We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquility within chaos”
Review of Chonor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chonor House
Ranked #3 of 68 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2014

McLeodganj as any traveler there will confess is a small hill town, somewhat dirty, somewhat chaotic yet somewhat mysterious.

But hop skip and jump away from all this chaos and perhaps a stones throw away from the residence in exile of the Dalai Lama is Chonor House. Peaceful, serene, perhaps a gateway to Tibet as we should all know it.

Every room we believe is built on Tibetan culture, walls painted with them, books, carpets, food..you name it there's a lil culture in everything. We stayed here in the songsten suite and it was indeed completely hand painted by Tibetan artists.

You may not book here for the views...well you really needn't anywhere for that matter..cause every where you walk in Mcleodganj, you would have snow capped mountain as the backdrop.

You will book here instead, to get to know more about Tibet,its history, its food, and how can i forget .. it's people. This hotel is a boutique hotel managed and serviced by a bunch of extremely warm friendly Tibetan folks who know exactly what it means to serve a guest and make him/her feel at home. I donno about you, but to me that's where I would want to rest my head when in Mcleodganj- that's assuming they had rooms. They only have about 11 and believe me they run out real fast!

The only thing that you need to look out for is the narrow approach road which has a very steep gradient. Manageable but can knock your breath out for a bit as you walk it up. Cars will drop you and pick you up, but perhaps only when you arrive and depart from here... but this shouldn't stop you from checking in here..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafeeqmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 400 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

McLeodganj is a chaotic and charming hill town just like any hill stations in India. Numerous touristy hotels have sprung up along the narrow streets of the town. But there is one place which brims with a character of its own. A place so special you would love to stay another extra day. That is Chonor House. Why do i say this? Here are the reasons.....

a) Location - Situated under shadows of large trees with a lovely garden, it is not overbearing like many hotels.
b) It is small - Yes, the adage "Small is beautiful" fit this hotel very apt.
c) Rooms - Charming! You would have seen them on their website. But the website does not do justice. Each room has a Tibetan theme. We stayed in "Nomad" room which had lovely paintings of the nomadic life in tibet on the wall and carpets. The private sit out provided a lovely view of HH Dalai Lama's palace and the valley. Since we were there in Monsoon, it was foggy.
d) Food - Awesome! The best tibetan food you can get in the town in a relaxed setting. During winters/summer, sit under the tree and enjoy the dinner.
e) Staff - Extremely friendly and helpful.
Dont miss out sitting in the lovely ante room with plush sofas and tibetan carpets. It also has a excellent library for book lovers.
Ask the staff for anything and you will get an answer with smile. If you have time, don't miss out a trek to Triund peak. It is an experience to cherish. You can read about our experience here. http://journeys2remember.blogspot.in/2013/09/triund-trek-heavenly-hike-in-himalayas.html

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the valley. Nomad is a good bet. You have an excellent view from the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alemaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Chonor House came highly recommended by many friends that make regular pilgrimages to Dharamsala. Chonor is your home away from home in this holy hill town. Chonor is a part of the Tibetan diaspora in exile in India called Norbulingka, which focuses on preservation of Tibetan culture. To learn more about this very auspicious organization go to http://www.norbulingka.org Chonor is centrally located and part of your welcome into the Tibetan community here in Dharamsala. I especially like that staying here is a direct support of the Tibetan community. The restaurant is lovely, the people so welcoming and hospitable. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: There is a room for everyone, I stayed in the Songtsen Suite for a week and despite the winter cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After a long car journey from Shimla it was a welcome relief to welcome at this Oasis, from the hustle and bustle of the town. We found all the staff to be relaxed and caring and all of the rooms were set out in beautiful Tibetan attire. The food and the service within the restaurant were executed and served with great care and courtesy. We were very sorry when it was time to leave and will certainly remember it with very fond memories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We travelled often to India and Nepal, and it was not our first time in the holy Dharamsala, but it was our first time at Chonor House. This january was rainny and cold. We arrived to Dharamsala at the end of our pilgrimage, after being in Boudhanath, Varanasi and Bodhgaya. We were 16, and some of us were with some health difficulties.
As soon as we entered, we felt like at home. We have tibetan friends so we always appreciate your attitude and way of being, you make us feel like your friends.
We profit to rest well, enjoy the confortable rooms, the atmosphere, the restaurant, even the massage. Wonderful time! Hope to visit you next time!

Room Tip: my husband and I were in "wild animals" with a view to the main temple, very good for roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lama Rinchen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

When I first looked for chonor house.. it was like finding a pin in the grass... With a tough tough steep inclination to the way of this hotel... There was only one staff member carrying our bag and all the rest of the stuff had to be taken by us. When this dreadful climb up ended nobody even offered us a glass of water..the room that we took was cold to the limit and it was a feeling that we have been cheated for paying such a high price . Moreover, when we were there for the breakfast in the morning we were the first people to order and the foreigners who came after us were served first and even after repeatedly asking for our breakfast all the breakfast was served cold..It was a kind of feeling that we were unwanted and were given the last priority.
The foreigners staying there were given the priority and our complaints were fully ignored. We.had to prepone our programme and check out the next day and found a hotel Nearby and with a much valuable and friendly atmosphere to stay in. I feel
"Chonor House" should pay attention in improving their attitude than in decoration ..
I would say that please ignore this place as they do not treat their guests equally...we felt insulted while staying in Chonor House.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gishi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Chonor house is an excellent hotel with great ambience, decor & most important great hospitality from Diki & her team. The moment we set foot on the hotel, we knew what a warm place it was in an extremely cold December in Mc Leod Ganj. Loved the place, would recommend to everyone to enjoy the experience as we surely feel staying in Chonor will go as one of the best hotel stays amongst all our travels in our life. Its surely a gem of a place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank nitin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.2 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
263 reviews
2 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Norbu House
Hotel Norbu House
#1 of 68 in McLeod Ganj
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chonor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chonor House

Address: Temple Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $3,480 - $5,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chonor House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tall cedars, Chonor House is peacefully removed from the hustle and bustle of the town, and yet within easy walking distance of everything McLeod has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chonor House Hotel Mcleod Ganj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing