We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have eaten there twice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinguino Cafe

Pinguino Cafe
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Davos, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I have eaten there twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The location right on the beach is very nice!
The fish fillet with Mediterranean salad was outstanding.
On the second evening I received a small portion of spaghetti broccoli and a salad along with a glass of wine for $ 12 with no problems.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Ueli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the view, come back for the langosta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Probably the best location in town to relax and watch the afternoon local surfers, the scuba divers returning from their Coiba trip or the sun setting over the Ocean. Definitely eat the langosta cooked with pasta but don't be in a hurry or you will be disapointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning sunset view with a fabulous Italian seafood pasta dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I found this restaurant just by chance as I was walking around Santa Catalina looking for a place on the beach to have sundowners. I had a couple of beers and the Italian owner just received a fresh order of clams and was cooking dinner for his family. As I ordered another beer, I commented that the food smelled great. He said, if I like, I can also have the same after he cooks and eats with his family. I came back 1-1/2 hours later and he prepared perhaps the most amazing clams on a bed of pasta that I have ever had. The sunset was spectacular, the beer was cold and the ambiance in the little bohio (thatched roof hut) was very cool! It was very unusual to have European house / chill-out music playing as I enjoyed my dinner --- after all, this is Panama where "salsa" music is everywhere! It made for a nice change! ***NOTE*** the bohio has a VERY low ceiling --- watch your head!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Pinguino is right off the beach in town. The food, atmosphere, and hospitality are terrific. Nothing goes with pasta or fish quite like an unlimited view of the Pacific!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
201 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great to have beers by the sea but the food was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This little beach shack is great to watch sunset and the beach action and everybody seemed to get here at one point or another so there is a good vibe. Food was really average: the seafood pasta had three sad prawns and the fried fish was rather tasteless. And the waiter seemed to be sulking and fed up of being there.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinguino Cafe also viewed

Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
 
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
 
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
 

Been to Pinguino Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing