We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of New Varuni House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Varuni House
Ranked #5 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Cannot comment about other hotels but new varuni house was a good place to stay.staff is good.service is prompt.rooms are neat and the owners make you feel at home. Our room was also upgraded without any extra cost. View from my deluxe room was superb.i shall recommend staying at this place.food is also up to the mark......I especially liked coffee and of course pickle....how can I forget that...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Ruchi,

Thanks for your very warm and glowing feedback. Your appreciation of our cleanliness, service, staff, rooms, food and location is very encouraging. It's been a joy serving you. We would love to service you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
47
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is well managed by Mr. Sanjay and Mr. Anil. Our rooms were clean and room service was top notch. The only minus was the location - down the road from Dalai Lama temple and the roads are in poor condition with little lighting. We had a hard time finding the hotel in the night. Overall, a pleasant stay once we got there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Paras M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Paras,

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback with us and praising our cleanliness and service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We would love to be of service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

W-O-W !!!! Those were the first words we murmured as we entered our room. My wife and me were holidaying in Himachal in the second week of November, 2013 and arrived at Dharamshala at evening, after a tiring day-long journey from Manali. We were picked up from Lower Dharamshala by Montu (cab-driver attached with this hotel) who brought us to Mcleodgunj. This pick-up was requested to Mr. Sanjay (co-owner of this hotel), who had arranged it at a reasonable rate. We had booked a standard room via Cleartrip and were greeted with complimentary tea on our arrival. The room was neat, spacious and well-maintained; bathroom was spotless and clean; attached common balcony was large with views to the great Dhauladhars. Mr. Sanjay took a personal interest and helped finalizing our sightseeing to Jwalamukhi Temple and other places of interest at Mcleodgunj at a reasonable rate. Location-wise this hotel is superb with its proximity to Dalai Lama Temple (200m). A good-night's peaceful sleep is guaranteed as well since Mcleodgunj market is some 300 m uphill. Food was hot and delicious, service was very prompt and Mr. Sanjay .. he is perhaps the most innocent, friendly, humble and always ready-to-help Manager I had ever met. As a suggestion, whenever you are planning a trip to Mcleodgunj, look no further, as this hotel is perhaps the best for travelers with economy budget looking forward to return with warm memories. On our last day, we were traveling to Katra (VaishnoDevi) and as an unique privilege had Mr. Sanjay as our co-passenger on Montu's cab. It was quite a memorable trip with lots of chit-chat, laughter and pakoras. Hats-off to New Varuni House Hotel and of-course, a warm special thanks to its Manager, Mr. Sanjay.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have access to the large common balcony. So if you need to enjoy the magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArindamPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Arindam,

Thank you for staying at New Varuni House. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us & recommended us to other travelers. It's been a joy serving you. We would love to be of service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodhgaya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Thank You for the pleasant stay and welcome in a way never before experienced.
All from our group were pleased and we wished to stay more.
All what we have to say that its the best place to stay in McLeodGanj.
As the owner is taking personnel interest in Client's satisfaction I think we gonna do and give them business further.
Great going team!
See You again and wish the brightest future!

Room Tip: All rooms are specious and well ventilated but we felt the Rooms on the South side are Quiet and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamztravelimpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and appreciating our accommodation and services with a very warm feedback. We loved serving you and would love to service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sanjay and the staff are wonderful. There are many options in McLeod, and a budget backpacker can certainly find something cheaper, but I got lazy and decided not to move. I really enjoyed my stay here though. The mountain view rooms are very nice (I stayed in two of them), nothing very fancy, but good clean rooms with comfortable beds. Good location. Good people. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Judson,

Thanks for a very generous and encouraging feedback. It's been a pleasure serving you. We will be eagerly waiting to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I just want to have peace from the city life so I went to McLeod ganj in search of peace,but As i roamed in I thought my wish will remain my wish as the place was crowed. At last I pass through temple road and I entered this hotel I got an inner feeling that at last my wish will be fulfilled so I stayed here and I was right. I stayed for 1 week and got myself refreshed. The location is best and the hospitality is excellent.

Room Tip: Interior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhatshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Bhatshaker,

Thanks for lovely review highlighting our location, views, amenities and accommodation. It's been a joy serving you. Your generous encouragement is much appreciated by our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Location of the hotel is so attractive that it is just near the Dalai Lama temple, the rooms are so spacious and well furnished, the service they provide is up to the satisfaction of the guest. The hotel faces the natural scenic beauty which gives aesthetic feeling every morning when you get from bed. The Macleod ganj is so crowded but the location of this hotel well chosen where there is peace of mind.

Room Tip: Front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikas786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVaruniHouse, Public Relations Manager at New Varuni House, responded to this review, April 11, 2017
Dear Vikas,

Thanks for staying with us and praising our rooms, service, views and location. It's been a joy serving you. We would love to be of service you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.2 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
679 reviews
1.5 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
#10 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 44 in McLeod Ganj
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Varuni House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Varuni House

Property: New Varuni House
Address: Near Dalai Lama Temple | Next to Bella Height, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — New Varuni House 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Varuni House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing