We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Sonam was very helpful right from the time I corresponded online to make our reservations. Unfortunately we checked out sooner than planned due to the Dharmsala film festival, she took that in her stride too! The rooms are very nicely appointed especially in the new wing. They are large and have a small sit out. The wooden flooring gives a warm effect. The only negative to the rooms on the ground floor is that the bathrooms face the road and though there is a shower curtain on the window, women can be a little wary of turning the light on in the bathroom at night. Also if there was a shower curtain around the shower area it would save the entire bathroom from being wet after a bath. Also a little noisy from road traffic. Breakfast was excellent especially the parathas!

Room Tip: New wing rooms on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi33India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 393 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay away from the hustle bustle of the main market area and yet not too far from it, this is the one. You can view the Dhauladhar range from your balcony which is a sight in itself. The hospitality was amazing. We reached here after a 7 hr drive from Manali and were warmly received by the Hotel Manager. We had booked 3 rooms since we were a family of 7 for a 3 night stay. The breakfast used to be quite sumptuous and you do get spoilt for choice. The staff was really helpful and courteous. The rooms were quite clean and decorated in Tibetan style which added a distinct touch to the overall ambience. Would definitely recommend this place for staying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoshi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at their premium rooms which are around 2.2k. Don't remember the name but it is on first floor in next building to reception.

Pros
1. For premium rooms, room size is proper but rectangular layout makes it appear smaller. Wooden flooring feels nice. Sony TV gives premium feeling.
2. Loved the quick hot water the geyser delivers.
3. Lovely Dhauladhar view and nice gallery with cosy bed and lovely pillow set.


Cons
1. Breakfast for veg has so much limited options. I advise skip it and don't add as complimentary with rooms but get discounts.
2. No room service even for premium rooms is not how other hotels work.
3. Far from mcleodganj happening spots like CCD circle and Dalai Lama temple.
4. Discount calculation is weird. First they add tax on entire room charges and then give discount. One pays extra tax.
5. Furniture around bed is inadequate and no space to keep even spectacles. Heater is a joke. Rusted and ineffective.

Not worth spending more than 2k. Go for basic rooms around 1.2k. A complete no-no for breakfast with canned juice served. Yucks.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitvjti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nighst in Dec 2013. Amazing hospitality. Clean, spacious rooms. The hotel manager helped us with the city map & places to visit. The hotel is a 6-7 walk from the main square but is at a good location, away from the noise of the market. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a tiring 6 hr journey from Chandigarh to Mcleodganj, we reached 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, located on the Jogiwara Road. In the month of November, we were literally shivering on reaching the hotel with temperatures dipping around 5 deg C and we were promptly recieved by the courteous staff from the hotel, who ensured a quick check in and we were served Ginger Honey Tea as welcome drink.
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, managed by two sisters, is a nicely homely comfort stay. It offers quite a decent view of the snow capped Dhauladhar range, from each private balcony in the room. Since we were two ladies travelling alone, safety was of utmost importance and this place is a perfect option.
The room is not quite big but is spacious and comfortable for two people. The breakfast is served in a small pantry style restaurant and is made to order. However, make sure you order 15-20 mins in advance.
Very close to the Dalai Lama Temple and the main market area. Free wifi is also available in the rooms. Staff help you with details on how to plan your day.
Cons: The area getting commercialised, there was construction work going just behind the hotel which can create hindrance in your otherwise peaceful morning sleep and at night we were disturbed by stray dogs barking.
Pros: A definite value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemlataC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is away from the hustle-bustle of the main market area and is very peaceful. There is a great view of the valley from the hotel rooftop.
We had booked the Golden Wheel room at this hotel and it was clean and decorated in Tibetan style. The breakfast served here is yummy and there is quite a lot of variety to choose from.
Our stay here was very comfortable and cozy.
I would like to thank the owner of the property Sonam for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandarer_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very courteous staff, Cozy and very comfortable rooms, Awesome views , great Breakfast menu (esp. Loved the coffee) ... away from main market hustle bustle... Calm quite and relaxing... and a special goodbye scarf ..(I really loved the gesture)...
Also incense sticks in the room are really good.
Very clean Laundry.
All in all a Very Pleasurable and healthy and happy stay! :) <3

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akanksha_rastogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
112 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#2 of 52 in McLeod Ganj
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $32 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing