We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizzas but smoky atmosphere”
Review of Carpe Diem

Carpe Diem
Ranked #15 of 81 Restaurants in McLeod Ganj
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas but smoky atmosphere”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Ordered 2 pizzas and they were absolutely divine. Thin and crispy crust with plenty of flavour. Comfortable floor seating, shame the smoke from the oven and other guests smoking can be a bit overpowering, otherwise it would've definitely got a 5 star rating from me

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spaceangelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    107
    38
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Italian food @ McleodGanj”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Go for their rooftop cafe! They serve a wide variety of buffet. The margarita pizza was a good serving.

Helpful?
Thank Nishith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Looking for reasonably priced nice food - Be here!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nice little joint off the road opp TCV outlet close to Tourist Information Center. Locals not very aware of the name- may be because it is difficult to pronounce.
As you climb up to first floor restaurant, it looks very informal, casual place. Do not be misled by the simple setup which greets you as they compensate by their friendliness, nice wifi and reasonably good food. In fact the best we had during our short visit.
The menu is truly international with Chinese, Thai, Mexican. Italian and Indian items.
Only downside for us was smoking by almost all clients though they say on their walls- No smoking. We had to move down from open roof top to the Ist Floor.
Most touristry places serve substandard poorly cooked meals but this was a very pleasant departure from that practice. Shall return in future too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VarinderDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Go for good wifi and food”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I mainly come here every day because the Wifi is the best I've found in McLeod Ganj so far but every time I eat here the food has been great too. The staff are really lovely, I'm now friends with all of them and love to come for their jam sessions in the quiet times (around 4pm). The Thai food I had here was literally the best I've had in India, the pizza is really good, the pasta wasn't the best but good and I love their chai. The roof top is super chilled.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePoorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon (NCR)
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hopes trashed”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We visited the restaurant on May02, 2014. Having read some raving review in Outlook Traveller about its chicken sizzler and hunter chicken, we ordered the same for lunch. It was the worst ever. The sauce tasted more of maida, the food came after waiting for almost an hour. The old staff has left that is what we were told.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chandrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpe Diem also viewed

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
Dharamsala, Kangra District
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing