We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wonderful Cannon.”
Review of The Cannon Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Poppleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cannon Inn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Wonderful Cannon.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am a fairly regular customer. Always eexcellent food and drink. Great starters
The Landlady can be lovely but sometimes a bit grumpy.
However, a brilliant "proper" pub. Always worth a visit._
Freshly cooked food - try the Black Pudding and Bacon Stack!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleCrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great traditional pub with a good selection of real ales. They usually have guest beers on tap too which they seem to choose well. They usually host a beer festival on an annual basis and it's on the CAMRA listings.

It's good pub grub with good sized portions and very reasonably priced. The menu hasn't really altered much over the years so a change would be nice. However i can't grumble as it's excellent value.

I've been a regular here for a number of years now. My only grumble is that the landlady can be quite grumpy at times but that's most probably because of me!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. All food is home cooked and delicious. Just been for Sunday lunch with friends, the choice for roast was beef, lamb or pork with Veg £6.95. I had the beef, 3 large slices with a yorkie, the potatoes were fab (not deep fried like so many) there was cauliflower cheese, carrots, broccoli & cabbage all were cooked to perfection. The apple crumble was also home cooked and perfect. We had drinks to start, 2 bottles of red and brandy's and it came to under £25 per head ....... fantastic value and worth every penny. I have had most things off the menu and my favourite is their giant rack of ribs ....... this is agreat local pub and I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrinalort63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is a friendly family-run inn on the main road between Exeter and Sidmouth. A half-hourly bus service connects the village to Exeter and Sidmouth, with hourly buses to Honiton, Exmouth, and Seaton, for the famous tramway. The room was fairly basic but comfortable, not en-suite but I didn't find this a problem, especially considering the price! Two local real ales were on offer, the evening food was good value, and the breakfasts very good, featuring local produce. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCTkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Poppleford
2.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Cross Guest House
Southern Cross Guest House
#2 of 2 in Newton Poppleford
68 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 1 in Otterton
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cannon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cannon Inn

Property: The Cannon Inn
Address: High Street, Newton Poppleford EX10 0DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Poppleford
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Poppleford
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing