We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nighst in Dec 2013. Amazing hospitality. Clean, spacious rooms. The hotel manager helped us with the city map & places to visit. The hotel is a 6-7 walk from the main square but is at a good location, away from the noise of the market. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 389 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a tiring 6 hr journey from Chandigarh to Mcleodganj, we reached 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, located on the Jogiwara Road. In the month of November, we were literally shivering on reaching the hotel with temperatures dipping around 5 deg C and we were promptly recieved by the courteous staff from the hotel, who ensured a quick check in and we were served Ginger Honey Tea as welcome drink.
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel, managed by two sisters, is a nicely homely comfort stay. It offers quite a decent view of the snow capped Dhauladhar range, from each private balcony in the room. Since we were two ladies travelling alone, safety was of utmost importance and this place is a perfect option.
The room is not quite big but is spacious and comfortable for two people. The breakfast is served in a small pantry style restaurant and is made to order. However, make sure you order 15-20 mins in advance.
Very close to the Dalai Lama Temple and the main market area. Free wifi is also available in the rooms. Staff help you with details on how to plan your day.
Cons: The area getting commercialised, there was construction work going just behind the hotel which can create hindrance in your otherwise peaceful morning sleep and at night we were disturbed by stray dogs barking.
Pros: A definite value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemlataC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is away from the hustle-bustle of the main market area and is very peaceful. There is a great view of the valley from the hotel rooftop.
We had booked the Golden Wheel room at this hotel and it was clean and decorated in Tibetan style. The breakfast served here is yummy and there is quite a lot of variety to choose from.
Our stay here was very comfortable and cozy.
I would like to thank the owner of the property Sonam for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandarer_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very courteous staff, Cozy and very comfortable rooms, Awesome views , great Breakfast menu (esp. Loved the coffee) ... away from main market hustle bustle... Calm quite and relaxing... and a special goodbye scarf ..(I really loved the gesture)...
Also incense sticks in the room are really good.
Very clean Laundry.
All in all a Very Pleasurable and healthy and happy stay! :) <3

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akanksha_rastogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I booked this place on recommendation of a friend who had been here. The owner Sonam is AMAZING!!! For some reason, I had to change by booking dates thrice! But Sonam was extremely understanding and didnt bat an eyelid. She was really helpful and kind. The hotel itself is a really cozy nice place. Its not located at the main square itself but thats infact a very good thing. We walked up and down to the market and the temple several times. Its a really short walk, though one eay you'll be going uphill so its slightly tiring.
The hotel rooms were really clean and tidy. The girls who welcome you are sweet and helpful. The best part is that if they dont know someplace they wont hesitate to tell u that they dont know, they dont pretend to just midguide you.
The food is nice. Sonam bakes a cake or two everyday and it is superb. I asked her for the recipe and she was kind enough to write it down for me.
The washrooms are really clean and well maintained too. Only funny thing is no shower curtain separates the wet and dry area but thats hardly an issue. The wasrooms all have a big curtained window which overlooks the street so make sure you close it properly before showering or doing anything else. They have good hot water all day. The heater in the room was adequate too.
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel is a place you definitely should visit when you want to visit Mc Leodganj. For lunches and dinners, you can tru visint Tibetian Kitchen or Mc Llo or something.

Room Tip: Select the first or second category room. Personally thought i didnt see a second or third category...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shweta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thanks to the Maja family, our 4 day stay gave us a glimpse of Tibet - its warm people, great hospitality and awesome butter tea!
You have to absolutely try their him view breakfast & butter tea and all continental dishes! They are gracious hosts, who will let you into their kitchen which is run by extended family & friends.
All rooms are great but the ones on 3rd floor are way bigger!
Parking is an issue here as it is anywhere in McLeodganj.
We stayed for 3 nights but did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are costlier but also bigger Second and first floor rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deshanupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel itself is a family run establishment and that lends to its charm. It is located away from the hustle and bustle of the main market area, which i think is a blessed relief. In terms of hospitality, I think the management is pretty spot on but they should really consider upgrading or extending a late check out especially when the hotel is practically empty. It is quite a basic hotel with not much frou frou. What i loved about this place is that what you see is what you get (what you pay for rather...). The breakfast is simple, yet hearty. You must try out their artisan breads and cakes. They are also willing to arrange cabs for you if you want to make a quick visit to Kangra fort ( a must see!)

Choose a room with a view of the Dhauladhar range. Though elusive most of them, when the clouds let you, the view is breathtaking and very inspiring.

For those on a budget, who value traditional tibetan hospitality and hearty vegetarian food, this is the place to stay!.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank figgyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
705 reviews
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $33 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing