We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to bad reviews!”
Review of Pink House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pink House
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our stay in Pink House was at the end of February till early March, so as we stayed the beautiful town warmed up. What can we say? The hospitality of Javid and the rest of the crew was really homelike. We really felt ,for the first time of our journey that someone actually gives me tips for my own good and not out of motive. We got stuck right before a dalai lama visit and Javid saved us real good and we had a place to stay. Needless to say my girlfriend and I stayed there for 15 days straight with a few rooms changes. On our visit the price was 600R for cheap room without wifi on 1st floor and 900R for second floor with wifi and bigger tv. We tried both rooms, both were very cleaned and we were offered many times that someone will clean our room, however on the cheap room our geyser stopped working and we didnt have hot water for one night, Javid fixed us up in the more expensive room for the next day on the same price of the cheaper one so no complaining. The kitchen was avarage, we seldom stayed at the rooftop resturant but for the rare cases we used it , certainly it delivered. Also worth noting that the hotel is placed on a side road going out from the street ( 1 minute walk after peace cafe downhill on jogiwara road) it has lots of stairs and going up several times a day was certainly not the highlight of our stay, however , after staying there 10 days I guess it was the only reason we survived the long treks in the mountain. Hell, my legs are still rock solid thanks to them.
Anyway for anyone who doubts it, pink house is your home in mcleod ganj which is one of the greatest places in the world to my taste. And if you're reading this Javid, hopefully we will meet again on our next journey, From Inbar and Shir (israel).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShirBenyunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 713 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

1st to 3rd April 2013 : We booked 2 standard double rooms that were of decent size. Hot water was available and heated when the geezer was switched on but there was not enough hot water available for 2 showers one after another.

Location was perfect! about 150 steps leading down to the hotel & a torch would be handy at night but worth the location. Dalai Lama's house is very close - about 10 minute walk. Breakfast was one of the best we had in India. Yummy fresh pancakes made to order! (along with paratha's and masala tea!)

One downside was the bugs & flies - due to being up in the mountains and the hotel rooms having external doors on both sides of the rooms. Owners are very helpful and always available.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the corner if you don't like bugs. The corner room has an extra - very lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leena_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pink House for a week in April 2012. We had been traveling around Jaipur, Agra, Khajuraho, Varanasi etc and wanted to rest before going on to Egypt. McLeod Ganj and The Pink House hit the spot nicely. The guest house is down quite a long, outside, hillside stairway, set off the main road ( one way, single lane ) into town. The staff carried our cases. Our room had it's own ensuite, a view of the mountains and the all male staff were very helpful and great at rustling up good food any time during the day. This is not upmarket, fancy accommodation but it's a practical, well-placed, very cheap living solution.

The in-house internet was dreadfully slow and I ended up using a dedicated, inexpensive internet 'cafe' up on the main road to make onward bookings. There were plenty of other eating places up on the road. Again seriously inexpensive for a good feed.

No reflection on the Pink House management but locals in nearby flats were a bit to generous with their 'boom, boom' rave up music at times - Not what we expected in the foothills to the Himalayas!

We took up the invitation to chat with Tibetan monks, who had escaped from their Chinese captors and who desperately wanted to learn English, which they saw as a necessity for getting the Tibetan story out into the world.

Alas the Dalai Lama wasn't home!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottybnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Pink House - our room was lovely with a wonderful balcony to sit and eat breakfast whilst staring at the mountains and eagles soaring about.
It is down a flight of steps, and there is building work going on next door, but this is typical of the area. A torch or head-torch is a must at night, but we appreciated stretching our legs every morning.
The owner was incredibly helpful with transport as we had quite a convoluted journey ahead of us to Srinigar, but it turned out he was going there for a wedding so we joined him in the jeep to get there in 10 hours instead of what would have been probably double that. Thanks for your help! Hope you have a great time at the wedding :)

Room Tip: We had room 304 which had the most amazing view of the mountains from our bed! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katapilla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Goaded by largely positive I decided to go for the Pink House. as I was looking for a different experience I ended up with a positive view. I will first start with things any guest should take care of before giving the positives. The hotel is set away from the main road and is accessible by foot by climbing down a crude series of steps so it is not for people who are ill, asthmatic or old.
It would be advisable to call up the hotel when you reach the hotel so that the owner-manager can arrange for someone to meet you at a pre-designated spot and carry your luggage. The rooms are simply furnished and are are clean. The geysers work fine and are essential for half the year. The breakfast-inclusive option is value-for-money. In-house kitchen can be a saver on a day you feel lazy to go out for lunch or dinner.
The greatest part of the hotel is the view from its roof! Its a view that makes you sit for hours together enjoying the view of snow-capped Dauladhar and the McLeodganj town. The internet connection is a great plus if you are on a long trip and want to stay connected or work, but, the strength of the connection varies from room to room so check before checking into a room if internet matters. You can always use internet on room.
The staff is really nice and courteous. The hotel can guide you regarding your needs and local trips and also arrange logistics, if you require.
All said and done, the value which they offer for a tourist destination like McLeodganj and the professional quality of their booking site (avoid third-party bookings) is a great value-for-money.

Room Tip: 1. In winters opt for rooms on south-side and in summers avoid the east-facing room. 2. Check stren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onkar_Shetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great value for what you pay, everything is clean and comfortable with a cozy feel. Good breakfasts (and other meals) and very helpful in terms of arranging you cars, trips, etc. Great views from the roof terrace and a good location being right in the heart of Mcleod Ganj. Unless you want a palatial experience i can think of no reason not to go here. Clientelle when I was there were of very varied group sizes and nationalities and all those that I spoke to and went on trips with were very nice.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezekiel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clean, comfortable. Good rooms! Amazing vews!
The restaurant is simple, but good food.
The only thing not good is the shower...
If you want to know where to go or what to do, they can help you.
The wi fi is free and works very well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#16 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wood Castle
Hotel Wood Castle
#11 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink House

Address: Opposite Youngling School, Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Pink House Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pink House 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Friend! Today, there are two types of accommodation in Mcleodganj. There are hotels and there is the Pink House. Seven years back when we started Pink House, our aim was not to recognized as a hotel, but as a home; not the cliched home away from home, but a home to travelers, the nomads, the romantics, mountain chasers, writers, photographers and dreamers. A home which is a space where people felt like being themselves, happy and cared for. Today, that's what the Pink House is. I thank each one of you for helping us make Pink House, Pink House. Welcome home. Your Friend, Javid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pink House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink House Hotel Mcleod Ganj
Pink Hotel Dharamsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing