We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where you can be yourself”

Tibetan Ashoka Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tibetan Ashoka Guest House
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very quite, nicely done rooms. No hanky panky business. Nice view
Owners have a strong value systems and its their passion so, they make their guests clear no drugs, no comming late.
This is no frills attached place. Nice place to introspect, write, think and when you leave the place fels like god has taken worries back from you and made you ready for the next innings.
I highly recommend this place to low budget travellers.

Enjoy your trip.
Ravi

Room Tip: Take anything which has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank dkss b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just for 1 night... Its cheap, the bed was confortable and the owners are kind but the room and toilet was kind of dirty. We had hot water, but you have to remember to turn on the boiler 15minutes before...otherwise you'll have a cold shower...like my friend did...because she went first!! Remember to bring a copy of your passport and visa because they have no chance to do it and you'll have to go to the shop, pay for it and do it yourself!!
The nice thing is that you'll have a huge terrace and an amazing view on the valley!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If your planning to go to Mcleod Ganj between September and November, you should be aware that anywhere good gets booked solid, even a week before your arrival you'll be hard pressed to get a reservation. This is where Tibetan Ashoka comes into its own, they don't take advance reservations which means if your there on a morning you stand a good chance of getting a room when every where else decent is full, I'd personally reccomend room 15, clean, light and airy with windows on three sides. They have an 11.30pm curfew and ban alcohol on the premises, this suits me perfectly especially when you hear the horrendous music pumping out of some guesthouse bars into the small hours of the morning.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms with shared bathroom have no hot shower available to them, if you need hot water, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

They have all kinds of rooms, we stayed in one with a private bathroom. It's really well situated, you can walk everywhere from the guest house. The only thing I didn't like was the curfew to get in at night. They have a great balcony overlooking the hills!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Amazing view of the surrounding mountains, just off the market street away from the noise, but only a moments walk to restaurants, shops, and cafes. Rooms are clean and hot water heaters in the washrooms. Both attached bath or shared bathroom available. Pleasant manager. You'll need to bring your own copy of your visa and passport. A internet cafe with photocopier is a few shops away.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top level have a great mountain view and a paito.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I Stayed there 3 nights The rooms were confortable & clean & its balcony was very good for doing yoga but some of the things i dont like of this guest house. The owners of the guest house were very rude & there was a smell of toilet papers & cigratte So i Should say that you stay there if there is no other hotel or guest house available!.......

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarthakcool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The room we had was great. Great view overlooking the mountains. We paid a little more to have a bathroom with a hot water heater. Can get quiet cold in the evenings and a budget room only provides a cold shower. Great location right in the heart of town. We found the ladies who worked there to be very unhelpful and grumpy. We felt like we were disturbing them every time we had a question. I don't think I would stay here again...then again the room had a great view, was quiet (except for the barking dogs), clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.2 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
705 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#8 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#18 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibetan Ashoka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibetan Ashoka Guest House

Address: Jogibara Road,District Kangra, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $2 - $9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing