We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and excellent food make this basic hotel exceptional”
Review of Hotel Tibet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #16 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's ethics. It is run as a co-operative supporting Tibetan refugees. The rooms are basic but spacious, quiet and clean. The restaurant was excellent, extremely reasonable with a great choice of food. The best thing about the hotel is the staff who were so friendly and welcoming. They were very willing to share their experiences and gave us a great insight into their culture. Laundry service very efficient and reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Tibet just this week. I stayed three nights and the total bill was under $40, taxes and all. That's an incredibly cheap room. I'd like to end that sentence with "...and you can't believe what you get for the money!" but instead, I have to end that sentence with "..and, sadly, you were overcharged by half, nevertheless". I understand that services in McLeod Ganj are limited, like you can't help that there are power outages (their generator kicks in when that happens, though they say it does not kick in during sleeping hours) and that hot water is limited (they have hot water, but it's really complicated and only during 6:10 am and 6:10 pm). Also, there is Wi-Fi, which is great, but it's also extremely temperamental and always very slow. But ok, they have it. That's great. But what I don't get is why the rooms were dirty. there were glasses rings on the window sill. There were scuff marks on the walls where the bed's headboards must have been shifted over the years, and there was dirt buildup in the corners of the floor where it meets the wall that was just kind of gross, and totally avoidable. Every time I sat on the rickety toilet seat, it shifted to the right because it was put on crooked, and so I'd sort of slip off a bit every time. Seriously disconcerting! BUT, all that said, this is McLeod Ganj. This is how things are there. I expect more, even from a simple place, but maybe no other place is any better? I don't know. Maybe. And, to it's credit, the restaurant is really good. The people I was working with there, locals, said it's a bit pricey for them, but they go there for more "special" meals. It is cheap by western standards and the menu is varied with offerings from Tibet, India, Japan, China, and a few from the west (like a roast chicken with potato sides, pork chops, things like that). The momos were really good, though I had better at a place around the corner. Wonderful lemon/ginger/honey tea that became a favorite of mine. So, dirty, simple, but cheap. Good food that won't make you sick (good hygiene), which is important. And the service was good. Also, beyond the restaurant, there was a decent, simple bar and a simple cafe as well. Good. No fitness room or pool or anything like that. Very basic. But enough services.

Room Tip: I was given a room downstairs, in the basement. But the hotel is on a hill, and the rooms are only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Tibet in August, 2013. Traveling with a friend and my two kids, we rented 2 rooms. Each room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean and the rooms had ample space. Our rooms were very quiet. The attached restaurant is very good. The hotel offers laundry service at a nominal fee. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and will help you with any questions you might have. Its located right by the main street in McLeod Ganj, so everything is in walking distance. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: It seemed that all rooms were double occupancy only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tienchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel Tibet was, in the old days (circa 2000), the class of Mcleod Ganj. Especially in the past five years its amenities have been surpassed by fancy new tourist hotels at prices 3-5 times those of Hotel Tibet. The Baghsu road has become choked with large Punjabi vehicles and there is the blare of traffic immediately outside the hotel. The rooms in the basement are clean, dreary and cheap; those upstairs are reasonable and afford a good view (albeit not as great as teh view from Pema Thang). Management is under the Tibetan Central Administration and is scrupulously honest and professionally competent, more than competent, committed. The rooms are clean and the linen changed daily
The restaurant remains the best in Mcleod Ganj with excellent service and a varied menu and solid preparation. I do not believe that they will provide free bottled water, which is the only water that is safely potable for westerners--however at 15-20Rs ($.30-.40 per liter) the water is easily purchased next door to the hote.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ormond42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Friendly, comfortable, clean. Brilliant location right by the square and nothing is too much trouble. There is room service, restaurant, a bar, laundry service and wifi. Rooms are cleaned frequently, clean sheets and towels provided. Especially at this time of year, it is vital to choose a hotel that catches the sun. The rooms here get the sun for a lot of the day meaning they are bright and airy as well as warm. The hotel is run by the Tibetans meaning your money is going to help the Cause. Don't be put off by the rather dark and old fashioned reception! You get a lot for your rupee here.

Room Tip: Get a room at the far end - quieter and more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyddynalys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel Tibet is a calm and a cozy place right in the middle of Mcleod Ganj. Staff is very lovely and friendly and provide valuable and accurate information. Restaurant serves tasty and clean food in a calm environment.Big ooms are no frills but tidy, hot water available 06-08am and 06-08PM, bed linen, towels and blankets are all very clean as well as the room and toilet. They even have room service!In the wintertime they provide you with a heater for 100rupees?night, it might come handy when temps drop.I can definately recommend this hotel, it was perfect for my needs and would love to go back! If only they had valley views then this place would be PERFECT.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reindeer200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a really nice hotel and would get 5 *s if it was just a bit cleaner, and the breakfast didn't take 45 minutes on quiet day!

The staff are lovely and give lots of free water, advice and help. The rooms are nice with good views and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Matto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#57 of 79 in Dharamsala
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#8 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Address: Baghsu Nath Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176 219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing