We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of well cooked food”
Review of The Fiddlers Elbow

The Fiddlers Elbow
Cuisines: Irish, European, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Travel Counsellors, West Sussex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Plenty of well cooked food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Good portion size.
Good staff.
Had vol au van in lovely creamy sauce to start, followed by Turkey and ham with very nicely cooked veg- not at all soggy.
Apple crumble pud.
All lovely, worth a stop here coming down from Knock.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boyle, Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellant Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went here twice in the last week, first time for an evening meal, food was excellent but be warned portions are enormous, Second time for Sunday lunch again more than enough to eat. Staff are very good and nothing is too much trouble. Can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrisCudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little find.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Definitely recommend stopping here. We ate here for the second time last week and both occassions were excellent (1st time was a year ago). I had roast chicken which was delicious and homely, husband had local lamb and was fabulous. Staff are very friendly especially with our 2yr old and they made every effort to help. If looking for fault I would say that the desserts are not as good as the mains.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCandEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecmbe
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I went in here for a meal twice when I was on holiday and both times it was lovely, we had a nice warm welcome and the food was brill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home cooked food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We eat in here a fair bit when we come to Ireland quality food great service. Basic food but high quality ingredients give simple tasty food.

Helpful?
Thank ClaraS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fiddlers Elbow also viewed

Ballyhaunis, County Mayo
Ballinlough, County Roscommon
 
Ballyhaunis, County Mayo
Castlerea, County Roscommon
 

Been to The Fiddlers Elbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing