We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Chonor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chonor House
Ranked #3 of 68 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place!
The decor is just wonderful. Each room is themed differently with amazing paintings.

Good Wifi throughout.

Their cookies are yummie. Cakes not so much. Loved their eggplant in ginger sauce!

Staff were always friendly.

Having said that, the aircon doubles as a heater but didn't work. Staff tried to fob us off a bit by pressing a few buttons and telling us to wait 10mins every time we complained it was still not working. Then they also wanted to remove the little heater. That's my only complaint.

Make sure you pull up to the place from Temple road. Otherwise you'll have to walk down a steep, uneven gravel path.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 395 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This must be one of the better places to stay in McLeod Ganj. Our room was beautiful, as well as comfortable. It has nice shared spaces (terrace, lounges) and the staff is friendly. As somebody noted, one lady at the front desk is really on top of it- others, not so much. So double check your requests. But it didn't detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights - lovely rooms, clean and comfortable and amazingly decorated. Could have done with some slightly stronger lighting in the bathrooms. Public areas lovely with top quality traditional furnishings and decor (though a bit too cold when we were there to make much use of the outdoor space), Service attentive and helpful (and laundry service very good value for money). Breakfast choices limited - but all freshly cooked, high quality and tasty. Would happily use Chonor House again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivy_Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here just one night over the weekend and absolutely loved it. I stayed in the Voyages at Sea room which is decorated in seafaring-themed murals, and while it's next to the reception - and thin walls mean it can be noisy - the spacious room, the beautiful decorations, the comfortable mattress, spotless linen, beautiful bathroom all combined to give a wonderful stay. In fact I chose to hang out in the room rather than check out the town. The woman who checked me in was fantastic, and followed up on requests and was really switched on. (other staff I dealt with were a little less together, but were conscientious in following up on requests.) The cafe is really lovely with a simple menu of Western and Tibetan dishes, and there is a really nice courtyard in which to eat breakfast. I really loved every minute of Chonor House and would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aarti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely hotel. The Tibetan theme is tasteful, and despite the high cost of the room (we took the super deluxe which was almost $100 per night) the feel is simplicity done well. Happy paying the premium because the profits were for Tibetan NGO's No TV, but semi reliable wifi. Great shower with reliable hot water, very clean bathroom and even a hair dryer. We couldnt stay all 5 days in the first room due to bookings, and our second room, the suite, was actually less comfy for westerners. It was traditional Tibetan couch and bed (quite hard), and was not nearly as spacious as the super deluxe, so that was disappointing to have to change.
Didnt eat there.

Room Tip: They dont seem to bargain at all. The super deluxe room next to reception ("central Tibet"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here in the Nomad Room this June. The decor and feel of each room, with the theme etched in every detail, was very charming. One could spend hours admiring the different artifacts, symbols and wall art in the room itself. The window right next to the bed that looked out into the balcony and further beyond to the Dalai Lama's monastery nestled amidst the mighty Dhauladhar gave our mornings and evenings a special calmness. The restaurant offers a delectable and flavourful array right downstairs and somehow has a feel of its own despite being part of the larger guest house. The guest lounge with its Birds theme is particularly breathtaking. One very disappointing bit, however, that we found quite hard to put up with throughout our stay was the pungent odour that seemed to be part of the air throughout the guest house, possibly from the kitchen downstairs. The staff was extremely hospitable but certain aspects of the service (including wi fi, bathrooms) we found mediocre. Having said that, we did enjoy most bits of the feel of Chonor and would recommend the homeliness and charm of this place to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Any except the ones on the lowermost floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights and didn't eat anywhere else as we enjoyed the food so much. They have great Tibetan momos, etc. as well as soups and Italian choices with wonderful tomato source on the pizza and pasta. The rooms are very special with incredible art murals in each room depicting Tibetan life. The room we were in on the top floor was damp in the rainy season and can use some renovation on the roof which seems to be molding up the ceiling and the paint is falling off. The location is good as it is a bit away from the busy main part of town but an easy walk and close to the Dalia lama residence and temple. Beautiful outdoor garden for eating and good views however not open on all sides as there are other buildings partially blocking on some sides. All and all it's a great space and place to stay with a very lovely and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.2 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
712 reviews
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#16 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Norbu House
Hotel Norbu House
#1 of 68 in McLeod Ganj
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chonor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chonor House

Address: Temple Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $3,480 - $5,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chonor House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tall cedars, Chonor House is peacefully removed from the hustle and bustle of the town, and yet within easy walking distance of everything McLeod has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chonor House Hotel Mcleod Ganj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing