We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here rather than in Isafjörður”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fisherman Sudureyri
Ranked #2 of 2 Sudureyri B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Stay here rather than in Isafjörður”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose this hotel from Trip Advisor. It is situated about 17km from that disappointing town of Isafjörður, and you reach it via a tunnel, whether you are coming from the Isafjörður or Þingeyri directions. One of the other reviewers has said it is at the ‘end of the world’ an in some ways Sudureyri feels like that. On the other hand it even has one-way streets which makes it a little difficult to find.
It is a fairly new establishment and the young couple who own/run it have been building it up. You get the impression that there is more to do – e.g. TV racks but no TV in rooms, and as yet no Wi-Fi. Rooms are of good size (we were in an annexe over the road), and nicely furnished (natty designs). The hotel was amazingly good value for Iceland. We did not have dinner there, but the breakfast was adequate, with a good selection of bread and cold meats.
There are nice walks round the village with the fishing harbor, market etc. You can drive or walk to the end of the harbor and feel that it going straight out into the Arctic. At the end of July it was light all night, despite being just below the Arctic Circle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a big room with a sitting area, a table and a TV, however only required a bed and shower. The room was simple looking but clean and practical and the bed was comfortable. The hotel has its own fish restaurant where I had some tasty fish and good icelandic beer. Service was very good and friendly. While I don’t think that there is any other hotel in Sudureyri, this reasonably priced one certainly can be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

You know why you are interested in coming to Suðureyri! You are probably looking for a simple, remote location, far removed from the normal preoccupations of 21st century life. This is a village. It exists for fishing, and it has found an amazing way to make that reality available to holiday-makers. If, for you, a hotel must be crammed with all sorts of luxuries and facilities, you'd be better off in a city. The Fisherman Hotel gives you excellent basic accommodation with a personal touch. The Talisman Restaurant, attached to the hotel, is a fish-lover's dream come true. You've never had such fresh, tender fish, probably caught that day, and it is prepared and presented by the chef with true inspiration and creativity. There is nothing to do in Suðureyri, except in connection with fish and fishing. The village smells of fish. You can catch your own cod, if you like. You can see how fish is processed. You can even go on fishing trips. Or you could just relax at the edge of the fjord beneath the majestic fells and unwind. That's not such a bad thing to do! There's not a lot you'll forget when you leave this place. We wish we could have stayed a lot longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

During a journey in Iceland, we experimented with hotels, guesthouses, holidays Farms and B&B (price ca. 150 EUR per room). For this price, Icelandic accommodations generally have all you want (private bath and toilet, soap, towel, good bedding (twin beds), warm eiderdown, heated rooms, buffet breakfast, …) but are often simple (few or no decoration) and small. If curtains were always present, some are too short to efficiently make the room dark. But this doesn’t bother us. This simplicity suits well with this beautiful country.
This accommodation is unclassifiable. The best: (i) feeling in the end of the (civilized) world, in a fisherman village, a fisherman hotel and a fisherman restaurant; (ii) in our case at least, having a real apartment (vast living room with kitchen, two bedrooms, and bathroom) but its conversion was not yet entirely finished. The less good (although likeable): a non fully professional service (before accommodation, fishermen have another profession!). Avoid Friday and Saturday evening, the night fever is not only in the Capital!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABSKBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishermanHotel, Manager at Fisherman Sudureyri, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear guest.

Thank you for this review.
Although we are first and foremost known for our fisheries we also strive to do our best in everything we do. We are sorry to hear that our service was not fully proffesional. Please let us know how you think we can do better.

Best regards
Team Fisherman Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

At the waters of Sugandagfjordur about 30 km of Isafjordur we found this pearl. Everybody goes to Isafjordur but just drive 20 minutes further to the fishing village of Sudureyri.

Fisherman Hotel Veg (name has changed, it was Guesthouse VEG) is a small hotel, run by a very friendly young couple. We spent two nights here in July 2008. The main building is in fact the amazingly modern Scandinavian designed fish restaurant Talisman. 6 rooms are in this building and the hotel has an annex opposite the street with a couple of rooms. Our room was very spacious, two beds, a table with two chairs, clean Scandinavian interior, good bath room. Free wireless internet access in the reception area, but we could also pick up the signal in our room.

Sudureyri is a traditional fishing village of 300 inhabitants and you don’t expect at all such a hotel and excellent fish restaurant. It doesn’t show at the exterior! The fish restaurant is serving what was caught that morning. I had the best cod of my life, this was really how fresh fish should taste.

  • Liked — Environment
  • Disliked — Northing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Me and my boyfriend spent one night in hotel VEG on our travel through westfjords in Iceland. Highly recommend this hotel, not expensive (compared to other hotels in Iceland!), newly renovated old house. We had delicious dinner at the restaurant accross the street, the fish cooked fresh from the harbor.

The old fishing village is small and not much going on, but if you are looking for beautiful icelandic nature with huge mountains, fresh air and total silence, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sudureyri
12.1 mi away
Hotel Isafjordur
Hotel Isafjordur
#1 of 2 in Isafjordur
206 reviews
11.7 mi away
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
#2 of 2 in Isafjordur
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfy Guesthouse
Comfy Guesthouse
#1 of 2 in Sudureyri
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Litlabyli Guesthouse
Litlabyli Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Flateyri
18 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Horn
Hotel Horn
#2 of 10 in Isafjordur
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Einarshusid Guesthouse
Einarshusid Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Bolungarvik
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman Sudureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman Sudureyri

Property: Fisherman Sudureyri
Address: Adalgata, Sudureyri 430, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Sudureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sudureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisherman Sudureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fisherman is your travel partner if you like food & travel. We offer hotel, delicacy seafood and guided tours in Westfjords. We are at 66°N in Sudureyri, a small and environmentally friendly village where everything is about fish. This is your chance to hear about live at the edge of the Arctic Circle! See for yourself how our thriving community processes Iceland's finest fish and get a fresh taste of it whilst listening to local stories. Learn why Iceland's first class export product can be on your domestic dinner plate just 36 hours after leaving the ice-cold Atlantic Ocean water, and just how unbelievably sustainable we operate. Pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fisherman Sudureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman Sudureyri Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing