We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury? Not yet...”
Review of Cabanas Time Out

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Time Out
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice setting, overlooking ocean. Rooms ok, but on small end. All opening on parking lot, so a bit motel style. nice pool, but not clean / murky. Advertised as "barefood luxury hotel" ..... 6 (!) dogs, Big ones, crapping ALL OVER THE PLACE, roaming freely. Imagine what barefoot would feel like. Rooms only made on request (we were told about that after 2 days) - That means not even empty trash cans or wiping through shower... Internet worked randomly. Some big construction underway spoiling setting (guess thats done soon). Not enough staff, as it seemed, meant well / friendly, but felt a bit amateur. All that for 120 $/ night is way overpriced... And certainly way to go for luxury....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil M, Manager at Cabanas Time Out, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing how we can improve our service to make this place to a paradise for our guests. We do apologize about our puppy family, but for the time being we haven't found homes for all of them yet, but we are looking forward to finding good homes for them. We are also taking steps in improving the restaurant and making sure that our guests receive properly prepared meals in a timely fashion. The construction next to the finished cabana resort is the owners house that we will resume building after the high season, in order to not have the noise around when guests are relaxing with a cocktail by the pool or in the hammocks. We've remedied our internet problem as of last week and it is working as good as the connection is here in this little paradise. We hope to see you and your nice family again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Cabanas Time Out
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

a short summary from our stay:

first of all philip wasn't there, maybe that's the reason why we had a bad experience!

- room price: 120 dollar/night ( means you def can expect something..)

- when we entered our room, the bathroom was still dirty, full of hair and sand
- tv was not really well working
- internet didnt work as well
- pool full of flies, spiders and sand
- as soon as we returned from the beach the other day (5pm), only the barkeeper was there

we expected to stay three nights but after all these experiences we decided to leave! at the same time, three people were kicked out of their room because of an overbooking ( the had a reservation!!! and found their stuff after a beach day in front of their room in a bag....what kind of service does that???) luckely we left and they could overtake our room but of course, they were pissed as well!!

fabian, switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finzo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil M, Manager at Cabanas Time Out, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

We are always open-minded and thankful for constructive and true criticism, but we disagree on the factual aspects of your story. We are sorry for the problem in the shower and we apologized immediately. We had a new cleaning lady, and it was her first day and she left the day after, so it will never happen again and we will care for this by checking every room before new guests check in. We are really proud of our clean rooms and want our guests to feel comfortable. The pool was a bit murky because of high season, there were always a lot people in the pool and it made cleaning schedules impossible. We have alleviated the problem and the pool is looking crystal clear. The Internet and TV are operating as well as possible in a small village paradise. Also, please trust that we would never take our guests possessions out of their room when they have a reservation. In regards to the problem with the other guests, it’s not unusual that there are legal reasons (like the payment,the check-in/checkout rules) why we have to open the room for the new guests and take the luggage of the other clients, to put it in safe storage. Please do not write negative reviews until all of your facts are in order. With respect of the privacy of our other guests we won´t tell the details publicly. We would never throw people out and make them find their stuff in front of the Cabana. We respectfully ask that you not slander us in such a way that would endanger our future business. We are striving, on a consistent basis, to improve our operation and create positive experiences that people will cherish for the rest of their lives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I live in Panama, and made reservations way in advance for 4 of us (2 cabins) in March, a night paid in advance deposited into Phillip's bank account (didn't have credit card facility at the time-maybe he does now). The rooms were somewhat small but well equipped with a kitchenette having a full refrigerator, freezer, stove, and basic kitchen needs. That was all just fine. The showers and water were good - no problem there. The pool is very nice but for the couple of days we were there the staff was thin (I guess) and it took a long time to get the pool clean enough to go in. Meantime there was no maid service (no problem - Christine gave us new towels) - but nothing else. The dogs were now bigger and sh----ng all over so you needed to watch where to walk; also they barked at night keeping our niece and husband awake. The view is wonderful; hammocks great in the bohio; bar was opened but restaurant at a minimum or none. Phillp was not there, but I think his young son was there. One day we discovered the water tank overflowing from the source, flowing over the electric box; we looked all over the place until we found the owner's son, who made a phone call and took care of the problem.
All in all, the hotel is new and needs some polishing - maybe we came at the wrong time, don't know. Also, because our niece has ms, and her husband gets seasick, we abandoned our planned trip to Coiba and left a day early. Christine had a fit because we only paid for the two nights we stayed (she wanted the 3rd night payment also). After all, that's hotel biz. I can see losing the first night's rent for not showing up, but we had no other reason to stay the third night. (I might add that they had no record of our reservation when we showed up Saturday afternoon.) After we drove away, the owner Philip called and asked what happened, but phone connection and other info just too much to explain.
Maybe we'd give this hotel another try.

Room Tip: First two cabins on the hammock side of the property have ocean views. Very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil M, Manager at Cabanas Time Out, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your constructive criticism, it helps us know where we are lacking so we know how to fix the problems so they will never happen again. Your review was helpful and we are looking forward to seeing you back here so you can see the improvements. We are sorry that the pool was a bit murky because of the high season, there were always a lot people in the pool and it made cleaning schedules during the day at Easter impossible. We have found a solution to the problem and it has been solved. As far as the puppy problem, we are in the process of finding homes for the newborns. The rooms are only made upon request, yes, but that is because we are trying to run an eco-lodge, part of which includes not washing sheets every time they're slept on, as that would be good water poorly administrated. Also we prefer to give you more privacy since the cabanas are more of apartments than hotel rooms. We also have new management and more employees, but also in your staying time minimum one person was always around. Only your view about the cancellation policy in our place is not reasonable for us. We have clear rules about cancellation: You have to cancel your reservation minimum 24 hours (regular 3 days!) before your check in. If you cancel later we are charging 100 % of the first night. Other hotels charge the whole reservation. We did not charge you even though you had already checked in and decided to leave during your stay.
Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again and provide you with our further developed service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We checked MANY places in Santa catalina to stay and cabanas time out was by the far the nicest. Great facilities. Philip, Christina and team were all very nice and very accommodating. It is not a budget place to stay, so if you're expecting a cheap place, this is not it. But it's not an unreasonable rate either.

PROS:
1. Clean rooms
2. Good staff
3. Great views
4. Amazing puppies (there were 5 Rottweiler puppies there!!! So cute!)
5. Near Pizzeria Jamming
6. Has a pool!

CONS:
1. Kind of in no mans land. It's a bit of a walk to beach or town for activities. Fine if you have a car. That being said, it's a small town. We're talking 15 minutes.
2. Hot water and pressure were a bit to be desired. We had hot water, but it was very low pressure.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This area, I think would appeal mainly to surfers but if you are just looking to relax you can't go wrong with Cabanas Time Out. Rooms are cute & cozy & the views are spectacular. Cook was a riot & Phil the owner was very helpful. Pool with swim up bar is great. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was staying there in October (rainy season) with two friends and this place was really perfect to relax...very nice apartments and a very friendly and helpful owner:-)
As there were no waves to surf these days, we just hang out there and enjoyed the comfortable room and the great swimmingpool, did some nice walkings in the neighbourhood and on the beach and had loads of good conversations with Philipp (the owner). He helped us very much to plan the next steps of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Perfect place in Santa Catalina when you want a bit higher standard than your average hostel. The closest place to the point break. Private rooms only with fully equipped kitchen. Super nice owner working there, and serviceminded staff. Great homemade food at the restaurant. The swimmingpool makes the bar/resturant into a social hangout with people visiting from nearby hostels. The pool is also avaliable if you would like to do a diving course. The owner also cooperates with Panama DIve Centre, located just down the road. Then go for Coiba, the perfect destination for snorkling or scuba diving (whalesharks!). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
437 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 23 in Santa Catalina
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#2 of 10 in Santa Catalina
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Time Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Time Out

Address: Beach St, Santa Catalina, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range: $85 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas Time Out 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Cabanas is perched on a bluff over the Pacific Ocean offering magnificent views of nearby islands and stunning sunsets. Our Resort also boasts the easiest access in Santa Catalina to a world-class point break. Time Out Cabanas is comprised of 8 individual, custom-built cabanas. Each cabana offers a full kitchens, air conditioning, hot water showers, LCD television, a beautiful main house, fresh water swimming pool, a full service bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cabanas Time Out reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Time Out Panama/Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing