We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay”
Review of Pink House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pink House
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Me and my friend stayed at Pink House from 19th to 23rd Jul 2014.
Though we had booked a deluxe room in the old building (pink one), we ended up taking a super deluxe room on the top floor of the new building (green one) for a better view.
The view from our room (No. 301) was awesome.
As described in the other reviews also, the hotel staff is very polite and courteous. The owner Mr. Javid is very nice person. He arranged taxi for us at the nominal rates and helped us in planning our local trips and tracking to Triund and Snow line.
Rooms are clean and calm. All the rooms are almost same. Higher the floor, better the view and room tariff goes costlier.
Overall a very nice and peaceful stay and I can say that this hotel is the best budget hotel in McLeod ganj/ Dharmashala..

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors (301, 302, 303) in the new (green) building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello!

Wow - this review makes us happy! More importantly - we are so glad that Pink House made you happy. Firstly, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and giving us a feedback of the same. We really appreciate that!
I'm really happy that you loved your rooms and yes, the view - well, there are times when we go out to the roof ourselves and admire the beautiful view - one can never get bored of it!

I'm glad you had a good time exploring Mcleodganj and Triund with us. At Pink House, it's essential that our guests have a great time at the property and outside - and we'd go to any lengths to make your holiday a great one.

We hope you come back soon and give us another chance to host you.

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    215
    82
    42
    18
See reviews for
87
190
187
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I'm many time visit in miclo but all time I'm very upset I don't have properly gud place just like a home. But I'm all views r read every guest satisfied staying in pink house spicely nice person Mr javed I hope next time staying in pink house room no 302 I'm heard 302 room r v gud . Javed bhai milte ha jaldi aap ka pink house ma . Bobby midha .rajasthan

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Bobby!

Your kind words humble us! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time out to write this review. We are very happy that you had a great time at the Pink House. We look forward to hosting you again. Come back home soon!

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a very decent budget hotel which is worth every penny that they charge for. The rooms are decent, clean and spacious.We stayed in the 'newer' green block that has better facilities and is more spacious. A top floor room comes with awesome views of the Dhauladhar range. The newer building is more costly on your pocket than the old one.

The ideal stay for friends only. Not an ideal place for families since the hotel is around 50-70 steps down the road. Going down is not as big a problem as coming up. You will be totally breathless if you reach the road without a stop. Although the hotel staff is always ready to pick/drop your luggage from the market/parking area. The best thing about the hotel is its service and owner Javed who is very humble and gives you a honest feedback about places to visit. The hotel does not have a parking lot and parking a car in tourist parking lot costs you Rs. 100 for 6 hours. The hotel is easily approachable from the Main Square(main market area). The hotel cafeteria also serves decent food. The only thing worth not a try is custards. Who serves you hot custards with papaya in it.

The bathroom doors were jammed probably because of the rainy season. They should take care of these things before they are reported.

Room Tip: There are 2 building for this hotel. Choose the new one which has better rooms and amenities. A top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vabhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying with us and dropping such a wonderful review of the same. I'm thrilled that you had a great time at the Pink House. I'm terribly sorry for the mix up with the custard. I've noted it down and have passed on the complaint the kitchen staff who have promised not to err like this again. At Pink House, we back ourselves to serve the highest levels of hospitality and something like this - is not acceptable. Again - really sorry about that.

Thank you once again for this glowing review. We hope to host you real soon once again.

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at pink house for 5 nights. At first you don't get it the point but to get used to the charm of McLoed and this hotel.

1. More than anything, Service is fantastic. Fast, Friendly and very Helpful. Javid and team are doing fantastic work.
2. Rooms (higher floor - superior category suggested) are ordinary but the view is quite breathtaking.
3. Food quality is good.
4. Accessibility - Everything is walking distance from this place.
5. Quite and peaceful surrounding

The only negative... Steps to Pink House is quite a cardio workout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moiz_Firoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying with us and dropping us a feedback. Really glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Pink House. You're right - one gets used to the charm of this town and Pink House when you stay for 4-5 days or more. So it may not come as a surprise to you when I tell you that some of our guests stay with us for 3-4 months at a stretch! It's quite natural isn't it - the longer you stay with us, the stronger the bond between us gets, the better our service gets. :-)

Moiz, thank you so much for the kind words. And yes, the stairs can be quite a workout - but hey, that shows you are a very fit person! Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope you come back home soon!

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at Pink House (or in a partially finished building next door) in November 2013.

We were very disappointed by a number of issues.
1. The rooms are freezing cold at night - we discovered a small broken window that certainly didn't help. The staff appeared to blame us when we pointed it out to them.
2. The steps are steep and treacherous when wet. They are also surrounded by mountains of garbage and have cables running down and across them, adding to the danger.
3. Climbing the steps, then climbing more to get to Reception then climbing more to get to your room in the next building is no fun.
4. The building our room was in wasn't finished! The top floor was still being built! The website never mentioned a green house!

The young kids who serve the breakfast were lovely though!

If we visit this part of India again, we will stay at one of the nicer hotels in Dharamsala.
Avoid Pink House, er and the Green House!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfytom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for staying with us and dropping us a feedback. Firstly, I deeply apologize for not being able to deliver an experience that matches your level of satisfaction. At Pink House, it is essential that every guest of ours is treated like a family member and we take extra care to keep them as happy as possible. From your review, I see that did not happen - and we're very sorry about that.

Having said that, I'd like to use this forum to respond to some of your points.

1) In November, Mcleodganj tends to get cold. And since we are located at a strategic point that gives a fantastic view of the mountains, the open space ahead of us tends to make it slightly nippy than the crowded market. If you had just walked up and told me that you were feeling cold, I'd have been more than happy to provide you a heater to keep things warm.

2) I spoke to the staff member who attended to you and I'd like to inform you that his English is limited and I believe there was a case of miscommunication. He did not blame you for the window, but was expressing surprise that it was broken because we always check our rooms thoroughly before serving it to our guests and we would never give our guests a room with a broken window. Clearly, it wasn't communicated properly. Sorry about that.

3) Regarding the stairs - as I keep saying - it isn't under our ownership and there's nothing we can do to fix them. It just happens to be the path to Pink House. We try to see the brighter side of this issue when it gives our guests peaceful and unmatched views of the Himalayas from their rooms.

4) We don't function like a regular hotel. We like to keep things friendly and treat our guests like family. The reception is on the top floor so that we get space to sit down with our guests and have a chat with them with a cup of chai. I'm sorry if you found it difficult climbing the stairs.

5) As November is off season, it's the best month for us to upgrade our building. And that's what we were doing. The room that you were given was finished and it was only the rooftop cafe that was under construction.

6) And we didn't mention the green building because the rooftop wasn't finished. When you dropped in here, we gave you a choice of a deluxe room with a good view in the old building or an excellent view in a super deluxe room in the new building.


Having said that, I'm really sorry that you didn't have a good experience. You'd be glad to know that we have finished the construction of the rooftop cafe in the new building, the kitchen and the menu has been revamped and the rooms in the new building are now the most sought after.

I really hope you give us another chance to host you so that we can erase the bad memories you have of Pink House and make things better.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and giving us a feedback.

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I travelled for 6 months throughout India and Pink house was without doubt the best place we stayed, for many different reasons. Firstly the service. Even on arrival we were thanking Javid for arranging our bus from Manali to McLeod. We were greeted with a cup of chai and helped with everything for the next 7 weeks. Our room was very clean and spacious with a mountain view, hot water was always available and room service if necessary. However the best thing about Pink House was without doubt the people. Those who work there were some of the warmest and most kind hearted people we've ever met and also some of the funniest. And the Pink House also attracts like-minded people. We met so many cool people during our stay and we were so sad to leave. Although we left to go on the road trip of a lifetime to the Spiti Valley, organised by HolidayChai at the Pink House!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Stu and Eilidh,

The seven weeks we spent with you were some of the best moments at Pink House - and I say that without any doubt. We loved hosting you and we are so grateful to you for all your help in helping us create holidaychai - our venture that promotes off beat and lesser known places in the Himalayas.

I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Pink House and everything was served to your satisfaction. The entire staff has very fond memories of your stay and we often talk about the two of you and smile! You are right about the fact the Pink House attracts like minded people - it's not just the service and the rooms, but it's the conversations we have at the rooftop cafe and the time we spend together that really makes Pink House, Pink House, doesn't it? :-)

I don't have to say this but you always have a home in Mcleodganj and we really hope to see you two real soon. Have a great time in Australia and we wish you all the best.

Oh, and thank you so much for this feedback!

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Pink house is an excellent place to stay at McLeodgunj if one is looking for a budget hotel close to the town and dalai lama monastery. The staffs are highly pleasant, courteous and are always willing to help. Rooms are not luxurious but neat and clean with comfortable mattress. They Really also large in size. The main attraction of this guest house is beautiful view from the rooms. All the rooms are designed in such a way that window and balcony is always on the valley side. The owner of the hotel Mr javed pays close attention in details and makes sure that the guest have comfortable stay. They also arranged taxi for us bcoz we wanted to visit some nearby places.

The food was okay. We did get decent food generally but on some occasion, it wasn't cooked properly. The major problem with this place is that one has to come down poorly made 150 stairs to reach the hotel from jogiwara Road!!! . So it's not recommended at all for old and less athletic people. However, lil distance from the busy jogiwara Road also help in getting a peaceful environment with beautiful view.
In the nutshell, pink house is a very good place to stay in McLeodgunj considering budget in mind. Food could be improved though and this place is only recommended for young and physically fit people. Good place for couples as well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwani kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidb, Manager at Pink House, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Ashwani,

Thank you so much for this review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Pink House. I'm glad that you found your room delightful. We understand that you are coming to the Pink House to take a well deserved break and we try double hard to make sure that it's all worth it and you get back home all refreshed and happy.

I'm surprised that the food did not match your levels of satisfaction. We have upgraded our kitchen and revamped the menu and we have recently been receiving very good reviews of the same. Was there anything in particular you did not like? I wish you had come up and told me about this and we could have fixed it right away.

You are right about the stairs - it does give us a peaceful location and one that serves the best views of the Himalayas. And I'm glad you faced no problems with those stairs.

Once again, thank you for this review and a big thank you for staying with us. We really hope you come back soon and give us another chance to host you.

Your friend,
Javid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wood Castle
Hotel Wood Castle
#11 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#10 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 77 in Dharamsala
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#9 of 77 in Dharamsala
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink House

Property: Pink House
Address: Opposite Youngling School, Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Pink House Hotel & Spa)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pink House 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Friend! Today, there are two types of accommodation in Mcleodganj. There are hotels and there is the Pink House. Seven years back when we started Pink House, our aim was not to recognized as a hotel, but as a home; not the cliched home away from home, but a home to travelers, the nomads, the romantics, mountain chasers, writers, photographers and dreamers. A home which is a space where people felt like being themselves, happy and cared for. Today, that's what the Pink House is. I thank each one of you for helping us make Pink House, Pink House. Welcome home. Your Friend, Javid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pink House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink House Hotel Mcleod Ganj
Pink Hotel Dharamsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing