We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pink House
Nearby Hotels
$75
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 4205 Hotel Anuj Regency(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 8455 Himalayan Nest(McLeod Ganj)(Great Value!)
$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$43
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel The Vaikunth(McLeod Ganj)
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Heights(McLeod Ganj)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
370
224
84
43
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
224
84
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop cafethe main roadhot waterstairs to climbbudget hotelnew buildingroom servicechaisuper deluxe roomrooms are basicwalk uptop floorgreat viewcomfortable staytriund trekmountain viewroom balcony
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 742 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing the ratings at tripadvisor & booked it without checking & We had a terrible experience at Pink house at this new year. Our entire new year got spoiled because of this hotel.

1) It is very difficult to find out & even if you are able to find out difficult to reach as it has got some 25-30 very steep stairs which gets slippery in rain.

2) Once we entered the hotel the washrooms were very dirty & smelly. Even the toilet was not clean.

3) The room service closes at 10 pm, so you can't order any food or anything after 10 pm. Even you cant order any water after it. Even the phone lines gets disconnected after 10, so if you face some emergency you need to walk down to the reception for any issues.

4) At new year, the weather is extremely cold & freezing & when we asked for heaters (which are chargeable) we were told that the heaters are not working so we need to spend the entire night in cold without the heaters. Even after so much of fighting we were given small heaters which were not working.
We asked Javed to give us extra blankets atleast, as it was chilling outside, so that we could protect ourselves from cold, but STRANGELY WE WERE NOT GIVEN EVEN 1 EXTRA BLANKET. We spent the entire night chilling because of which my Wife got ILL.

5) the food served in the morning was so cold, as if it had been taken out of refrigerator. The food quality & taste is awful. We couldn't eat 10% of it & decided to have our food outside.

6) The hotel had got no light backup, so even if heaters are provided, they will not work as Mcleodganj had got huge power cuts schedule. Though we were provided small working heaters after much ado, there was no light.

7) Beware that the water supply in the hotel is solely dependent on light. On 2nd day of our stay, there was no water in the washrooms even for fulfilling our daily needs. We initially used bottled water & then after much delay we were given 1 bucket of cold water ( in 2 degrees ) for 2 people to carry out daily tasks. It was very frustrating that we are paying so much for What? There is no food, water, or light in the hotel, then why pay them anything.?

Our entire new year got spoiled because of the services of this hotel, which we booked because of tripadvisor's rating. I really advise people to avoid this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Please avoid any rooms of this Hotel..Tripadvisor people should visit this hotel & should take all the awards back.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goelanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkhouse06, Manager at Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Mr. Goel,
I’m deeply disturbed by the fact that you had a very bad experience at Pink House. I profusely apologize for the same. However, I’d like to use this forum to make some clarifications.
1) Regarding the stairs, we have never hidden the fact about the stairs that lead to the property. I mentioned the same over phone. If you also take a look at our website, right on the homepage, we’ve mentioned the same. It’s because of this that we always send a helper to help our guests from the market. If you remember, we had sent 3 helpers to ferry your luggage to and from the hotel.

2) Regarding the unclean washrooms – I’d like to personally assure you that we strive to maintain the highest levels of hygiene in and around the room. Despite the fact that the washroom was cleaned before you checked in, after you complained, I got the washroom cleaned once again.

3) If you take a look at our menu, we’ve written that our kitchen closes at 10pm.

4) On New Year ’s day, there was a massive power outage not only in McLeod Ganj, but also in Dharamshala. The problems we faced regarding water and heat at Pink House that night were faced in every hotel in the vicinity. As you can understand, that situation was unfortunately not in our control.

Such an unexpected power outage was the first in almost 2 years. Still, I deeply apologize for the inconvenience.
We are also very sorry that we could not arrange a bonfire for you in the private balcony. It could have been done on the rooftop but as it was raining, that was not possible.
Mr. Goel, I understand that circumstances were such that your stay at Pink House wasn’t favorable. But we’d really hope that you would give us another chance to serve you in a fashion that has made us the #1 hotel in Mcleod Ganj.

Hopefully that would reverse your opinion about Pink House. Hope to see you again. Wish you and your family a very happy new year.

- Javid Bhat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

So like a lot of us, we found this was among the top hotels in Mcleodganj and booked it for a vacation for my birthday.

While we wont complain abt the stay overall, which was decent enuf with clean and spacious rooms and has a fantastic view, And the staff was very friendly - the fact that it is rated so high shows how low our expectations are from budget hotels.

I had a couple of sore points tho -

1 - the hotel is fairly below the street level and around 120 stairs down - its q tuf to climb up again and again- while its good exercise but not what we wanted. No where did we see this fact mentioned - either on their site or on makemytrip thru whom we booked the hotel

2) the food was quite pedestrian - it was not possible to get even aalu parathas there... the 1st couple of days we had to throw away half the food we ordered... Also, they had got us to stay in an adjoining new building they had just constructed, so the food used to be cold by the time it came... getting a simple cup of tea was a chore...

You can stay there if u want a quiet clean place with friendly staff and the view as i already said is quite amazing... but thats just abt it... nothing too great...

Room Tip: Take the valley facing rooms only.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankur1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkhouse06, General Manager at Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Mr. Ankur,
Firstly, thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you on your birthday. We feel honoured.
We’re very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Regarding the stairs, I’d like to clarify that on our website, right on the homepage, we’ve mentioned about the stairs that lead to the property. I also make it a point that all guests who call before checking in, we inform them about the stairs and we send helpers to the market area to help our guests to ferry their luggage.
Regarding the food, we’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy it. We’ve noted your comment and I assure you that we will try harder to make it better.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again.
- Javid bhat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at Pink House. We were give a lovely welcome, tea on arrival, help with our bags, and given lots of helpful information plus a map of the local area.

Our room was beautifully decorated with a balcony which caught the sun in the morning. It was very clean, a good size and had a working television in it. It was cold at night as there was no heating but there was an extra heavy blanket/duvet so we were warm enough in bed. The only down side was that the mattresses on the bed was very thin which made the beds quite hard after sleeping on them for a while.

Location is good, down a lot of steps but that means that you are away from the road and you are still right in the middle of town and close to restaurants.

We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace a few times.

We also booked bus tickets to Delhi directly through reception.

Book directly with Pink House to get the best rates.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkhouse06, Manager at Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us a positive feedback.
Reviews like these keep us motivated to work harder and harder to make our guests' stay as warm and comfortable as possible.
Regarding the issue about heating, please note that we provide heaters only on request. Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Pink House with 4 friends in October 2013. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with all our requests. The rooms were nice and clean and the tasty breakfasts on the rooftop (great view) make for a good start of every day! Thank you for hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidpinkhouse, Manager at Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hello Igor,

Thank you so much for your positive review. I'm glad that you and your friends had a great time at Pink House. Please know that at Pink House, you'll always have a great place for you and your friends here in Mcleodganj. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nice beautiful place, colored in pink it has 3 floors for rooms. Higher the room more the charges. Rooms are nice peaceful privacy is good. The location is critical as you need to go down the stairs everytime and climb them to go out. The stairs are very high and tiring. Difficult to find the hotel but once you reach you will love. Food can be ordered which is cooked according to Mcleod style. No Indian style in food. View is awesome, you can watch the mountains sitting on the top of the hotel where they have the dining place and reception too. The owner is too friendly. Very cheap because of competition. The rates are really less but in Mcleod it could be expensive. Over all i give 4 points.

Room Tip: Any room, top view is best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpio1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javidpinkhouse, Manager at Pink House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking out time to review Pink House. Really appreciate it. I'm glad you had a great time at Pink House. We enjoyed hosting you and would love to have your company again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews