We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
Nearby Hotels
OYO 4205 Hotel Anuj Regency(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortune Park Moksha(McLeod Ganj)
$114
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pink House(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$20
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The M Hotel(McLeod Ganj)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moon Walk Residency(McLeod Ganj)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
45
16
6
3
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
16
6
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel akashshower headother hotelsgreat viewrecommend this hotelgood sizevisit mcleodganjtravel deskplace to staymain squarebudget hoteljogiwara roadclean roomsparaglidingindiakantterrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 82 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed one week in hotel akash. after a short time you feel really at home there. they have clean and nice decorated rooms, a nice caferoom where you can hang out with other travellers and also the terrace with himalayan view for your breakfast and a wonderful rooftop where I was sitting a long time watching the mountains, clouds and birds...
the tea and coffee variety is great. I really loved the kashmiri tea... here you can taste the kashmir if you want and ask for a nice dinner. the friendly, open and helpful crew will do everything if you ask them. soon you will feel like in a family talking about how your day was going,...
it is a nice place in peaceful atmosphere with a good distance from the busy main square but even close by everything. you have yoga i the next house and a lot of nice meeting points for tibetian people and volunteers in the neighbourhood.
the possibility to refill your water is very helpful and good for the environment.

Room Tip: mountainview is always good
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shantilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We make reservations by e-mail in advance and called two days ahead to reconfirm, only to arrive at 5:30 PM in a down pour of rain to discover our room had been given to someone else! Accommodations at another hotel were secured, through another person, for the first night and then I returned to stay at the Hotel Akash in their "deluxe" room for two nights. It was manageable as far as being clean by India standards and there was hot water. But, after meeting travelers in McLeod Ganj and visiting the Green Hotel and the Om Hotel I learned the Hotel Akash was definitely overpriced for what was offered! The lobby which looks lovely in the photograph was dark and depressing. The staff was no help in any way. The bathrooms had open vents to other rooms and to the passage between rooms. The noise was incredible - dogs and parties on the floor patio. One night I thought a dog was actually on the second floor by my room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night in Mid April 2012, the hotel is around half a mile down on Jogiwara Road, from Main square. The hotel lobby was clean and so was the room on the ground floor where we stayed. The view of the snow mountains was great from the room and the roof top and that's the USP of this hotel. Cafe Arabica has been out of existence for long it seems.

The hotel had so many positive reviews and pics so I was hoping it to be buzzing with people and energy, but it looked very stranded. We saw the room one day in advance and paid 200 rs advance and decided to check in the next day.

The manager (who pretended to be the owner) was a dark kashmiri Indian with curly hair and really funny accent. He could barely speak english but tried to mimic all the countries' accents :)

I tried hard to keep myself from giggling while in front of him. But he was a nice chap, helpful in giving directions and advice.

Rooms were clean with clean toilets and running hot water. Linen was changed regularly so that's nice.

The only problem was with the guys smoking Pot as mentioned in one of the earlier reviews. Although its pretty much every where in McL, but seeing the pics of the hotel and its own website, almost convinced me I will find a lot of dopers here. But the one's I could find smoking a joint were the Manager and his helper, puffing the magic dragon, right below the NO SMOKING sign :)

No tea coffee that i could see. Water filter wasn't working either. Manager suggested to get it filled from any busy restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the road as the bikes and cars will keep honking and disturb your rest/ sleep. Try getting a room on the upper floors with a view of the snow capped peak.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vinay846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel manager is very hospitable and helpful. My stay was very comfortable. They have all amenities very close by, just ask. The location is great, very central. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DS2012again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

really good size airy, light rooms most with balcony's and with private bathroom. Clean and good value with really lovely staff. Good location as its just five minutes walk from the main square but out of the crazy noisy traffic. It also has an empty roof top terrace which really nice to sit in peace in the sunshine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmakulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews