We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Carpe Diem

Carpe Diem
Ranked #14 of 80 Restaurants in McLeod Ganj
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
McLeod Ganj, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

went here after reading reviews, but must have caught staff and chefs on a bad day. worst meal and by far most expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skidby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    107
    38
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food !!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

great restaurant, with delicious food, clean and safe.
THE place to hang out in the evenings.
and nice happy staff :)
prices are little bit high, but the food's worth it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food isn't too good”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Carpe diem is a fun place.... When entering it is felt that the management had put many efforts in maintaining the atmosphere of the place...but the main thing of The restaurant which is the food is pretty much in need for improvement.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to hangout”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visited this place based on the reviews. The food was good. The joint is a good place to hangout with friends. The restaurant has wood fired pizza which was better than the rest of our meal. The indian selection is very average and best to be avoided.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viaggia2ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harptree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Food with that hidden extra”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

After reading the reviews we went to Carpe Diem expecting excellent food and ambience. We got the ambience but the rest we pretty dreadful and we're not quite sure where this 'Italian' chef trained.....Mumbai?

First, it arrived after less than 5 minutes from ordering....hardly freshly cooked. OH's spaghetti with eggplant and olives was sloppy and the only saving grace was that there were lots of olives.

My tuna lasagne was also sloppy and luke warm. Having realised it was not freshly cooked and that it was luke warm I should have sent it back but I ate it. BIG mistake. It may be coincence but I spent the next 36hrs in bed, sleeping, aching and making regular visits to the bathroom. Looking on the brightside, some people pay lots of money for an Ayurvedic treatment!

I should have scored it ONE but gave it TWO because of the chilled atmosphere and the friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpe Diem also viewed

Dharamsala, Kangra District
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing