We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & luxurious stay in McLeod Ganj!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zambala House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zambala House
Ranked #9 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location & luxurious stay in McLeod Ganj!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Zambala House was like an oasis in McLeod Ganj. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The balcony provided a great view of the street view and McLeod Ganj. We attended teaching by His Holiness and this was a perfect location to get to the teachings, downtown McLeod Ganj, and shopping. The internet service was spotty at times but we were on vacation so it didn’t matter too much to us. The hotel also has a very nice rooftop which we enjoyed several times. You can take dinner or a drink up there and enjoy the breeze and views.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have wonderful views and are a great upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taking_a_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
21
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quiet, safe and serene place to stay. Staff was cordial, Rooms are spacious and clean. No Lift. Has parking facility. Heaters are provided on chargeable basis. No central heating in rooms otherwise. Bad food,prefer eating outside. Little on the expensive side comparing the inexpensive options in Mcleodganj.
Recommended for couples.
Overall, Nice and peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms with Balcony on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_M30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff of the hotel/"house" serves it's guests really well, making them feel at home. Their sincerity towards their work cannot be overlooked. The food is light and tasty. The rooms are well-lit and have proper ventilation. This is one place where i didn't experience that "moisturey hotel room" odour which is generally there in hotel rooms that cost as much as rooms of this hotel do. Overall, since the management is excellent, guests are definitely going to have an nice and easy stay at Zambala House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaryuGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is located at a location from where view of the valley is excellent and also one can see the Temple complex of H.H. The 14th Dalai Lama. Rooms are spacious and clean. I enjoyed staying here it has a parking also, otherwise at Dharamsala the vehicles have to be parked in Parking which is around 200 to 600 meters away from most of the hotels. We could not eat food there as we preferred eating outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brice65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Zambala is a very good hotel. It's a very clean place, the food is delicious, and all of the staff is very nice, helpful and friendly. It was a very pleasant experience being there, and it was hard to say goodbye. I had the chance to visit other guest houses in Dharamsala, but I thought Zambala was the best. It's a place I really recommend for the visitors of the beautiful Dharamsala.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapriceJacewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at Zambala House on a number of occassions and in my opinion this is the best hotel in McCleod. In terms of the rooms, size and decorations, bathrooms, views, service and general overall cleanliness and condition... it offers superb value for money and a comfortable homely stay. It is really an excellent hotel. The Management are friendly and efficient, particularly Sanjo who on many occassions has gone out of his way to assist me and others. Out of the bustle of town but within easy walking distance to the Temple and the town. I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and do not even bother to look at other accomodation in McCleod Ganj.

Room Tip: I particularly like Room 204 as it is a corner room has two windows and a balconey and the sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky19995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I do not think I had one of the better rooms because the hotel was full when I arrived but nevertheless, the room was fine and cheerful. The staff was lovely, in particular Tenzin, who was taking care of the hotel during the night at the front desk and worked tirelessly to get bottles of water and tea to everyone. The food was very bad, the coffee undrinkable, but hopefully that will be better in the future.
But, no matter the food, in total it was a lovely stay and I definitely shall book at the Zambala when I get the chance to visit McleodGanj again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigitte202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#5 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wood Castle
Hotel Wood Castle
#12 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 37 in McLeod Ganj
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Norbu House
Hotel Norbu House
#1 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zambala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zambala House

Property: Zambala House
Address: Hotel Bhagsu Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176216 , India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing