We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misty Woods - Good Location, Clean Rooms, Easy to Book, Helpful Staff ... Very Much Recommended”
Review of Hotel Misty Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Misty Woods
Ranked #12 of 68 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I traveled in end March-beginning of April 2014 and stayed at Hotel Misty Woods with my family. Since the advance booking was already made almost a month & half back with help of Ramanji, the check-in upon arrival was easy. Rooms & washrooms were clean and are value for money. (The rooms are same as the images shown on the website). The location is good as it is a walking distance to the Dalai Lama temple, the main market, the various eating places/restaurants and the cab/auto stand. Neeraj at the front desk was very helpful in providing his good advice whenever we asked for it. The support staff are also quick and helpful. All the other guests at the hotel were foreigners but we were never made to feel left out or unimportant, this is a plus point for them.

And don't worry about the mention of barking dogs at night in some reviews down here, (when you have been busy the whole day at Mcleodganj and Dharamshala your night sleep doesn't get influenced if you are a heavy sleeper) the barking of dogs happens for sometime only I guess maybe when the dogs start feeling the chill of the night :) ... and I think this will be across all hotels/guest houses in Mcleodganj and is not specific to Misty Woods. The dogs are not a bother at all during day time.

For Neeraj - would like to mention a very special thanks from our end for helping in making travel arrangements back home when our flight got cancelled due to bad weather and we called him up from the airport. Our cab driver Gaurav from The Himalyan Journey (via Misty Woods) was a very helpful one indeed, he had dropped us at the airport and was waiting to pick-up someone on a flight from Delhi, he was still there when our flight got cancelled and he willingly helped us at the airport (without any expectations), would recommend Himalayan Journey as well (they are travel partners of Hotel Misty Woods)

Room Tip: The Apartment Suite for a family is very good choice. The Deluxe Room with Balcony is very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s1family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is located very close to the main market, almost central.

We were offered super deluxe room, which was clean and the toilet was shining. Good view from the room. The staff was very courteous and the person on the desk made it a point to greet every time he saw us.

Overall a nice stay, would come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ManuJain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Budget Traveler—The price is fantastic, even for a budget traveler. The location is good, just below the main area of MacLeod Ganj. The room on the top floor, facing to the mountains was large with a decent balcony and great view. Room was clean enough, but a bit cold in December; the space heater warmed it up to a tolerable degree, but it certainly wasn’t cozy. The bathroom had warmish water for a shower, at certain times of the day. WiFi was okay. Tea and coffee are served; no meals. Perhaps it was the fact that only one staff was on duty 24/7 to take of everything or because it is next to a road with dogs that bark during the night, or maybe it was the fact that, at this point in the trip, we were tired of ultra-firm mattresses and wafer-like pillows, which this hotel is guilty of—but Hotel Misty Woods seemed to lack a certain energy. Attention? Just a little bit more would have given it another star, and hopefully Misty Woods won’t slip a notch.

Room Tip: If available, ask for the room away from the road on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polaris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is located about 5 mins walk from the centre of Mcleodganj. Unfortunately it's right on the road so you do get traffic noise: if that isn't a problem then everything else about the place is good (I'm a light sleeper so any traffic is an issue for me). Simple rooms and functional bathrooms with balconies looking out over the valley below. Great view from the rooftop. Given that I stayed during the off-season I probably should have considered bargaining instead of just taking the 2500 INR per night offer price (as the taxi driver pointed out to me somewhat gleefully after he had established the price I paid for the room). At 1500 INR this would be good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for two nights. Rooms & toilets were clean and well maintained. Location is very good. Hotel staffs were very much helpful.
They do not have a restaurant. There are a lot of restaurants beside the Hotel and that is the advantage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank som30ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I are both young and checked out India for the first time. We chose Misty Woods mostly out of price and location (being near the Dalai Lama's temple) and were very happy with the overall experience.

The rooftop view is amazing, however, easy to miss if you just don't walk up and check it out! There should be a lounge area up there- it's so nice- you can see the mountains and hills. Location is great- just near the shops, but the staff were just great.

Ideal for Westerners who aren't too fussy about accommodation but just want to be cozy. We were upgraded to a nicer room due to it not being peak season at the time for no extra price as well.

Really great place and beautiful staff!

Room Tip: Check out the rooftop view- get up early for the sunrise :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark918273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

They say the first impression is the last impression. Well, the managers at Hotel Misty Woods, Neeraj and his beautiful wife Pooja made sure it was the best one. From the time we arrived at McLeod Ganj, actually while we were still on our way there, until the time we departed they were the most thoughtful hosts and constantly went beyond their call of duty. The hotel is great if you want to stay close to the market area and if you don’t want to splurge too much. The rooms are spacious and clean. Our only complaint was that the bathroom had a strange foul smell. But nothing we couldn’t live with. You will have to give an occasional shout out to Neeraj when the water heater doesn't work, but that's no biggie. But all in all, a very comfortable stay.
Word of caution- the streets in McLeod Ganj are pretty narrow. Hence, there is no car parking available at the hotel. Which leaves you with the closest pay-n-park near the market and it’s pretty steep if you are spending more than a day there. Try to find a free spot further away from the market. But this won’t be the easiest thing you do on the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disha_RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
712 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#5 of 68 in McLeod Ganj
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 68 in McLeod Ganj
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misty Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misty Woods

Address: 44 / 3 Jogibara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Ramana Cottage & Guest House)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $17 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a real budget option, consider peaceful Hotel MISTY WOODS, where you can rent amongst ten different kind of rooms with an attached bathroom and hot shower. The rooms are spartan 1970s throwbacks. Top Floor of the hotel has an entire apartment (one double bedroom with attached bathroom, living room with television, refrigerator, equipped kitchenette including gas range, and balcony). Hotel MISTY WOODS (previously known as cheryton cottage or Ramana inn) has 10 Rooms of different categories namely Standard , Deluxe, Super deluxe and an Apartment with kitchen. All the rooms have attached Bathrooms with hot water facility. MISTY WOODS have a free Wi-FI facility only for the in house Guests. We do have heaters available for the rooms for an extra charge of Rs 150/night. Hot water Bottles are provided in the rooms complimentary to the guests. The room tariff of the rooms ranging between Rs 1200/night to Rs 3000/night. There is a parking space available for the smaller cars and Motor bikes. Hotel MISTY WOODS is managed by a couple Anna and Raman Gupta, hails from Kashmir,J&K and now settled in Dharamsala. Both being a graduates from the hotel management college ,worked with different five star hotels namely Hyatt Regency Delhi, Oberoi Towers Mumbai, Holiday-inn Pune and then moved to World famous Disney world /Disney cruise lines Florida USA and worked with the company for 12 years in Food and Beverage services and Food production Department. The Main Focus in the hotel MISTY WOODS is given on Safety, Cleanliness and Guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Misty Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing