We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Exteriors with Shabby Interiors”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Exteriors with Shabby Interiors”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Bhagsu for two nights. The service standards of the hotel leave a lot to be desired. The front reception was unmanned when we reached there and had to wait for a longtime for checking in as the computer system was down. Ultimately we were assigned a room after a wait of 45 minutes.
It is a very old hotel and needs immediate refurbishing. The rooms are corridors are dark and have a typical close door smell. The bed size was very small and the bed linen old and smelly. There is no mini bar or tea making facilities. Room Service responds very late and food served was a bit cold. Having said this the hotel has some breathtaking views once you open the window and look beyond the hotel. Hotel lawns are huge and are well maintained. The outdoor part of the hotel is matchless and this somehow makes up for its shabby interiors. Moreover the hotel is moderately priced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    151
    58
    13
    4
See reviews for
139
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Hi, i recently stayed at Bhagsu, the hotel was comfortabe it was semi delux room and i got it a 30% discount due to off season. The room had hot water, TV, Heater, extra Blankets etc. The hotel is situated in mc leaodganj and 2 min walking distance from the main market. The hotel also had in house dining which was till about 9:30 pm. my advice to other travellers is not ask for non veg food in the hotel or outside it wasnt ooked properly anywhere. The veg food was good. Like any other hill station the city closes at 7:30 pm

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suyash_dubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

In a touristy & bustling hill-town like McLeodganj, we were lucky to stay in this HPTDC gem called Hotel Bhagsu.
its location, slight uphill from the main street (but not vey far from it) is an advantage... the nicely maintained lawns enhance the look of the place..
there is no room which has a "Dhauladhar View", but some rooms have a valley-view, which is not too bad...

The rooms are compact but comfortable, as is expected in a typical govt. property.... service is friendly, efficient...

the highlight was the sit-out areas, in front of & behind the hotel... that is where you can sit for hours with a lovely view of the snow-clad Dhauladhar mountains....

dont expect too much, & you'll enjoy this place!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nrupal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

it was a good and neat hotel , with good friendly staff, very ample parking, value for money and neat and clean.the palce is well connected with the bus stand being very near and the best untouched locations. the rooms have a very good view of the mountains and are very calm with no touch from outside world

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Did the booking in advance, rooms were OK, not very big for 3 of us, with luggale and back packs room got crowded. To put the extra bed for my son, we had to get the chair out in the night, we can live with that. Got pretty cold, they gave us room heaters, everything was working as it shoud, the food was OK and the prices OK for Macleodganj standards. The location of the hotel is great, you can walk around in the morning into the small wood or sit in the well maintained rose gardrn. The service was OK, tipping would speed up things as it would all over India.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalandhar
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Cenrally located, with good parking place, fixed rates so you don't feel cheated during peak season. Nice lawns where you can relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msinghdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here for two days. The hotel has great ambiance, is ideal for holidaying with family. Rooms are clean and bathrooms spotless. There isnt muchh difference between a standard and a luxury room except for the toilet sizes! The furniture is old but clean. The rooms are lit with tube lights which gives a feel of being at home rather in a hotel! We enjoyed having breakfast in the garden. The food is excellent and prices affordable. They have a nice open ground where families play outdoor games. Location is excellent and the view of deodar trees outside very scenic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauve007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
1.3 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#8 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC

Property: Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Address: McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing