We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Say Hello to Awful Plumbing and Ghetto Living”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Akash

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akash
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Say Hello to Awful Plumbing and Ghetto Living”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I (foolishly) stayed here for almost a month this spring (I must admit - it's a great view and the cafe seemed cozy). I initially succumbed to the charm offensive by management, but here are a few things that just piled up and made me seek out a much superior room in the same neighborhood for less money:

Laundry shouldn't take four days when it's promised in one (mine was lying littered around on the rooftop when I finally decided to get it myself). My bedding was quite old and unfit for chillier weather, and they charge extra for a duvet or heater. My double-bed had a hole the size of a foot with a piece of wood covering it (the manager pretended not to know about it). There was a garbage pail perennially left in the hallway without a lid and showing off used toilet paper. The cafe was more like a noisy living room often occupied by children and families. Dinner went right through me the only time I ate at the cafe. My TV barely operated. Most irritatingly, the plumbing sucked; I frequently had no hot water or no water at all, which commonly would last all day. By the time I left, I felt the owners had really taken me for a ride, and told numerous lies and half-truths to keep me there. My final word: Hotel Akash is emblematic of the grubby Dharamsala hotel leased by someone who only cares about his profit line.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmoffatt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
9
26
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just stayed at the Akash for 5 days and I all ready miss it - the owners are a wonderful couple from Germany and Kashmir who are so happy to help you with anything you want to plan - they make this hotel great with their kindness, friendliness and hospitality. Many times I go to a hotel as I travel around the world 24/7 and find the people who run it unable to answer anything i ask - Not Here! Jo and Fayaz will help you as they know the area and have been here a long time. And they both speak German, Kasmiri, HIndi and English to top it all off! The hotel has a nice living room chill out area to talk and eat/drink and do wifi - off this area is a wonderful terrace with stunning views - you might not want to leave at all but its only a short walk over the hill on a pleasant lane with no traffic to get to the Dalai Lama's temple. I left yesterday and all ready miss the place and Jo and Fayaz. Check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

There is the perfect view on the mountain. Good location. More or less clean... Except for the towels - it was so dirty like somebody used it to clean the floor. Staff was friendly and helpful. Except for the following situation. At the beginning the guy on the reception offer us 400Rp for the room. But then after we cheked in, it turned out that the price is 500Rps((( According to "governmental rates" like it was written in some stupid paper - oh, come on! i don't belive it. As if government would care about the prices for each room in small hotel))) We haven't seen those "official papers" anywhere in India for two months of travels in India. Ok, even if it's true, why don't you say it before? And why if that's true, in other hotels we could pay less for a similar room?..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

hotel is very near to Bhagsu temple and main market.u can enjoy nature nearby.we have good time in hotel as nearby area is very good & enjoyable.Price is affordable and compare to price so ignore bead review see in everything there are marits & dmerits u can't get evrything nice and bad all the time!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The bad reviews that you can read below may have been true at the time but the place has changed its management and I can tell you its fantastic. The rooms are spacious and with comfy beds. They have good wifi which considering its in India is a rareity. It is run by a wonderful family with a German wife and the husband is from Kashmire, they also have two kids which will keep you entertained if you are missing your own. They are down away from the main square but not too far so it means that it is quieter but not too far away that you cant walk home at night and not feel safe. THe price is really reasonable and they are really helpful if you need to book taxis etc. I stayed in the top room and the views of the mountains are the best in all India!!! Please go and give them a try you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

For a budget hotel in a place where there is a distinct absence of luxury hotels, this is an acceptable option.

Yes, the staff are not particularly helpful and the place is about as basic as it comes, but it's a bed for the night at an extremely small price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just recently came back from mcleodganj trip with 3 friends and we decided to stay at hotal akash as i found it affordable for us, 800/- per night. It was the big mistake for us as there is no facility and home like feeling as they mentioned A HOME AWAY FROM HOME. Its just a horrible experience. Staffs are very rude and they dont listen your need and requirements. They did not provide us extra blanket and we had to survive that cold winter night in only one thin blanket.they even did not provide one bottle of water we had to purchase everything from outside.i will never visit this hotel again in my life.worst hotel i ever seen in my life.very very rude people

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Vaikunth
Hotel The Vaikunth
#18 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akash

Property: Hotel Akash
Address: Jogiwara Rd, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy People, a cozy place and ahomelike atmosphere!All you need for a perfect andmemorable stay, you will find it here,at our little place with a big heart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Akash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing