We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed in Hotel Akash for one week and enjoyed every moment. We had an excellent breakfast every morning in the sun, served by really friendly staff, a big clean room with balcony (great view on the mountains) and bathroom with hot shower. We highly recommend this warm and homely place. Thank you!
Yvonne and Jan from Germany

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YVO123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    6
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
28
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravensburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I really felt home! Very good price for double rooms. Around 400 to 500 R. Always clean rooms. I tried out 3 different rooms. Bathroom had warm water and normal showers. The rooms with the balcony I would recommand. Chai available every morning. Good service! Nice atmosphere and cosy wall decorations!

Hope Center for volunteering work around the corner. Yoga Center close by. Very good Japanes restaurant next to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nathi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guacimo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Cannot recommend highly enough

The nutella pancakes are awesome, the view off the deck is great, and the community of travelers is really terrific. One love Akash holla back brrrrrr fly in any weather

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Akash with a friend this past April. It was truly an amazing experience. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. The location was great. The cafe was delicious. I only wish I had more time to spend. The travelers that migrate toward Hotel Akash are very laid back and come from all different walks of life. I would definitely recommend Hotel Akash for anyone looking for a quiet laid back atmosphere to relax and enjoy McLeod Ganj!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at Akash for 3 weeks as a solo female traveller looking to do some volunteering. Not only are they a fantastic location, literally RIGHT next to LIT (http://learningandideasfortibet.org/) and other volunteer opportunities, and located less than 5 minutes away from the main square/bazzars, but it is truly the most welcoming, warm place I have ever stayed. I read a couple of bad reviews on here and I would like to say PLEASE DISREGARD THEM! Those people clearly have bad, prissy attitudes. Ok, so if you are looking for a 5 star resort....DONT GO TO INDIA! Spend your vacation in the Carribean islands or something, you'll be much happier. If however, you would like a little slice of friendly India...I can offer no greater advice than to stay here. The people there--Moona, and I'm sure whoever is staying there at the same time as you, will become like your family. The lounge space/cafe in the main lobby is like the living room for the guests, everyone just chills there and enjoys eachothers company. You will make so many friends. It is fantastic if you are travelling alone but also if you are with a group! I really think anyone could have a great time here, if you are open and chill, but it is really perfect for backpackers. Don't expect American style comfort but that's because you aren't in America. It has more of a co-op feel than a hotel sometimes, ask if you can help make a group dinner or something! And bring your musical instrument with you--spontaneous jam nights are the best here! Embrace it, just chill out...and live the shanti life at Akash!!

Room Tip: they have a variety of rooms, some with kitchens--ask what's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jenn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I was very disappointed in our stay here. The rooms are very dirty and the bedding did not look like it had been washed all year! The bed was as hard as sleeping on the floor and we woke with numb shoulders and stiff necks. We could not use their pillows at all due to the look and smell from them! The bathroom was incredibly dirty with hair left in the sink and shower plugs from previous guest(s) so the water wouldnt drain, the toilet leaked all over the floor everytime you flushed it and the tiled walls and floors looked as though they hadnt seen detergent ever. The owner and staff were not the friendliest people we encountered in India and seemed distracted by other things than their guests.
The hotel itself is not the most conveniently placed being at the bottom of the hill below the main square, dogs barked outside our window most of the night and I dont know where the cafe they advertised was as we could not even get a coffee in the morning.
There are lots of places to stay in McLeod Ganj and many of these were clean, comfortable and priced on a par with Hotel Akash so dont be fooled into booking this place before you arrive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WorldTraveller23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I planned my trip this June-July after seeing reviews for various hotels on Tripadvisor. Hotel Akash had a decent record of reviews. I booked it through himachalhotels.in. When I reached there with my family the reception was empty to teh left of which was Cafe Arabica with some chairs and a mattress on which you could see Europeans smoking drugs. Owner's brother came to us from there and said the hotel is full and there are no rooms. When we mentioned our booking he said he has a room. The small room had no phone, TV was not working and there was no place for extra bed. We asked whether we can check-out without cancellation charges when the person told us he has not received any payment, accepts no booking from internet and caters ONLY to Europeans. The agent had mixed up with Hotel Akshdeep and we were so thankful for the mixup. Akashdeep turned out to be good hotel with decent crowd and facilities though located in Bhagsunag which is 10 min walk from McLeodganj. It is unimaginable how an Indian can be so unwelcoming to other Indians. The person was most rude. I would not recomment this hotel unless you are 1. a European and 2. A drug addict yourself. I had a lucky escape.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank amahajan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#9 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#8 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest

Property: OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
Address: Jogiwara Rd, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Hotel Akash )
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy People, a cozy place and ahomelike atmosphere!All you need for a perfect andmemorable stay, you will find it here,at our little place with a big heart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing