We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been priveleged to stay at this small family-run hotel in McLeod Ganj several times over the past few years, and I have only praise for it! The location is wonderful, easy walk from restaurants and shops, but still with the peaceful ambiance that comes from being nestled in the hillside with beautiful views from the bedrom balconies. The rooms and bathrooms are kept spotlessly clean, the hot water and shower are great! There is a small restaurant and outdoor tea area'-----the food is terrific, you can even try authentic Tibetan tsampa here if you like! The owners and staff are all friendly and helpful, eager to make their guests' stay a memorable one. The attention to detail in the decor, the lovely Tibetan carpets, photos, furnishings in the common areas, make you feel you really are in "Little Tibet! " This hotel is a real gem in the large collection of hotels and guesthouses in McLeod Ganj-----the comfort and ammenities of a big hotel, but the personal attention and reasonable prices that make you know you have discovered a true treasure! I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    142
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
101
121
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tsukuba, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

To be honest, I did not expect this hotel to be THIS GOOD... You know hotels often have great looking websites but these are not the actual representation of what they really are. 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel has a easy-to-navigate website which shows beautiful pictures of the hotel, rooms, the view from the hotel, and so on. I fell in love with the interiors, decors, themes, and decided to ask how much the tariffs would be.

I have booked 6 hotels for this July 2013 trip, and I always had some issues with the communications with hotel management, except for 8 Auspicious Him View. Sonam was so prompt with replying my emails, and explained things clearly (no hidden charges etc.).

Right after we reached Dharamsala and jumped on a taxi the hotel had arranged for us, we had to make a U-turn to the airport (because they called me to let us know that our flight back to Delhi was cancelled and we had to book another flight at the airport counter). When we finally reached McLeod Ganj, the driver was not able to locate the hotel quickly...So you can imagine how tired and upset we were when we came to the hotel. But all those just melted away when we stepped into the reception, greeted warmly by staffs with hot welcome drinks.

I believe our room was themed with "endless knot" on the B-building. I loved the smell of wood from the wall. The room is spacious, super clean, and lovely with the interior and the VIEW! Although during our stay the mist/fog covered the mountain view most of the time, I still loved to just look at the white fog on the green background. So soothing.

The restaurant serves yummy Tibetan and western food. For breakfast I had Him View breakfast (?) which was nicely fried eggs and veggies inside Tibetan bread. It is sort of like English muffin. So gooooooooooood. I also had barley porridge with banana and honey on the top next day. I can eat this all day. So yummy. During our short stay in Dharamsala we had so many momos and thukupas (noodle soup). But I like those of 8 Auspicious Him View the best. Highly recommended, even if you are not staying in the hotel.

The only cons I can think of for this hotel are the ventilation and payment. The bathroom does not have a fan. It has a small window to let the air go in and out. But it gets pretty humid inside and your towel starts smelling,,,well, you know how it's like. And just like other places in this area this hotel does not accept credit card for payment. Don't worry, they have ATMs in town. But be prepared to bring some cash along with you.

Anyways...they made our stay so enjoyable and memorable. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a room with good views...but even if you don't, you have free access to the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The people here are so nice it's ridiculous. The rooms are super clean and comfy and the restaurant is awesome. Seriously, it is so good. The people are so helpful, the tea is delicious... I have nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

8 Auspicious Him view is a perfect name for this hotel. We family of 4 couples with kids booked this hotel online. It was the same as shown in their website. Sonam and her team are the perfect host. The rooms are very cosy and warm. Squeaky clean rooms and batharooms.. They have 2 buildings old and new.. we stayed in new bldg.. all the rooms has mountain view from their balcony
Their restaurant has good ambience. You can satisfy ur breakfast with Him view breakfast options.
Lunch and dinner options are not good if you want Indian. This restaurant is at the end of the road where market ends.. so its a good option to start shopping fm one end to another. Pretty Sonam and her team talk less but helpful. for such clean and cosy rooms the rates are ok. me and my family wish them best luck...

Room Tip: There are good restaurants named Black magic and Moon pick for lunch n dinner options...must try pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhagyashri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a nice a cozy place to settle down in for your stay in McLeodgunj. The property just pops up out of the blue on the road and could be easily missed. However, you need to take note of the fact that it is a "home stay". We booked rooms in the B wing on the 3rd floor well in advance. Booking process was extremely easy - just called up Sonam and she helped out. She's a great host as has been amply voiced by fellow travelers. Anything you want - pickup/drops/sight seeing/suggestions .. you just need to ask! The best part is that they have a cab associated with them and the Driver is a balding excellent chap. He's an expert driver and seems to know half the town folks! Breakfast here is complimentary and awesome. The ginger lemon tea is a must have! However, city folks beware of trying out lunch/dinner here. There are lovely joints down the road - which can be a slight walk .. but completely worth it! The view from the rooms are amazing - sheets and spotless ; bathrooms are very clean and towels get changed daily! Do not expect any freebies like shampoos/creams in the bathrooms. Sonam also have 2 lovely kids and her husband is associated with Norbulingka institute. He's also a great jovial person to talk to. Overall - a great place to stay in! Choose the rooms in B wing on the 3rd floor - you won't be disappointed. We reached a little early about 2 hours before check-in and were temporarily accommodated in a smaller room on the ground floor. This was a much smaller basic room - but we were thankful for the generous gesture .. and my kid hasn't got over the ginger honey lemon tea yet :)!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 3rd floor - in the new wing. Rooms are big and spacious with balconies and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had a chance to stay in this B&B Hotel from 08th June to 11th June, 2013 and I must say it is our pleasure to be among the most professional and courteous staffs ........For three days it was like staying in my own place....The Him View Breakfast was awesome.....Pancakes delicious....Tea divine....Word fail to describe my feelings... Hats off to you guys for making our stay memorable.....The view from the room was mind blowing....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlakaBhubaneswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room were decorated nicely. The bed was clean minus a moth in the sheets, and a bug the 2nd night. The customer service was alright and they were accommodating, but not overly friendly. We stayed on the side next to a parking lot of another hotel and it was horribly loud with loud car horns, beeping and loud customers. When we told the owner, she was apologetic - but not overly. We ended checking out early to move to another hotel due to the noise and of course she didn't seem happy. The price is very expensive for what you get and we were surprised due to the great reviews.

Room Tip: Away from the hotel and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
678 reviews
1.4 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 22 in McLeod Ganj
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 44 in McLeod Ganj
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Property: 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing