We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$”
Review of Chili Rojo - CLOSED

Chili Rojo
Price range: $45 - $70
Cuisines: Latin
Description: Chili Rojo, located in Santa Catalina, Panama.
Restaurant details
Description: Chili Rojo, located in Santa Catalina, Panama.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

entrees expensive...beers $2 where everywhere else they are $1.

Thank Pamela325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Chili Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Trip advisor members
our prices are well displayed and we do not force anyone to eat or drink at our restaurant.
If the trip advisor rating is based on price only, than its not fair. I hope that our customer had an enjoyable evening after all.

beer at $2 is not expensive..think about it...and Santa Catalina is what we call "the end of the road", and so our costs are much higher.

other establishments have realised that and raising their prices too, for the above reason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 22 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

With all the wonderful little restaurants in Santa Catalina; this is the worst place to go! We made the dumb mistake of saying yes to a night special and assuming the price would be reasonable. The meal was worse than a microwave dinner and they charged us 70$ for 2 people. Every other restaurant we went to cost us less then 20$ for 2 and included several drinks. I really felt like the price got jacked up on us. Lots of great other places to go in this town with amazing service. DO NOT GO HERE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barbluesmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Owner at Chili Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

The reason Chili Rojo restaurant is listed on trip advisor is because we are open to any reviews, positive or not. We try our best to provide our clients the best variety of food and service in a quiet and homely ambience. Unfortunately it is not easy to satisfy everyones taste, however we try our best. We encourage everyone who will visit our establishment, to put forward immediately any complaints or other, so we can address it promptly and accordingly.

Unfortunately i have no recollection of the reviewer or any details since the reviewer never mentioned anything to us directly. This review was shocking to us (the whole Chili Rojo team) since we always get great comments and reviews from our new and regular clients but as i mentioned we are not perfect.

Regarding the price, it is not open to discussion. We put a price according to the effort and love our chefs put in preparing your dinner, and the attention our staff provide in a very different and unique environment.

Furthermore the prices are well displayed so our clients know what they will be paying when placing their order. So it is unfair to complain about prices afterwards.

Again apologies from the Chili Rojo Staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank ECCEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2015
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013
Google Translation

Thank crank122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili Rojo also viewed

Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
 
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
 
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing