We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit for the bookworm in you”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Illiterati

Illiterati
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in McLeod Ganj
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must visit for the bookworm in you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

One of the best collection of books that I have seen. Go here to satisfy the bookworm in you. Nothing like picking up a good book and sitting on their balcony with amazing views of snow-clad mountains. Sipping hot tea with the house dog lying at your feet only adds to the experience.

The food is just average. We had pasta and waffles other than tea, and it was fine but nothing outstanding.

It is very hard to find, as this is not located closer to where you will find the other restaurants. If you are coming in from temple road, at the T-junction to Jogiwara road, take a right and not left (which leads you to upper Jogiwara). It is about a 5 minute walk from this junction.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monomita_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    40
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's definitely worth the effort it takes to reach this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had heard/read about this one but everytime I tried to find this place in Mcleodganj, I was unsuccessful. That is because one has to put some extra effort to reach this place and walk down the Jogibara road, though returning to Mcleodganj market is the real trouble because on has to do one hell of a walk up this steep road leading to Mclo, I would recommend to go up and down the Temple road instead the Jogibara if you want to visit Illiterati...

IS IT WORTH IT?? YES!!!!!

It is one of the most peaceful, calmest and serenest place ever!!! When i went there the place was almost empty except this girl who was playing the paino (yes, anyone can do that while you sip your hot coffee) and it was a treat.

To sit in the open balcony, staring in the face of Himalayas while you listen to soothing music and sipping your Ice tea..it was MAGIC!!!

Not to forget that this place is primarily a Mecca for Books and I mean Books about everything!!!!

Very cozy, Bright, positive, peaceful... This place leaves you spellbound.

Although, I wish they include more items on their menu to eat. I had a chicken burger and fries, but I burnt all those calories going back up the steep hill!

*ThumbsUp*

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotter_Chika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The place is a bit of a walk from town. We were a group of 6 with 2 kids and when we started our walk to the restaurant, around sunset, people we asked for directions had us believe it was stones throw away from the main market. Believe me, it isn't as close as it was made out to be. Coming back to the main market you definitely need a cab ride which the restaurant will arrange for you or just hang around and hitch a ride. Cabs routinely whiz past.

The place was apparently owned by an Aussie who recently sold the business to a Belgian. The restaurant itself has real character. Very well done. It has a nice fire place which you can sit in front and keep warm. There is also a stunning view from the balcony.

The food menu is extremely limited. Its go to do with the fact that the restaurant is short staffed. i had the schnitzel, it was well cooked but definitely not the best meal i have ever had. Nevertheless, i would still recommend the place if you are looking to spend a couple of hours reading a book, enjoying the view and keeping yourself well fed and warm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arjun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“so nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

a place of peace in the city of peace. The right cafè to go for breakfast or for eat something, in Mcleod Ganj, I love its appointments. Approved!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngeloMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had read good things about Illiterati before coming to McLeodganj and decided with my friends that a visit here was a must. I wasn't let down, in fact I was taken away by the ambience of this place. It is a little secluded from the McLeodganj main market and one needs to travel a bit to get there, but once you are there, the journey is worth the trouble. The interiors are remarkable, it is rare to find such a place anywhere in the country, it is a bonus to get in the hills. And its lovely sitting in the balcony to have a cup of tea looking at the mountains. The only slight issue, is that compared to what you get in the rest of McLeodganj, the food didn't have much variety but that is made up by the Ambience and the views of the mountain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shakyamitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illiterati also viewed

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 
Dharamsala, Kangra District
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 

Been to Illiterati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing