We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durkin's Bar, Restaurant & Accomodation
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I was visiting some friends in the area for the weekend and stayed in Durkin's. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. We also ate down in the restaurant and found everything good. It's only about 20minutes from Knock airport so very handy to get to and from.I would recommend the place to friends as a good base to go exploring the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul55london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

I recently stayed at Durkins for a week during my sons Wedding in Ballagh. We travelled from Chicago witha group of about 38 and the service provided to our group was remarkable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and even had free wi-fi. The best part of the stay though was the impressive service we received from all the staff but especially from Andrew and Colin the propriators. They treated us royally and knew everyone by name by the second day. The breakfasts were really good. We had the Wedding Reception also at Durkins and the food was fabulous. I am in the restaurant business in the states and I was very impressed with everything during the visit but especially the service provided to our group. I will visit again soon and wouldnt think of staying anywhere else but Durkins.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChicagoJohn39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed in Durkin's for one night.. Was travelling from Dublin to Ballina for a wedding and wanted to break the journey.. Arrived late and looked after reasonably well by the girl behind the bar. Checked us into our room for which we had to pay in advance. I'd say they have had some people that refused to pay after staying a night.
Went up into room.. Light didn't work.. Just kept flickering..
Went into loo.. Hadn't been flushed.. Never mind cleaned..
No windows in the room.. Just one velux roof light.. Blind didn't work on roof light so the room was bright at 5.30am.. It wouldn't open either so room was like a sauna..
Walls were like paper so everytime anybody sneezed in the other room it was like they were in the bed beside us..
Telly wouldn't work. Found cable connection hanging from wall.. Plugged it in and then it worked.. Wouldn't switch off with remote control..
Breakfast was OK the following morning.. Wasn't asked how my stay was so just left disappointed..

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DublinCathal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Inge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durkin's Bar, Restaurant & Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durkin's Bar, Restaurant & Accomodation

Address: The Square, Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballaghaderreen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballaghaderree...
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durkin’s, located in the heart of Ballaghaderreen on the main N5 road between the West of Ireland and Dublin, offers top class food and accommodation. We have separate bar & lounge, private dining room (seating 60 people), 2 private function rooms and 23 en suite bedrooms (15 standard and 8 deluxe). We have a private car park at the rear and free WiFi is available throughout the building. The premises are disabled friendly with a lift to the upper floors. Ireland West Airport Knock: Durkin’s of Ballaghaderreen is only 15 minutes drive from Ireland West Airport Knock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Durkin's Bar, Restaurant & Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing