We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and lovely location”
Review of Zambala House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zambala House
Ranked #9 of 68 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Friendly and lovely location”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

4 of us stayed at Zambala House late October. The rooms were large and clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. Breakfasts were good and substantial and we particularly recommend the Tibetan Porridge. We ate lunch there on one day. We had a long wait for our Momos as they were prepared and cooked from scratch when ordered but they were delicious and well worth the wait. We ate them on the rooftop terrace with a fabulous view. We loved this place and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
21
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We fled here after an appalling night in another hotel and loved it. For the same price Zambala House gave us a huge, clean, comfortable room with a balcony and lovely mountain and valley views. Views from the roof terrace offered stunning sunsets. Room service for breakfasts was always prompt and the food was fine. We did not have other meals in their dining room as it seemed a bit dark and uninviting. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We appreciated the well-lit bathroom with a window. They had a generator which dealt with the inevitable power cuts, free and quite fast WiFi, and it was a short walk up to the town centre or (down a very rough unlit path strewn with cables) to the Dalai Lama's temple, from which you could sometimes hear gongs and monks chanting on the breeze. Perfect; even down to the amazing racket (like shaking corrugated iron) caused by a troupe of monkeys coming over the roof most mornings and evenings.

Room Tip: Our room was on 4th floor facing the back of the hotel; gave lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajdm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at Zambala House in July 2013 with my mom. It is a great hotel, and worth the expense. First, the views are simply spectacular down to the plains (at least when the clouds roll out). Second, the room actually feels "modern," as the bedding and furniture are not worn. The bathrooms are great (and even have a shower curtain, and free soap, and nice towels, and...)! Each room as a balcony to take in the view over tea as well. The staff were efficient, if not overly friendly, and did what you needed them to do. Zambala House is also located at the end of the main road so is very quiet at night, but still just a five minute walk to the center of town. If you are not on a budget and can swing the price, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First he management at Zambala, changed my reservations twice, without complaint or charge. Then I needed extra days at the last minute. Almost the whole town was fully booked, since H.H. Dalai Lama was giving teachings, but they arranged for us to stay in a beautiful apartment nearby for the same price as our two rooms. Finally I phoned from the airport to say that I had forgotten an expensive item in the apartment. They retrieved and sent it quickly in a taxi to me at the airport.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have much better light and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artlover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for a night in November 2012.
It is a down market property and all I wanted to do was leave as quickly as possible.
Nothing here suited my sensibilities at all.

Luckily Chonor House is a stones throw from Zambala and we would not have discovered the property had we not been staying at Zambala.

From bad comes good.

Room Tip: simply avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukulchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have been at the Zambala house only for one night, but it was so good! The room was very clean and comfortable. The guy who was taking care of the hotel was so nice to me. He called Men-Tsee-Khang to me, and talked to them in Tibetan, and also told us to have dinner at Tibet Kitchen, the best restaurant in town. In the end, he gave us coordinates and also offered a kata, which is a buddhist offering, to wish us good luck. I could not feel any better.
Thank you very much, Tashi Delek, guys! _/\_

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelaBatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We moved to this hotel after arriving at another (rated top by trip-advisor) where the beds were damp, the room was dirty the towels were not clean and we walked out. I opened Lonely Planet in desperation and ran up the road and was not disappointed. I asked to see a variety of rooms and not one could be faulted. I chose a room on the top floor overlooking the valley. It was dry, clean and large. The room had a double bed and two sofas and a table. the bathroom was well tiled and clean and the towels were immaculate. We moved to this hotel immediately and settled in. In the morning we went down to the breakfast area and had a simple breakfast. The following day we ate out for Breakfast but this did not diminish the quality of our hotel stay. Some reviews note that it is a little on the expensive side but having seen two other hotels of similar price range we would stay here again anytime. The staff are young and very helpful, all rooms are regularly aired and cleaned even if no one stayed in them. This attention to detail means that even in the height of the rains of August not a single room I visited smelt of damp. I am very pleased. PS don't be put off by the steep road outside. the local cabs can get up and down as our driver proved as we pulled off after two days of rest at the Zambala.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Forder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wood Castle
Hotel Wood Castle
#10 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#3 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Norbu House
Hotel Norbu House
#1 of 68 in McLeod Ganj
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zambala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zambala House

Property: Zambala House
Address: Hotel Bhagsu Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176216, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing