We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable, and 'Caring'.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived after here after a loooong drive from Amritsar. Then the taxi had left us at the main square which is about 10 mins walk from here. Looking at our haggard faces when we entered we were shown the rooms first and very kindly told to have lunch before completing the formalities. I was touched by this. The incident set the tone for a beautiful stay for 2 days ahead. The rooms are in theme and decorated accordingly. The outdoors and indooors are clean. Even in March the place was chilly during the day and absolutely cold during night, hence radiators and adequate duvets too were provided.
But apart from this the best part is the early morning view of the Dhauladhar range. Amazing!
The food is another plus. Be it the amazing Tibetian breakfast or the American pancakes, the hot choclate or the ginger,lemon honey or the delicious pasta!

All in all one of my best stays at a hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaPUNzElIvorytower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 391 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited as part of a 3 week trip across India, this was our second stop. We weren't on a budget but we weren't going for top end rooms either, but this was certainly our most expensive hotel stop. Check in was quick and efficient; we arrived at 11pm after a 5 hour train journey delay to be greeted with delicious Tibetan tea each and cookies. Perfect location, in a gated off building at the bottom of Jogiwara road, about a 10 min uphill walk into the main square. We visited in February and it was a little cold, but rooms came with heat lamps which were more than adequate. Rooms were beautifully designed, spacious, had a seating area too but funnily no wardrobe space. Rooms weren't cleaned every day due to environmental care, but this didn't bother us. The guesthouse staff were very hospitable, cooked up a delicious Tibetan breakfast every morning served with what became our favourite butter tea - a Tibetan speciality. We arrived unknowingly during Tibetan New Year so had to chop and change our itinerary due to many Tibetan businesses being shut, the staff helped us with this too. Would definitely recommend, you pay a little more but definitely worth it!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tara Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stood there with a friend during the off season. The service was good, the room itself too. The view was great. The only disatvantage was the missing insulation again the mois from the street. Luckily, during the night there was almost no traffic. So we didn't sleep too bad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely place, ideal for couples. Like the simple breakfast and the amazing coffee and cinnamon tea we had sitting out. The hotel owner is a very friendly young guy and sonam was very sweet in helping us. Its walking distance from market and good that its not in the market as that would be too noisy.

The room view is great and the bathrooms etc was very clean. the wooded feel in the room made it look very luxurious. Would not recommend for families and elders.

Room Tip: higher floors will have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The small yet thoughtful things are what make this hotel a good place. Upon check-in we were offered a welcome drink. I chose the masala tea and my partner the green tea – both of which tasted delicious. The entire place was beautifully decorated according to the eight auspicious symbols of Buddhism. We stayed at White Conch Room C for three nights. It has a private balcony which gave us a breathtaking view of the Dhauladars. The square and the Main Temple are within short walking distance from Him View. Its location, the graciousness of its manager and staff, the delicious and healthy breakfast choices, its comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms – we loved everything about Him View.

We are also grateful to the manager for lending us his own laptop power adapter (when ours broke) and arranging a taxi to take us back to Pathankot. We truly appreciate it.

Room Tip: Reserve your rooms in advance. We made our reservations by email two months in advance but the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffled_solitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've spent 5 days in 8 Auspicious Him View Guesthouse in the end of Jan to the beginning of Feb. It's an excellent stay more than I can say. First, rooms are highly clean and dry (usually Dharamsala is humid) which makes me and my elders have very good sleep at night. Second, all equipment works well in guesthouse, such as 24-hour hot water, wi-fi etc. Hot water is very hot, which is very important for travelers visiting in the cold winter of Dharamsala. The third, the service is excellent! No extra fee charged, All bills are made clear and staff's service is very good, just make me and my elders feel easy as we are at home. Finally, the location. Location is more convenient than I imagine. It only takes 10-15 minutes walking to the main square of mecloedgaj. It's definitely very convenient ! You are quite free to walk around whole Mcleodganj, and go back guesthouse by walking only. By the way, owner also offered us "welcome tea" when we arrived there without no charge and offered us "Kha Ta" which Tibetans use to show their blessing and respect to friends while we were leaving. In a word, 8 auspicious him view, highly recommended !
高度推薦8 auspicious HIm View 民宿,價格中等,房間非常乾淨且乾燥不潮濕。民宿基本設備功能完善,如24小時熱水在冬天能提供非常熱的熱水,非常棒。也有wifi可使用。服務態度非常好,讓你有如在家一般自在方便。位置離mcloeadganj 中心(巴士站)只需步行10-15分鐘左右,非常方便。主人對待客人友善,有免費的迎賓茶,離去時還送了藏族哈達,以表祝福。整體而言,個人經驗感覺非常划算

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as we came to watch the India v England cricket match. Sonam and the rest of the staff are very nice and helpful. We originally had two rooms but due to a change in circumstances last minute we only needed one room with an extra matress. This was done without any fuss. The rooms were a nice size and well decorated. We went for the top category room and had a lovely view of the Himilayas from our room. The rooms were serviced daily and the staff only to happy to help with any requests. Breakfast was good in the morning with a number of options. Town was a 10 minute walk which was fine for us as we were happy to stay slightly outside from the hustle and bustle. They also provide free WiFi which was very useful for us. Definetly recommend this place for anyone coming here

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a Category A room and enjoy a lovely view of the Himilayas as you wake up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny-singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
713 reviews
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#16 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#6 of 68 in McLeod Ganj
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $31 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing