We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, clean rooms and an excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, clean rooms and an excellent stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The fact that I am writing this review quite some time after I last came here is testament to the fact that I am yet to get over my experience here.

While McLeod continues to contribute to the charm of a vacation, come to this place and you will discover how charm can be further enhanced.

To the point then. 5 couples booked five rooms. All had trouble choosing the one which was the best. 2 got the modern (newer) rooms and 3 got the rather traditional ones. The best however just could not be decided.

While all the rooms - modern or traditional - are clean and quite great in terms of comfort, it is the the view from each of the rooms that really leaves one speechless. Hence, I just won't be able to describe it here.

There are 4 and not 5 stars above because of one very minor thing. I felt the staff, though courteous, is a bit, a tad, a little biased in favouring non-Indians. We weren't shabbily looked after, not by any means. But there surely is a slight undercurrent of it.

Good food, affordable costs and all else make this a great place. Cheaper options with good surroundings, I hear, are available but I would again go for this place for it being absolutely complete in every way.

Room Tip: You cannot choose a wrong room here. The green room though looks a bit funny when inside. Rest all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shubhodeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    145
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
102
124
47
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hospitality was wonderful. We stayed on the ground floor it and was super clean, comfortable and warm. The food totally surprised us! We did not expect it to be so good. Lemon ginger honey tea, amazing Tsampa for breakfast (it will hold you over for hours), and the local soup with hand pulled noodles and veg (for got the name) was all sensational. Again the love and care this family brings to their business is really special. I would only stay here, and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYheartCAsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in a top floor room with views over the valley to snow capped mountain in the distance. Well located at the lower end of the town and away from the commercialised centre. A very welcoming and helpful family run hotel with great breakfast menu and afternoon tea and cake.

Room Tip: Some might find the proximity to the road a little noisy with the occasional Royal Enfield passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here. This hotel is beautiful, with traditional Tibetan furnishings and bed coverings. The breakfast is excellent, I highly recommend the Tibetan bread and the pancakes are also excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_A037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Its one of the best hotels i have stayed in terms of location, services, value for money. Its away from the main hustle bustle of the market but conveniently located at a 5 mins walk. We stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are decent in size, very clean and cozy. We had breakfast in the hotel's cafe. It was yummy n cheap. Service is friendly. Thank you Tsering & Sonam for a memorable holiday.:-)

Room Tip: They have 3 categories of rooms. We opted for 2nd category room. All the rooms are valley facing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonambhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bressanone
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent Hotel located in a very quiet place, very good veg restaurant and very nice, comfortable and clean rooms. The people there are very friendly and make you feel at home! i can only invite everyone to take a time in this accomodation, it will be a satisfiing experience!
Bruno Festini
Italy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunofestini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in a dozen of mid-range hotels during our 5-week flashpacking trip throughout India and I can easily say this was the cleanest and most comfortable stay we found...so comfortable, we ended up spending 7 nights instead of our original plan which was just for 3..

We were here end of February and weather was quite chilly (nice view of snow on mountain caps from room balcony) so the hotel was almost empty and didn't have any trouble with noise...however, room did get cold and we would sleep with the electric heater on max and an extra blanket..still, we were able to get a good 10-hour sleep and would sometimes find it hard to leave the bed..

We also found a terrific Korean restaurant a few steps from the hotel and was where we had most of our meals...and that's basically what we did during our whole stay in Mcleod Ganj: sleep-eat-sleep-eat-sleep..

Won't hesitate to stay here if I ever go back again..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buquing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
691 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#6 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#1 of 49 in McLeod Ganj
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeodGanj Homestay
McLeodGanj Homestay
#4 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel

Property: 8 Auspicious Him View Hotel
Address: Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing