We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spring Valley Resort
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spring Valley Resort is a nice place to stay. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. The location of the resort is at a very picturesque location. A little bit away from the crowd its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pknats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Spring Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Spring Valley is a nice hotel. Staff is very friendly and takes care of all your needs. In some cases they have taken a step ahead and looked after our comfort. Even cleaning staff is courteous and good. We also met the owner, a young entrepreneur and he is also a very friendly person. I stayed there for 3 days, with family. The deluxe room has good views and balcony at top floor gives you place you can relax. Rooms are clean and good. The food also tastes good. Personalized service is given.

Thing which they can improve is on
1. More choice and different breakfast (they repeat after alternative day)
2. There is no lift so avoid high floors, if you have difficulty with stairs. Else go for high floors only. Lower floors might not have good view.
3. They should made hotel name more prominent. It’s written on side wall. We passed it twice before finally finding it.

Lately, there was issue in billing. The system was not working, we are told that everything is clear during checkout, and we left for Palampur. Hotel then called us that they forget to charge tax, and sent a person to Palampur to collect balance money. It was mistake from both sides, but this has cost us half day of site seeing in finding the correct amount and discussions. We have to call make my trip people to get the issue resolved. But this is surely not a showstopper for me to go again and stay there.

Room Tip: Take high front facing rooms. Standard rooms dont have balcony, go for deluxe only.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amitkumararya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

there's a reason why Delhites look forward to visiting Himachal: the scenery, the hospitality, co-operative locals...the resort is no exception. it doesn't appear too big but the rooms are surprisingly spacious. the front view rooms are excellent. room service is decent. the staff is polite and the rooms are spick- and-span. the owners, in particular, are very accommodating. they guide you with your treks as well. :) all in all, good value for your money.

Room Tip: I recommend front view rooms.advance booking would help!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avantika_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at VIP room 302,303.on 30 may to 1st June 2013.
Spacious living room and the balcony. Big bathroom. Clean. Hot water and soap and shampoo sachets, towels provided.
Nice and comfortable bed. No proper light for reading on the bed
Good food. Good service.
TV. Working.
Water bottle provided.
Vifi working.
Cordial staff.

Room Tip: VIP room with balcony is the best
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanganibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I visited to Spring Valley Resort this June,13 in first week with my family. Its a terrible place to be. Rooms are stinking ... pillows without pillow cover will tell you the real standard of the hotel. Mattress covers are stingy and torn to the extent. Open the wardrobe and you will faint to see how dirty things can be. Towels offered are like its been stolen from flee market ... Service staff behaves as if they are doing charity by entertaining the guest. There is no coordination among staff. You ask and they deliver you something else.
Hotel brags about their VIP rooms ... and whatever I have discussed above is for VIP rooms only. Quilts are messy ... covers are dirty ... hygiene is at its lowest ... my daughter got sick the first day we checked in.
All in all ... better don't stay here ... look for something else.

Room Tip: Avoid Room no 401. You will regret it for rest of your life. Hotel claims it as deluxe room but to i...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is located in Bhagsu - a satellite area from McLeod Ganj. It is a nice area, and the rooms of the hotel were clean and very large. Our room was at the back, so unfortunately had no views. Rooms are adequate but basic. E.g. there was hot water, but the tank leaked heavily when used, and it is in the bathroom ceiling over the sink, so it was like it was raining indoors! No a/c, but it's not needed up in the Himalayas. There was a fan, a flatscreen TV, and the decor was nice. On the whole I would have given Spring Valley Resort a reasonably good review, except that the management allowed a bunch of idiots in a room upstairs to have an all-night rave in their room, with music at full club volume - the sort that ear plugs do nothing for. It was so at odds with the chilled atmosphere of McLeod Ganj, and it was audible throughout Bhagsu. All night we made calls to reception to ask them to make it stop, but they did nothing. We did not sleep at all. I don't understand the mentality of allowing one room to keep the entire hotel awake. Clearly some guests are valued at the expense of everyone else. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Only rooms at the front have a view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madgesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel. The room was on top floor. Front view was amazing although you have to share the balcony with other rooms. Bhagsunag temple & waterfall are at walking distance. The service was quite good but the guy at the reception was not at all welcoming, but you can avoid that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhishekoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
1.9 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#19 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#10 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pride Surya Mountain Resort
Pride Surya Mountain Resort
#9 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Resort

Address: Bhagsu Nag, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $47 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Resorts is located at upper Dharamshla on the Mcleodganj-Bhagsunag road, 1 km from the mall and 1.5 km from H.H. DALAI LAMA Monastery in the serene pollution-free environment. Spring Valley Resorts at present offers 24 dx rooms, suites and cottages. All the rooms offer a magnificent view of Dholadhar range, waterfall and the glacier. Hotel has its own covered parking, a multi-cuisine restaurant, indoor/ outdoor recreation, a business center, wifi are some of the features available presently in the resort. Price range from 40 US dollars to 80 US dollars per day inclusive of a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spring Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing