We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!!!”
Review of Pink House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pink House
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We took this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and it was a good choice!!! We had a room on the upper floor and there were just amazing views from the windows and balcony. You could just sit for hours on the balcony, have a lassi or cup of coffee (ordered from the rooftop restaurant) and enjoy the views:-))) The room was nice and clean, linen and towels and toilet paper provided... The staff was very helpful and you really felt like at home - thank you!!! The food in the restaurant was good and very cheap; just preparing the food took quite a long time. You could eat on the rooftop or order it to your room (no extra charge!!). The hotel is located downhill from the road, about 100-150 steps and it is a good exercise to go up with a heavy backpack:-))

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floor - they are more expensive, but views are just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ullake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 713 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

We arrived in the Pink House thinking we would be there 2 days and ended up staying for about 2 weeks. The guest house is situated off one of the main roads in McLoed Ganj down a flight of steps. The views of the valley are stunning from the rooms and roof top restaurant.

Because we stayed so long we ended up moving rooms a few times, each room was clean and comfortable with hot water, TV and telephone. There is free WiFi throughout the house and we found it to be very reliable throughout our stay, apart from during the regular Indian power cuts ;).

The staff are what makes this place stand out though - they are super friendly and extremely helpful. Javid will assist with tours of the area, tips on what to do as well as onward travel ensuring the best possible arrangements. He was one of the friendliest and most helpful proprietors we met on our entire 8 week trip to India. When we come back to McLoed the Pink House is the only place we will consider staying at!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ie_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I visited McLeodGanj from the 20th until the 26th of October 2011. I was there on my honeymoon and loved every second. The hotel is exacly how It looks in the pics. Standard and don't expect luxury, but boy the staff are so nice and the view...wow breathless. Javid was so good to us, he help us in everything...the night before our departure I showed him my online ticket to Delhi and he let me know that the ticket I had was on the waiting list and he said that there was a 99% chance that we were not going to be able to get that train so he himself got us a refund for that train ticket and arranged us a new booking on a much better and faster train. We loved the food as well and had gallons of ginger tea with honey...so yummy!
Only few mins walk to the main temple were the H.H.,Dalai Lama gives his teaching.

Room Tip: Ask for the last room on the left side located at the second floor. You will be amazed with the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kmys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Great value, has everything you need (including wifi and hot water) and the owner, Javid, is one of the nicest people you're likely to meet on your travels. I found this hotel very accommodating and comfortable and sitting in the rooftop cafe was definitely one of the highlights of my stay. Amazing views!

They can also organise trips to Kashmir and if you get a chance, you should definitely go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here and loved it. We were thinking we would be staying in the area but we loved it and the hotel was great value and very friendly. We stayed in the cheapest room they have, it was 400rp/night and was very clean and comfortable, it had hot water and a fan which was good enough as it is a bit cooler in the mountains. There were some power cuts while we were there, true to form in India, so make sure you have a torch handy!
The place is ran by 2 brothers who we had heard good things about, only one was there when we stayed but he was lovely and very laid back. He let us use the hotels pc as and when we wanted to go online and had no problem with us waking up and deciding each day if we were going to stay another! (which we did 3 times!). The rooftop has beautiful views of the mountains and the food was good enough and good value, however there are sooo many good places to eat and you are in a great location a few minutes walk (up steep steps) to the village centre so we only ate there occasionally.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeavinBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I just got a Facebook contact from the hotel owner, Javed, which shows what a nice place this is. I not only thoroughly enjoyed staying in there, but got lots of valuable help in arranging a visit to Kashmir and have stayed in touch.

Clean and pleasant and great views! Highly recommended in every way!

ps: I actually visited on an earlier date but the travel drop down doesn't allow me to select earlier than Nov. 2010!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Hard working,pleasant and courteous staff,managed by the very helpful Javid Bhat.Slightly off road, but the steps to climb just added to the experience!clean,neat rooms, and though the town abounds in cafes,the couple of times we dined in,the food was wholesome and tasty.
Wifi available in the rooms and the rooftop has a spectacular view of the hills:the pink house also offers treks and tours to kashmir;maybe will take it next time.Recommended for a restful quiet stay.Thank you Javid!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajivramanujam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#16 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The M Hotel
The M Hotel
#6 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wood Castle
Hotel Wood Castle
#11 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink House

Address: Opposite Youngling School, Jogiwara Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Pink House Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pink House 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Friend! Today, there are two types of accommodation in Mcleodganj. There are hotels and there is the Pink House. Seven years back when we started Pink House, our aim was not to recognized as a hotel, but as a home; not the cliched home away from home, but a home to travelers, the nomads, the romantics, mountain chasers, writers, photographers and dreamers. A home which is a space where people felt like being themselves, happy and cared for. Today, that's what the Pink House is. I thank each one of you for helping us make Pink House, Pink House. Welcome home. Your Friend, Javid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pink House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink House Hotel Mcleod Ganj
Pink Hotel Dharamsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing