We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
44
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitfew minutes drivehammockspigsfieldfridgewalkssidmouthlogssite
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

It was the hottest weekend of the year when we gathered to celebrate our friend's significant birthday. She's a camper but we're not, so yurts were perfect. The site commands fabulous views over pigs and a bank of jolly ox-eye daisies to the rolling countryside beyond. The yurts are very comfortably appointed with all you could need. We slept really well and then decamped when the heat of the day became too much to the hammocks outside. The kitchen was great for preparing our communal meals which we ate en massed outside the communal yurt. It was too hot even at night to have to use that. The loos and showers were excellent- clean and discreet. The beach was a few minutes drive away, and there were good walks from the yurts. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ninakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

This was my third stay at Hunger Hill and it was just as wonderful as ever. Chris is so helpful and the setting is absolutely beautiful! We stayed in The Orchard yurt which is in its own private field with kitchen and bathroom - so lovely and secluded. The yurt is incredibly comfy (and huge!) and I would have happily stayed much longer than 5 days. There are lots of daytrips that you can do from Newton Poppleford - there's a nice beach a 5 minute drive away, a donkey sanctuary nearby in Sidmouth and we even drove to Cornwall to see Boscastle and Tintagel. But if you're happy just hanging out at the yurt there are hammocks to lounge around in. Perfect. :)

Room Tip: The Orchard yurt is best for couples wanting some privacy
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Here is a list of all the brilliant things at Hunger Hill Yurts - WE'RE COMING BACK

Noisy Apple tree (the bees were in full flow)
Yurt
Electricity
Wood chippings in kitchen
Endless Logs
Fire pit
Sharp knives
Shower
Kitchen
Pigs
Wildlife
Chris
Hammock
Flowers on the table
Loo roll
Sundries
Bed
Cot
Peaceful
Fridge
Axes
Walks

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russellhaffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016

The Yurts were beautifully furnished, comfy and warm. The wood burner was very efficient and the small stove and equipment meant morning cuppa was really easy.
The setting was lovely. It was quiet and the views were great.
The kitchen was really well equipped and the showers very good.
The new studio made an excellent place for our Yoga.
Plenty to visit close by.
We had a wonderful weekend

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Hunger Hill Yurts. We were there for four days in early September and had a brilliant time. Our yurt had views right over the hills and in the mornings I would watch the sunrise through the double doors, as I lay in bed drinking tea made on the cooker in the yurt. One morning was slightly chilly so we lit the wood burner in the yurt and warmed up in minutes.
The communal kitchen was really well equipped with a big fridge to ourselves and a huge gas range. We also had our own fire pit and BBQ outside the yurt, so could cook for ourselves privately or communally. Not that we cooked each day...there are so many good places to eat in the area.
Our king size bed was really comfortable, and for an afternoon nap the hammocks outside our yurt were perfect.
The coast is within 15 minutes drive away and I swam in the sea twice...never felt it so warm .
I would love to still be there!
Thanks for a brilliant break.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews