We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay with Nicest staff”
Review of Hotel Misty Woods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Misty Woods
Ranked #11 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ankleshwar, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay with Nicest staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I visited Dharmshala with my family (Wife,Parents & younger Brother). We booked the apartment and a double room for 3 nights. I was very impressed with the way owner communicated on phone about the booking and suggested various room options. An extra bed was accommodated in the apartment which didn't make the place cramped at all as the apartment was very spacious. The view of the hills from apartment's living room was awesome. Main market is just 5 mins away from the hotel, and on the way many eating options are available. The staff at the hotel was very polite and courteous. They assisted us with almost everything which troubled us. On the last day of our stay, Owner himself came to meet us. Nice piece of hospitality and a comfortable stay. Thumbs up to Misty Woods!

Room Tip: The Apartment is an excellent choice and can accommodate 3 people comfortably. Reasonably priced too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saketsamrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramanadharamshala_10, Owner at Hotel Misty Woods, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Greetings
I would like to thank you and your family for staying with us at MISTYWOODS and taking few minutes of your precious time to say wonderfull things about us. I,m glad to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed staying at MISTYWOODS.
We would be looking forward to your next stay at MISTYWOODS and if given a chance would try to exceed your expectations.
Thank you
Mistywoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
23
25
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Misty Woods 5 nights. The rooms are clean, quite and affordable, they have wifi and laundry if u need it. And above all Neeraj and his wife are absolutely lovely and helpful! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramanadharamshala_10, Owner at Hotel Misty Woods, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Greetings
I would like to thank you for staying at MISTYWOODS. I,m thrilled to hear from you through your review that you had a great time at MISTYWOODS. Hope to see you real soon for your next visit to Mcleodganj.
Thanks and regards
Mistywoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled to Dharamsala twice and have stayed in a couple if guest houses there . Misty woods is definitely my favorite . It is very short walk to the Dali llamas temple , restaurants and shops but slightly down the road so you are not in the middle of all the hustle and bustle . The 2 brothers and their wives that run the guest house are so warm and lovely and they made my experience at the guest house so enjoyable . The rooms are clean and for the price it's truly a bargain . Many hotels in McLeod charge a lot of money but this one is the best bang for your buck . The amazing Japanese restaurant is one hop away . I'm so happy I found this place ! Many of my friends were staying in dharmkot . They often lost electricity. Best to stay at misty woods and take a rickshaw to dharamkot to get away from the market and cars . Misty woods has wifi , TV, cleans rooms and a great family ! Xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raman G, Owner at Hotel Misty Woods, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from MISTYWOODS
We are glad you chose to stay with us during your visit to Mcleodganj. I,m Happy to know that your stay was comfortable and you found the services and atmosphere to be up to your desired expectations.
We thank you for your valuable feedback and recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to MISTYWOODS Mcleodganj.
Regards
Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I rented this property for 2 nights. It's very close to all the attractions, 5 mins walk to main bazaar, you think of food and you will get it here, the second day of our stay after I ordered some pakoras due to heavy rainfall the staff quickly made it and they were awesome!

I really enjoyed my holidays, and I would highly recommend this hotel for pleasant stay.

Incredible himachal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incredibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raman G, Owner at Hotel Misty Woods, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings
Thanks for staying at MISTYWOODS. I am very glad to hear that your stay at MISTYWOODS was enjoyable. we have started the breakfast menu and all day meal menu last year. slowly but surely we will be adding more and more dishes in the menu.
We at MISTYWOODS will be eagrily looking forward to your next stay at MISTYWOODS.
Thanks and Regards
Anna and Raman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in this hotel, nice clean room, affordable, very friendly staff, service was also excellent...even at 6 in the morning I ordered something one of the staff person rushed to the market and purchased it for me....I even forgot my shoes in the hotel the hotel owner even couriered it to my address.....I advise my fellow travellers to stay in this hotel without thinking much.....

Room Tip: All the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in total and had a great time. Raman and Anna made our stay as pleasant as possible always offering to help and assisting us when we needed it. The room was simple but had everything it needed. Ideal location within walking distance from all attractions in Mcleod. We would highly recommend this to anyone wishing for a good traveller stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed 10 nights in this hotel,mainly in the super deluxe room with a balcony. The mountain view was magnificent and very often the balcony was surrounded by "misty woods"
I LOCATION
A few minutes' walk to the central square. Restaurants and cafes are nearby.
II ROOM and BALCONY
Apartment is a good bargain, if you are usede to the street noise. Otherwise super deluxe room facing mountains is recommended for a peaceful stay.From the balcony you can observe different spieces of birds(some are rather rare) and monkeys.
III FOOD
Breakfast is served in your room. Room service is available for lunch and dinner.
IV MANAGEMENT and SERVICE
They provide distinguished service. The owner Mr Gupta takes care so that customers get full satisfaction. The staff are highly efficient and helpful.
I reserved this hotel 6 months ago by email. Since then I had a lot of correspondence with Mr. Gupta.
(I was not sure if it was Ok to travel to certain parts of Kashmir ,due to some incidents at the beginning of the year)
He provided me correct information on Kashmir,which helped me to travel safely and enjoyably in early June. He also arranged a car from Jammu to Mcleodganj.

So I highly recommend ths hotel. Especially if you are a long time traveler in India,this is the place to recuperate!

Room Tip: mountainside has a good view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 23 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 23 in McLeod Ganj
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#3 of 23 in McLeod Ganj
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 48 in McLeod Ganj
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#7 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misty Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misty Woods

Property: Hotel Misty Woods
Address: 44 / 3 Jogibara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Ramana Cottage & Guest House)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a real budget option, consider peaceful Hotel MISTY WOODS, where you can rent amongst ten different kind of rooms with an attached bathroom and hot shower. The rooms are spartan 1970s throwbacks. Top Floor of the hotel has an entire apartment (one double bedroom with attached bathroom, living room with television, refrigerator, equipped kitchenette including gas range, and balcony). Hotel MISTY WOODS (previously known as cheryton cottage or Ramana inn) has 10 Rooms of different categories namely Standard , Deluxe, Super deluxe and an Apartment with kitchen. All the rooms have attached Bathrooms with hot water facility. MISTY WOODS have a free Wi-FI facility only for the in house Guests. We do have heaters available for the rooms for an extra charge of Rs 150/night. Hot water Bottles are provided in the rooms complimentary to the guests. The room tariff of the rooms ranging between Rs 1200/night to Rs 3000/night. There is a parking space available for the smaller cars and Motor bikes. Hotel MISTY WOODS is managed by a couple Anna and Raman Gupta, hails from Kashmir,J&K and now settled in Dharamsala. Both being a graduates from the hotel management college ,worked with different five star hotels namely Hyatt Regency Delhi, Oberoi Towers Mumbai, Holiday-inn Pune and then moved to World famous Disney world /Disney cruise lines Florida USA and worked with the company for 12 years in Food and Beverage services and Food production Department. The Main Focus in the hotel MISTY WOODS is given on Safety, Cleanliness and Guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Misty Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing