We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Nearby Hotels
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$65
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$46
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortune Park Moksha(McLeod Ganj)
$108
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink House(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
OYO 4205 Hotel Anuj Regency(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$40
$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
67
157
61
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
157
61
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsample parking spacemaintained gardenmain marketdalai lama templetypical governmenthimachal pradesh tourismdone onlinetall treesbeer barwalking distancehotel premisesfirst floorsitting placedevelopment corporationevening teadeluxe roombasic amenities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 303 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel badly needs renovation. Very old 1987. Staff is good. I stayed it in suite but there is nothing like a suite except one extra room for sitting and it was at the end of the hotel with garden and parking view. Food is okay in taste but timely service
service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel's best feature is it's location, near to market and on way to Dalai Lama Temple. The view from hotel is full of Pine trees and the cloud's roaming at your room level. As we visited during Feb, when it's very cold and rainy at Dharamshala so the view turned more beautiful. The room service was good, everything ordered was delivered in time. Hotel staff were hospitable even if being Govt. employees. The specialty of room was, wooden floor and even wooden walls which kept the room warm in winter too.

Room Tip: Take room against roadside.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishekcdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

You need to enjoy this hotel with clear understanding that it is typical government hotel...so perfect location... huge compound... average service and old ambiance of rooms. ... We could not get good view rooms so, we have to settle on base category room. very basic amenities , small rooms, no view..... Mornings on lawns were pleasant... Had breakfast on terrace/lawns... enjoyed weather. food quality was good. The hotel is conveniently located near bazar.

Room Tip: pay extra and opt for valley view rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chai15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you do not expect too much, The Bhagsu-McCleodGanj would probably meet expectations. It is typically what you see of the State run Tourism development corporations throughout India. Such a wonderful state but such poorly managed resorts, hotels.
What works for Bhagsu is the location, a very short walk away from the Monastery of the Dalai Lama and the menu is quite good in terms of choice of food and quality.
What does not work for it is, the property being dated, with no effort by the staff or the government to ensure it does the needful. Extremely lackadaisical attitude of the staff, shabby looking rooms, and an overall poor service attitude that summarizes it all for the property. Charging 35 INR for a bottle of water and saying its the tax that they need to pay to the Government via VAT and Luxury tax that they need to put a 15 INR markup on it. IT is a shame to even see them expecting customers pay additional tax (luxury tax) for a rooms and service that are not even three star.
Having said that i've still rated it as average because despite the overall 'government servant' attitude, there is still some heart and feel and they do help if requested knowing fully well that they do not have the best of amenities.

When is HPTDC going to think of basic amenities like clean towels, Wifi in the room, clean drinking water provided complimentary to customers, well maintained rooms....
HPTDC desperately needs some help to fix this and if they do it, this will really help fill their coffers with the good will and patronage of several Indian and foreign tourists who are willing to stay in an HPTDC property but are unable to do so today and being ripped off by private tour operators who run their own private resorts, hotels etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarioB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 days, room 211. On 2nd day some F [r e t a r d ] stole the Room key from the door. I immediately complaint at the reception about the situation, But the Old men at reception(Oldest [b a s t a r d] literally) said that's not their responsibility if someone stole anything from the Room(totally unsafe Hotel). While checking out on the 3rd day, they asked us to pay for the KEY WE LOST Which is 1k, including key, door lock( I am pretty much sure it was fixed at the door while we checked out lol) and key chain, We had huge argument and he literally blamed us that we lost it somewhere else and making up a story. The Old [r e t a r d] receptionist was not in mood to listen anything we were saying and we end up paying for the [s h i t ] we didn't do. They said they will refund those 1000 INR in case they found the key LOL which we totally knew never gonna happen.

In addition, they accidentally add up(that's what that old men at reception said) nearly 2000 INR in the food bill. After mentioning, he fixed the total with a creepy smile.

Food was quite good for the taste and the room service was good though.

Totally avoid this hotel, if you don't want to screw up your mind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishVermaGGn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews