We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location, an old favorite”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
india
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“beautiful location, an old favorite”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

There may be more luxorious resorts in and around dharamsala, there may more modern hotels, but for me, hotel bhagsu beats them in several aspects. First off, the location, being an HPTDC hotel, is the tops, right at the top of the bazaar in Mcleodganj (or Upper Dharamsala), facing the dhauladhar range. You can have your breakfast, meals in the gardens on the ground floor or on the terrace on the first floor with a wonderful vista opening up before you. The rooms are adequate with clean and spacious bathrooms. The personnel are courteous and provide service with a smile. The choices of food in the restaurant is not wide, but the food is good. But the best part is you can just walk in to the two main streets of Mcleodganj - Temple Road and Jogibara Road - and have a variety of eateries to choose from, or shop or simply watch the hustle-bustle of life as desi tourists, local Tibetans and dreadlocked foreigners move about. The adjoining tourist complex garden is so secluded that it feels as if it's the hotel's private property. After a morning walk in these grounds amidst serene surroundings, walk down to the bazaar at 7 am before the tourist rush starts and breakfast at roadside eatieries in Jogibara road on hot momos, and Tibetan bread.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dockalpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    151
    58
    13
    4
See reviews for
139
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
panaji
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The location of this hotel is the best. From the rooms and garden/ parking you get good view of snow cladded moutains. The market is just 200mtrs away. The sitout in the garden is surrounded by beautiful flowers and Devdar trees.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipikapanaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

This is a great place to stay, if you enjoy great location and calmness.

The Garden restaurant is amazing, lush green surrounding and quiet atmosphere are the USPs of this place, as far as room pricing goes it was a bit on higher side i mean you might not feel its value for money just seeing the rooms but overall package is amazing.

What more, you have the market nearby but this place is spared from the chaos of a market place. I enjoyed snooker & table tennis in the clubhouse adjacent to it.

Overall one who loves nature and serenity .. this is the place for u.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohitDargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Though situated in a heritage structure and looking awesome from the exterior it is one of the shabbiest hotels to stay. The rooms are tiny and unclean. The only good thing is that it is very near to the club house which has some recreational facilitie like pool etc and food quality is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayur_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The best part about the Hotel is its location. It's 2 mins walk from all the major streets and a 5 mins walk to Dalai Lama temple.

The Hotel is surrounded by gardens on 3 sides where one can enjoy early morning tea, breakfast in the sun and of course, dinner with cool breeze blowing in the evening.

I was surprised by their quick service and willingness to prepare special dishes, if given an advace order. We requested for a Himachali delicacy (out of the menu) and it was fantastic.

I am sure you would be looking at other properties like Udchee Huts and Glenmoore but nothing can beat the location of Bhagsu. You are in the centre of the city yet surrounded by nature & tranquality.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing as such
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delhitraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Great location, rooms are nice and clean. People at the front desk are very friendly. Restaurant food is awesome. Don't forget to try their parathas for breakfast - you can eat out at the patio and it is awesome! They have a nice front yard and ample parking. View of the mountains and sunrise here is great to watch.

I made reservations over the phone and paid for the room after I got there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desiTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This hotel is owned by the Himachal Pradesh Tourism and is hence very good value for money.
Location of this hotel is amazing as it is just 2 mins walk from the City Centre and 10 mins walk from Norbulinka (The Main Monastery). Ample parking pace is avaibale in front of the hotel for private cars.

Rooms are quite good. We stayed in the Deluxe category and found it reasonably well furnished with all basic amenities. Bathroom was big and clean with ample suplpy of basic toiletries like soap, toilet paper etc.

We didn't try the food as when you are in Mcleod's there are so many options outside that you don't want to eat in the hotel. I am not sur eif they have a Breakfast included in the room tariff or not.
Room Service is very good. We kept on calling for Ice and they just obliged by doing the same.
Be careful about early check in cos there are none. They will tell you while you are booking it but in reality it doesn't happen. Not to worry as you can just walk around the town or have lunch somewhere and come back after 12 for the same.
Same goes for Late Check outs. They don't do it usually, especially if you are with friends/ travelling alone etc. They will however keep your luggage at reception.
The receptionist was efficient but rude but that's a very person specific issue and should not reflect the quality of over all service.

This place is ideal for burget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
1.3 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#3 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC

Property: Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Address: McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing