We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host, very clean”
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at Green hotel and stayed in a room on the top floor with balcony and views over the valley. The room was spacious and clean with air conditioner if you want it. The host and the staff were just wonderful. Incredibly friendly and helpful and always with a smile on her face. The restaurant was incredibly clean. We were amazed to watch them clean the windows every day! The food was good. We particularly enjoyed the Tibetan food. All in all a good place to stay and base walks and trips from there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

They have two kind of rooms, with balcony and view, and without. I stayed in the one with balcony. It was supernice, light and comfortable. There is plenty of hot water, and whatever I wanted, they helped me right away. The room had a great bed, TV, comfortable chairs, a little table and a closet. At night it was a little cold, but still much better than other rooms, because it got heated by sunshine during the daytime. I asked for extra blanket, and that was instantly provided.

The restaurant is very nice; it also have heating, sockets and the wifi works well both in the room as well as in the restaurant. The food was average, but the service very, very good. They also have a library for the guests to use. The veranda is perfect on sunny days.

What I liked the most was the friendliness of the Tibetan management and even though they were always very busy, they also had the time to answer questions and assist me with whatever I wanted. I wanted to stay one night, but ended up staying 6 days, because it was so pleasant.

It is a good place to hang out meeting locals, Tibetans, travellers and researchers. Good vibe!

Room Tip: See all price cathegory-rooms to chose the best one. I took the one with balcony, slightly more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very good hotel.
Rooms are big and comfortableand clean (we stayed in the luxury rooms) .
Nice view. The only drawback is low hot water flow.
The hotel is owned by a Tibetan family, and the staff is very kind and friendly.
The coffee shop, that serves as the lobby of the hotel – is may be the best in Mcclaod Ganj, with Italian coffee and good food.
Location is excellent, near the center, but it can be quite noisy during rush hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsur-Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights at the Green Hotel in two different rooms-- one room for 2,000 INR per night on the top floor and one for 1800 INR per night on the second floor of the green building. Both rooms were fine with balconies, hot water, and tv. We liked the first room better, but were told we had to move because of a long standing reservation. I had a confirmed reservation too, but we decided the second room would be okay and decided not make a big deal out of it. If you are planning to stay a while, make sure you don't have to change rooms.

I liked the restaurant; lots of travelers and locals hang out there. Service can be a bit inconsistent but the food is good.

The hotel is on Bhagsu Rd not far from the main square. It's a busy street and noisy. If you are looking for a quiet hotel, go somewhere else. Honking, barking, restaurant noise, and lots of noise from the staff are part of staying at the Green Hotel.

The wifi is frustrating; sometimes it works fine and sometimes not at all. Years ago the Green Hotel had an internet cafe. I figured they would have good wifi, but this is not the case.

I'll probably try another place next time I'm in McLeod Ganj. The Green Hotel isn't bad, but with the noise and wifi problems, it may not be worth the money.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the street as you can. But you'll never escape the barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel offers the diverse variety of rooms with diverse prices. We got one of the best rooms with balcony and view was great. The interior design of the room was very nice with comfortable bed. location is great but I think little bit overpriced. The owner and his family are very nice. we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzadehTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were ok and clean, same for bathroom. We didn't had hot water until we crossed to the neighbourg's balcony to switch on the geezer !
We were in a economic room 1st floor, a little noisy (street noise, dogs barkling at night).
The staff is ok but seems so busy... I guess that the price to pay when you have a well placed place in McLeod.

So finally for cheaper you can find a better place but this hotel is ok if you want to be in the muddle if the village.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VinhGuyait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We paid for a room and found out that the shower is broken. They didn't want to fix it And offered us to use a bucket instead. They didn't offer us to move to another room or to compensate us in another way.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
1.6 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#1 of 2 in Naddi
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#2 of 28 in McLeod Ganj
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest
#18 of 28 in McLeod Ganj
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#5 of 28 in McLeod Ganj
118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 28 in McLeod Ganj
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
D's Casa
D's Casa
#8 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Address: Bhagsu Road, Dharamsala, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $19 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing