We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best Hotel in Dharamsala”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best Hotel in Dharamsala”
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I have spent another wonderful stay at the 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel! The outstanding personal treatment provided by Tsering - the hotel manager - and Sonam, his sister as well as their crew, has made this years stay again an unforgettable onel! The cleanness and the beauty of the rooms as well as the breathtaking view towards the Dhauladar mountain, make the price worth it! Constant innovations and new services show the sincere interest of the hotel manager to fulfill any guest's wish! I can only and highly recommend this hotel and will be more than happy to return there on the occasion of my next trip to Dharamsala!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcleod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    143
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
102
122
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Clean rooms, clean bathrooms, amazing view, delicious breakfast and wonderful hospitality. I would stay here again and again. Book early - they have few rooms. It is simple and most importantly clean, clean clean. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhea1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Rooms: As the name indicates, there are 8 rooms - each based on a TIbetan theme. The rooms are simple but charming - there are tibetan motifs on the walls, the furniture design is Tibetan as well. There are twin beds in each room. The view from the balcony is quite beautiful. The room rates are quite competitive too (~1200 per night).
Location: The place is about 10mins away from the main city center - its mostly upslope, but I guess the upside is you get to walk downhill at the end of a long day!
Service: The staff are extremely friendly and cooperative - they let us leave our baggage behind since we were off for an overnight trek to Triund and pick it up the next evening. The attached restaurant is quite no-frills, but the food is wholesome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel has good location right next to the main square. Few highlights neat and clean rooms, helpful staff and pro active approach of the staff to cater to all your needs. Mr Dorjee is the one man army who does anything and everything for the customers to ensure their stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Being the manager of the hotel he is involved in everything starting from bed tea till dinner and your day to day sight seeing. Amazing person with very helpful attitude. Best place to stay in McLeodGanj

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anujnarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I see that the last review for this guesthouse is already from half a year ago, so this is just a short review to let you know that nothing has changed compared to the other reviews, this is still a wonderfull place to stay. The rooms are clean, they have wooden floors that give the room a cosy feeling. The marble hallways have sideboards with spiritual and non spiritual books for guests to read. They are, however, building an extra level on top of the house, so there may be some noise from the construction work at this point in time, but we didn't have any inconvenience because they did't start very early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miepke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We arrived around 9am and were allowed to freshen up in the staff room, since check-in is at noon. We were then walked through a map of McLeod Ganj and given recommendations on what to visit when. The staff were happy to guess at how much an auto should cost for specific trips, and ordered a taxi to take us to and from Norbulinka (Rs. 500) and from the hotel to the bus stand in Dharamsala (Rs. 150). There wasn’t always someone at the desk, but if we called out or opened the curtain separating the dining area from the kitchen, there was always someone to help. There is currently some construction being done on and near the building, making what would otherwise be a quiet area a little noisy in the afternoon. In the evening, it’s a little away from the main market area, making it quieter. The view from our window/balcony was beautiful (Precious Umbrella room), and we could see the tops of three snow-covered mountains peeking over the hills when the sky was clear. The other guests we saw in the hotel seemed to be middle-aged couples, as well as a group of young friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

very clean rooms run by a very friendly tibetian! Excellent views of the mountains, better than the more expensive hotels in mcleodgunj. The rates are basic and so the facilities are also basic, but very clean and service is great. The only drawback is the steep climb to the town center especially if you have aged people with you. Nevertheless would definitely recommend the place

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApoorvaManmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 23 in McLeod Ganj
685 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 23 in McLeod Ganj
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#3 of 23 in McLeod Ganj
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 48 in McLeod Ganj
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#7 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Property: 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing