distance.

The views are fantastic. And the hospitality, is also great.

Special thanks to Mr & Mrs Ajay Singh for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed for a week with my spouse and 2 kids in the large cottage which had a double bed and two single beds. The cottages are spacious to say the least and deliver much much more than the website images show. Very well done with a mini kitchen and fridge. Hot plate and utensils can be added at an extra cost which we didn't feel the need to. Though the blankets of one of the single beds was not as comfortable.The trees to view from the balcony sit out is amazing and so are the stars at night. Its a very large forest area which he owns since decades and the cottages are well spaced away from each other to grant enough privacy. It's around 20 min downhill easy walk to the town square though a taxi/auto could be called if needed. While coming up we easily got auto and taxi. Auto costing 50 and Taxi 80 bucks which is reasonable. The auto stand closes at 7.30 though they are still available till later. After dark there are no lights in the entire stretch, so might be a bit of a hassle if you want to be out late most nights. Food menu is restricted and more expensive than the market. We restricted our order here to tea, breakfast and snacks which need to be ordered well in advance. Breakfast an hour and lunch/dinner 2 hours in advance. Liked Breakfast but not the other meals as much. Had most meals in the market. There is a short cut 10-15 min walk to Dharamkot from inside the cottages which was so convenient to visit Tushita. Ajai is a wonderful person and personally takes care of everything and every little detail. He is backed by great staff especially to mention Praveen who was so ever helpful. All one needs to remember is that Ajai is the owner and an elderly gentleman and deserves to be treated as such.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
0.7 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#2 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#9 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#16 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.7 mi away
Horizon Villa - North
Horizon Villa - North
#3 of 35 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoor Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoor Cottages

Property: Glenmoor Cottages
Address: Above Mall Rd, Kangra District, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmoor Cottages for a quiet holiday. Located in midst of a forest, just 1 km from McLeodganj, Dharamshala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenmoor Cottages Hotel Mcleod Ganj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing