We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best parts of my trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best parts of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Being an avid traveler, I have written my fair share of reviews- and one thing across hotels that impacts the most is the hospitality of the staff. The staff at this hotel made us feel like at home. We were a bunch of 5 friends, who thoroughly enjoyed staying here. This was my second trip to Mcleodganj, this time around on a budget trip, I really can not imagine getting a better deal for appx INR 2000 per night. The breakfast was YUMMY. The different cakes they make everyday are amazing - and they shared the recipes too..actually letting me into their kitchen, showing me how they work. Everything cooked in wheat and not flour (maida).
I personally found no major difference b/w the 3 category rooms. The sizes were almost the same. The view was just a tad bit better in the higher category rooms.
It is extremely close to the market-4-5min walk
On the day we left, all of us were gifted stoles by the staff there- a very sweet gesture. Even their dog is extremely friendly and cute.
You could not ask for anything better at this price, however would recommend Chonor House for people who have a 7-8k hotel budget, as I loved that too..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supriya_mimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin12, Manager at 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Supriya,

Thank you for your review. This year we have won certificate of
excellence for four consecutive years, Its only because of your reviews.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit again and also share your experience with your
family, friends and colleagues.
Visit our face book page and website also for updates

Thank you
8 auspicious Him View Hotel
Sale & Web manager
Tenzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    139
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
98
117
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here mid-November 2013 for 5 days. It was my first trip to Dharamsala and I was travelling solo. I chose here based on other reviews I had read and I wasn't disappointed. Awesome location and everything you need is easily within walking distance - ATMs, pharmacy, food and cafes. Sights like Bhagsu waterfalls and HH Dalai Lama's temple are also within walking distance, although any extended walking quickly becomes challenging given the high altitude. The staff at the hotel were always available to help and quick to assist. Rooms were simple but clean and did the job - TV, bathroom, secure and heating. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rktigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin12, Manager at 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your review. This year we have won certificate of
excellence for four consecutive years, Its only because of your reviews.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit again and also share your experience with your
family, friends and colleagues.
Visit our face book page and website also for updates

Thank you
8 auspicious Him View Hotel
Sale & Web manager
Tenzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed in Category 2 - The Golden Fish room in the first week of June 2014. It is a corner room with a balcony. If you ignore the other hotels right behind Him View, the balcony offers a good view of snow capped peaks and thick deodars. The hotel is located in the city, so do not expect the place to be quite. We chose this hotel for two reasons: 1)we wanted to stay at a place which was close to all the popular eating joints and 2)we were looking for a place which was rated high on cleanliness and was not too expensive. Him View hotel scores on both counts. We explored a lot of restaurants and their varied menus. If you are looking for a large room with a grand balcony, this is not the place or price that you should be checking. The rooms are not very big but they have sufficient place to store your clothes, sit on chairs and move around. The washroom was very clean with hot water available at all times. Just like the room, washroom is not very big either but being a frequent traveler, I feel that cleanliness scores over space.
The Family running the hotel is very warm and friendly. We planned our treks based on the information provided by them and the treks turned out to be the high point of our trip.
The hotel runs a small restaurant too. Do try the cakes that they bake every day at home. Delicious is an understatement for the cakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakhee_1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin12, Manager at 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Rakhee,

Thank you for your review. This year we have won certificate of
excellence for four consecutive years, Its only because of your reviews.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit again and also share your experience with your
family, friends and colleagues.
Visit our face book page and website also for updates

Thank you
8 auspicious Him View Hotel
Sale & Web manager
Tenzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Amazing Tibetan ambiance. Beautiful rooms ( category 1 rooms). And most of all, very helping and nice staff. Food was good. Even more special is the three Tibetan sisters who runs the place. And the specialty is, each room have a different theme. So, all n all, my experience was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin12, Manager at 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Prateek G

Thank you for your review. This year we have won certificate of
excellence for four consecutive years, Its only because of your reviews.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit again and also share your experience with your
family, friends and colleagues.
Visit our face book page and website also for updates

Thank you
8 auspicious Him View Hotel
Sale & Web manager
Tenzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Was traveling in the summer in 2013. As that time there was a large amount of construction on the back side of the hotel that blocked any sort of views that are depicted in the pictures. Also is in the middle of town and is very loud. Not a great spot for a get away.

Staff was friendly and I had no problem with the room itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I liked the concept of 8 different rooms each having own meaning and significance. Staff is good n helpful. Food is good.Location is nice. You get a nice view of Himalayas. Overall a pleasant stay. It's value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin12, Manager at 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your review. This year we have won certificate of
excellence for four consecutive years, Its only because of your reviews.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit again and also share your experience with your
family, friends and colleagues.
Visit our face book page and website also for updates

Thank you
8 auspicious Him View Hotel
Sale & Web manager
Tenzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Echoing other reviewers, this hotel has spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated rooms, a beautiful view, peaceful atmosphere, and terrific food (and room service!). Even more special is the Tibetan family who runs the place. Little sister's smile is warm and I loved to listen to her singing in the kitchen each morning during breakfast. Big sister is calm, efficient and ever so welcoming. I watched them get the little boys off to school, but not before they successfully begged for cookies to eat on the way. Sunu the dog was always ready for a chat too. You'll find a lovely family and place to stay here!

Room Tip: I stayed in the golden fish room and loved the location and decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenzin12, Manager at 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Paula N,

Thank you for your review. This year we have won certificate of
excellence for four consecutive years, Its only because of your reviews.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Please visit again and also share your experience with your
family, friends and colleagues.
Visit our face book page and website also for updates

Thank you
8 auspicious Him View Hotel
Sale & Web manager
Tenzin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#5 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#16 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 35 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#3 of 66 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Property: 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Address: Jogiwara Road, Kangra District, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing